Ruby 2/10

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Very Active Member
AMPS 381

What the heck? Even with the partial fur shot...this might be blowing my theory on shot location.
 
I'm chalking it up to the moon. Weirdness happening in Jax's cycles too.
Notice how these 'trends' tend to sweep the board at the same time with a few of the cats? So weird...
Either we have low cycles where 4-5 members will post their cats went very low overnight or some such matter or we have posts were a few members log on scratching their heads about the unusually high PS#. What should we call this phenomenon?? :lol:
 
90 minutes after her shot and she's up to 401

Yesterday she was already going down at this point. Could this be a bounce triggered by yesterday's double digits?

Its so farking frustrating! I can tell just by looking at her when she's going to be really high or in a really good place. When she's in the 100s and lower numbers like yesterday she's bouncing around and playing. This morning she's just giving me her sad face.

Now I'm really torn if I should make the switch to Lantus tonight. I really don't want to but I need to do what's best for her.
 
I don't know what to tell you. She does seem to have a couple days of wackiness after lower numbers, whether they come at nadir or preshot.

Let's see what happens.

I don't know what to tell you about changing. You might check out some ss from people who have. Barbara and Thumper changed most recently. They had a lot of unpredictability with PZI. I don't know if that has changed. Mary and Sumo changed and I think they were more successful. Sue and Samwise changed and he is still bouncing from 400s to 40s. It's an ECID thing. (I know, no help.....)
 
It could be a bounce from the lower numbers, it looks like she has been rising ever since.

You may want to experiment with a lower dose. You shot .4u into a 392 and it gave her a really long ride and a green PS the next cycle.
 
I have some of the U-100 syringes that I'm supposed to use with that Lantus. They would make it easier to lower her PZI dose a bit more precisely, right? I'm thinking about sticking with the PZI until next Friday. I'll lower the dose a bit and shoot into the hip. If she stays a bit more level I'll stick with it. If not, then I'll try to arrange to take Friday off from work so I'll 3 full days to hover over her during the switch to Lantus.
 
I think I would also lower a hair to see if she can even out
I would hate to see you move to Lantus when Ruby is on such a low dose
You would have to start her at like .25 and hold for a week, or something like that
If it were me I think I would lower and hold if you can to see what happens
 
My gut is saying to not change yet, so I did decide that I'm going to wait until next weekend and see how this goes for now.
If needed I might be able to swing taking next Friday off so if I do decide to switch I'll have 3 full days to watch her.
 
Amy,

Jill and Alex from the Lantus forum wondered about a sliding scale for Ruby. It's where you have a dose for each range of numbers, like .5 for 200-250 for example. Rob and Harley can make you one based on Ruby's previous numbers if you want.

I am undecided whether she does better settling into a dose or not. You haven't been able to do much settling with the curves she keeps throwing, so you basically have been dosing based on preshot but considering nadir.

I am glad you are sticking with ProZinc a while longer. The nice thing about this insulin is that it is adaptable. You can change around doses because you don't have to take a shed into consideration. And that seems to fit with Ruby's way of dealing with insulin. And you are close to regulation on a low dose if we could just get her to settle down.
 
Hi Amy,

I'm glad you are sticking with PZ for a while longer too. I went through your ss and after I weeded out the bounces Ruby is getting some beautiful numbers on very small doses.

So I put together a sliding scale for her, it's not going to seem very aggressive but with lower doses I'm hoping that the bouncing will stop and then we can tweek the scale up or down as needed. You are probably going to need a magnifying glass for this :smile: .

This scale was designed using Ruby's bg history and is meant for RUBY only.
Ruby's Sliding Scale

175 to 199 - .1u
200 to 224 - .2u
225 to 249 - .3u
250 to 300 - .4u

For Ruby I don't think I would shoot more than .4u into any number.

It's totaly up to you to decide if you want to use the scale or not. I've been having internet issues at home so I wanted to put this out here now in case I cant get on line later.

Robin
 
Her PMPS...233!

I do have the conversion chart and the U100 syringes. The needles are shorter than I'm used to, though. So for .3 it would be right between 1.0 and .5 on those?
 
Sorry that Ruby is not feeling well. I know what you mean about the sadface. It breaks my heart when I see it. :(

I hope you can get this figured out. Sorry I don't have much in the way of advice but you are doing great... I'm sure you'll find the right dose for her if you keep at it. Fingers and paws crossed over here for some good cycles.

Lori xx
 
+5 still at 420.
What is a reasonable number to go up in a good spike?
Maybe I got a fur shot again and didn't realize it. None of it makes sense.

I just ran a test on the Relion Micro and it came in at 308. I can't imagine such a huge difference between the two meters. Maybe 70 or so points, but well over 100 seems excessive.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top