Ruby 1/25

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Very Active Member
Good morning!

AMPS...Ruby pulled a lovely 147.

That's a number I can live with. Based on yesterday's AM numbers, it seems like it would still be ok to shoot .5?
 
I'm not sure because I haven't tested her since 11:30 last night. She did eat a good breakfast, with gusto though.

She's a tough one to judge.
 
When you get a number like that, wait to feed her to test her again in 20 minutes. Yea, I know she'll go nuts wanting her food and all but that way you can be sure she's rising to have a better idea of what to shoot. :smile:

I think I'd go with the .5u, and probably go skinny just to be safe, if not a little less. It's a pretty low AMPS (given the 20% variable, you could almost say it's a normal cats' BG).

Let's see what those with more experience have to share. They may advise to go lower. :smile:
 
It is an AlphaTrak number so it is a bit higher than what other meters read. The lower numbers read about 30 points higher. The higher averages about 70 points higher.

She already ate, so its too late to test pre-food.
I did test her again now and she's 184, so she is rising.
 
+1 from the .5 unit - 256 (about 2 hours after she started breakfast)
I don't even know what to make of this.
 
Those numbers are okay. The food got there before the insulin kicked back. They should drop once "onset" occurs..
carl
 
She seems hungrier lately but I don't know if that means anything. She might just really be liking the Fancy Feast. Her water intake has decreased a bit but its hard for me to tell if she's urinating less.
 
What are you planning to shoot? The last two times you shot .75u you ended up with questionable next PS's. Maybe go with .5u instead.
 
I did go with .5 I'm going to settle with that for a few days and see if I can get her to level out.
She was pretty quiet last night but I just had her skittering all over the living room after the laser pointer. I can never see enough of that!
 
The husband was in the basement while we were playing. When I went down later he asked why I was running around. I said it was Ruby and he's impressed with the racket she makes while running.
 
That's a very nice drop on that small of a dose. Glad you went with the .5 tonight.
Carl
 
Alrighty... +5.5 = 174

Anything to worry about overnight? I'll leave a tablespoon or so of food out.
 
I would say that the entire household can get a good night's sleep tonight!

Leaving out a snack is added insurance, so not a problem.

Carl
 
Oh, I haven't had a good night's sleep in a month and probably won't until she settles into more consistent numbers.
Once she hits all blues for most of the time, then I'll be able to relax a bit.

Is 100-180 considered the target range you want to achieve, while she's on insulin?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top