Ruby 2/12

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Very Active Member
AMPS 280
+1 282 (still pre shot)

Again with the lower +6 of the night before so we know the nadir was sometime after +6 and before +12 when I woke up.

With the sliding scale, do I shoot lower because of the long duration of the past 2 shots or go with the scale?


Ruby's scale
175-199 = .1
200-224 = .2
225-249 = .3
250-300 = .4
 
Good morning!

It was getting late in the schedule so I went with .2
I'm still terrible at dancing.
 
I tend to agree with you, about lowering the dose...and it is hard, learning this dance. I keep telling myself....they have four feet and I only have two. They can dance better and faster than I can!

Lowering the dose is safer than playing with a possible too high of a dose. The more experienced folks may think it was too much a decrease, or not. Will you be able to test today to see how it does during the cycle?
 
What I don't understand is how lowering the dose will get her numbers down overall. I'm still at that point where I feel like nothing I do is the right thing.
Even using the U100 syringes, at that low of a dose its really hard to tell if it was a good shot or a bad one because I can't feel the plunger move much at all.

I'm around until tomorrow morning. Her poor ears are so red right now from all the testing I've been doing, even with the Neosporin.
 
Morning Amy, ~O)

Don't fret, her ears will get better. I still feel bad with all the ear pokes but I would feel a lot worse if something terrible were to happen. I figure thats a good enough trade off for me. From what I understand, the blood vessels will grow in her ears due to the constant pricking and I see this in Jax. Usually all it takes is one quick prick and the blood comes to the surface because there now now vessels all around the rims. Try not to feel too bad. :YMHUG:
 
Good morning!

Grayson is with you on the ears! I know he hates it too, and he wiggles so much sometimes, but the other times when he's sitting there licking my hands before I poke him, you gotta know they understand that we are helping them feel better. I mean, just LOOK at him - fur all pretty now - he even jumped onto the table the other day... usually there's a chair first! Currently lounging with a full tummy! Happy happy boy!

I'm certain I've given a fair amount of fur shots based on some of my numbers, but I've found it's much easier to make sure you get it in if you use a wet (alcohol) cotton ball and wet the fur first. The smell of the alcohol doesn't bother Grayson, while it seems to keep the other cats away when I'm trying to shoot him - so it's a win-win!

Lu-Ann
 
arozeboom said:
What I don't understand is how lowering the dose will get her numbers down overall. I'm still at that point where I feel like nothing I do is the right thing.
Even using the U100 syringes, at that low of a dose its really hard to tell if it was a good shot or a bad one because I can't feel the plunger move much at all.

I'm around until tomorrow morning. Her poor ears are so red right now from all the testing I've been doing, even with the Neosporin.

You are such a good momma bean! I believe we all want what is best for our fur babies. And like parents across the world, we can never be perfect. All we can do is the best we can do...and you do that! Ruby is blessed having you care for her. And as a cat, she has her own ways. It's tricky for us to learn cat ways. I believe it was Carl who posted once reminding us insulin is a hormone - not a drug. We can pretty much predict how a drug will work, but a hormone? That's much harder since so many other variables play a part. We cannot control all variables.

Testing our kitties ears is well worth their overall health. The ears heal. Poking the ears helps us help them. :-D
 
The ears, the ears... Yes, Sneakers didn't like me touching the ears for a while. Now she purrs when I massage them to warm them up and sits on her cushion for me to poke.

(Sometimes, when she goes to the left over food first and I start to warm her ears she resignedly looks at me and moves over to the cushion as if to say "Go on- get it over with! :roll: " ) Then I scratch her head and tell her what a good girl she is and then she goes back to eating.

The first weekend I did a curve she was running from me because her poor ears were getting poked every two hours (one one hour, the other the next). But those healed up and now she has a nice bead in a warmed up ear :-D .
 
You are doing a great job with Ruby. Lord know that this dance is confounding and frustrating but look how great she is doing on such a small amount of insulin.

I'm glad that you went with a lower dose today, hopefully it will give her a nice even and shootable PMPS.
 
Was your amps 12 hours after your late shot last night or earlier? If early, the low dose is good but may warrant some watching today.

One of the hard things to wrap your head around is that you want to shoot a rising number. Sometimes when you see a 200, you think -great- now I can shoot. But if it is doing down, not up, you want to be cautious. I am not sure if that is the case today, but I would watch it.

Robin can advise on the sliding scale. I think she might move it down.

The reason we have advised reducing the dose is the long cycle you got yesterday. Ideally, you want 2 shots 12 hours apart that give you safe numbers. As her numbers go down, or as the cycles lengthen, you decrease the dose to get that "ideal".

I know this is complicated, Amy. One of the things you are running into is you are early to the sugar dance and that is hard because there is a lot to learn. Add to that you are having to adapt quickly to lower numbers and it makes it doubly hard. The good news is that you are seeing regulated numbers on tiny doses.

You are pedaling as fast as you can, Amy. Hang in there!
 
The first AMPS (280) was about 11 hours and 15 minutes after last night's shot.
The second one (282) was around 12 hours. My original post was at 5:36 and I went back in and edited it to add the second test when I did it.

+4 271
 
Not feeling good quiet, like meatloafed or lazy Sunday kind of quiet.

She could be feeling crappy from the wild ride she's been on the last few days.
 
She's in her bed but isn't as bright eyed as she's been. She's been up and moving around but not inclined to play.
Water intake and litter box visits are unremarkable.
She's probably just feeling crappy from the roller coaster.
 
The 5 P's, Purring, Playing, Preening, Peeing & Pooing.

This is a good list to check how she's doing over all if all or most of her P's are in place she's probably ok.
 
+8 153

Not bad...now she needs to she needs to start slowing coming back up, right?
She just finished the couple of bites left from her breakfast.
 
+11 164

I need to feed her. She's been knocking her food bowl around for an hour.

Think I should plan on .1 in about an hour or should I let her eat and test her again before I shoot?
 
I went and looked at her ss and she has been holding pretty steady for the last 4 hours. I would hold out for the +12 so we can see if she starts to come up.
 
Ok, she's at 220 now which is a lot like how she tracked yesterday at this time except with the earlier nadir. She keeps trying to knock me over when I walk past her bowl so I can't make her wait any longer for dinner.
What do you think? Last night I went with between .1 and .2 and she stayed high thru the evening.
 
I think last nights dose was too high on that PS # and that's why she went high and ended low. Todays dose was closer because her nadir was earlier and now she's on her way back up. I'm glad you waited that extra hour.

What are you thinking .1u or .2u or something inbetween. Your PMPS is lower than the AMPS.

I'll go look at your ss again.
 
Since she was coming off of higher numbers from last night todays numbers might still be a little high.

So if Ruby were mine I think I would go with .1u or .15u tops.
 
I went with between .2 and .1 again.
I'm on a really tight schedule this week and I didn't want to wait much later.

On Wednesday morning I need to leave home about 90 minutes earlier than normal. I would plan on a decreased shot Tuesday night, right?
 
She's been kind of mopey all day. Now its almost midnight and out come the noisy toys because its playtime. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top