Ruby 1/31 - I'm stumped

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Very Active Member
AMPS 404

Last night between +4 and +5 she dropped from 157 to 102. At +6 she was 103 so I left a few bites of food out for her and went to bed.

Now, 5 hours later she rings in a 404?? I don't understand.
 
After such a nice run in the blues, I'd say stay the course for another cycle. It may very well be a bounce since she hit so low last night and it's possible Mr. Liver decided to "save" her.

Wondering what others will say. :smile:
 
Hi! (Certain I missed your name in these threads)

I agree with Teresa as I have seen the same thing in Jax, but of course, ECID. When Jax goes low and it is not a # that he has particularly seen before he gets that liver dump. The body isn't used to being at such low glucose levels since they have been living at much higher levels previously and the liver gets panicked, dumping glucose to compensate.

Looks like Ruby hasn't been that low in a long time. Perhaps that is why you are now staring at a 404. I can feel your confusion as I have been there.

I think I would stay the course as well. I don't think you should increase the shot because the AMPS is 404, but hold steady. Maybe more members will come on and weigh in.
 
I'm afraid to not give it to her because she normally gets quite a spike from food. But I'm also afraid to give it to her because I have to leave in about 90 minutes and can't be around all day.

(my name is Amy. Hi Lisa!)
 
Amy, it seems that you have you shot .50u into a 344 with no ill effects except for an annoying rebound at the end. 100 is not a # that will bring Ruby in danger and you have given this dose many, many cycles. I know this whole thing can be nervewracking as you are trying to find the right dose for her. Can you leave some food out for her for later? In case she gets hungry from dropping she can snack on it?
 
Afraid to give her food, or the shot?

You know they work together, and the likelihood of her dropping too low is pretty slim. :smile:

I know, reds can derail us in a heartbeat!
 
One thing that some members do would be to have some frozen wet food on hand and leave that out on an icepack during the day when you are not home, that way, but the time it melts, your baby can have something to sack on a few hours later. Unless of course she is a scarfer, like my Jax, who seems to like those frozen treats. :lol:
 
If she is at 404, I would imagine you need to give the shot as the food will bring her much higher and the Prozinc will take an hr or two to kick in. Why are you scared to shoot Ruby on a 404 BG level. Perhaps I don't understand...
 
If its possible to get it in her mouth, she'd eat it. At first she was resistant to the canned food. Now she reacts as if its the best thing of all time. No matter where she is in the house, when she hears a can crack open, she hauls her chunky bum to the kitchen. :smile:
 
When I'm afraid to shoot, i slim down the dose...especially if I can't be there. Too high is better than too low...and there's a lot to be said for peace of mind.

I think she'll be fine on her normal dose, but shoot low if that helps. :smile:
 
arozeboom said:
If its possible to get it in her mouth, she'd eat it. At first she was resistant to the canned food. Now she reacts as if its the best thing of all time. No matter where she is in the house, when she hears a can crack open, she hauls her chunky bum to the kitchen. :smile:

I get quite the four-legged crowd when starting dinner, if it involves opening a can or two! :lol:
 
Lisa,
I guess because I'm gun shy. The AlphaTrack I use tests higher than other meters. At 102 on an Alpha, she probably would have hit 80 or lower on say, a Relion.
I'm so new at this, I get freaked out pretty easily. There has only been one other time she went as low at 100 and that night she dove from 328 to 46 in a matter of 4 hours (tested on a Relion).
 
I see why you would be nervous. Unfortunately I have to log off, I am running so late for work and I really should have left 20 mins ago. Bad me.

Amy, you need to do what you feel comfortable with. As you collect more data on your SS these decisions will get slightly easier each time. You will have enough data to review what happened in the past and start understanding why her levels are where they are. Also, you won't get so nervous when you see those ugly red #'s and the 100's as well.

I personally think Ruby will be ok but I hear your concern. Shoot a lower dose if you are very nevous. Perhaps .4? Hope Teresa can stay on as I have to run! Will check in when I can.
 
I gave her a bit smaller of a dose than normal. I'll harass my bosses into letting me run out for a bit as an early lunch. I can probably make it home by around +5 and test her again.

Thank you both for your support and voices of reason!
 
Nice safe number. When you are home to monitor, you can be a little more aggressive.

I know the bounces are frustrating. I think the record for a bouncing cat is almost two years! It's a Lantus cat that bounced every few cycles for that long before finally settling down. (that is a rarity - usually we see a few weeks/months at most). Eventually they get used to lower numbers.
 
I can occasionally slip out in the middle of the day but most of the time it doesn't happen.

I'm hoping by tomorrow we'll be back on track.
 
A nice curvy drop, even though the number isn't exactly what you'd like. :smile: All numbers are good, though, to use later...especially if she spikes high again, you'll see what you gave her and how it worked. :-D
 
I had her running around the living room while I was home, which seems to lower her numbers a bit. I'm not going to let this little moment of red blow the good blues we had over the weekend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top