Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat? (PM Numbers Updated)

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Member Since 2011
Oh, this cat!

AMPS 107
I think wow, that can't be right. Its a bit early (I have to be at the office early of course) so I test again. 97. So I test again 114 using the other ear.
So I test with the control solution. 116, which is on the low end of the allowed range but within it.

So at 10:30 pm last night she was at 305 and 4:45 this morning she's at 107. Last night at about 6:30 I gave her .75 unit. How low could she have gone overnight?

(AlphaTrak numbers)
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

Wow. That's some curveball thrown. Not really too familiar with Ruby's trends but what on earth was different last night?

These cats sure know how to keep us on our toes. Do you have time to get in another test before leaving?
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

I'll test her again in about an hour or so.

She's been in the pink & yellow for the past 4 days. She was on 1 unit and was dropping in the AM to the mid 100s so I was holding the insulin, which would cause a spike to the 300s by evening. So cut her down to .5, which sent her into pink & yellow for the past few days. Last night I thought I'd compromise and go .75.

Around 3:30 she did a little urp thing, not really vomit. Just tiny bit of clear fluid. It was just the once and then done, which she's done occasionally for years. I don't think that's anything to panic over. She's acting totally normally and ate just fine.
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

I don't think it's anything to panic over either. I know you were surprised when you saw AMPS. Beautiful thing about Ruby is that it looks like she does not rebound if you skip a shot due to a low #. I guess she has you putting on your dancing shoes early this morning. :smile:
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

Wow! That's a surprising AMPS after seeing her numbers on 1u and .5u.

Are you going to skip the shot this morning?
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

Its an hour after her first test and she's eating well this morning. Right now she's at 142. I won't be her to watch her all day so I think I should skip this morning's shot.
I'm not sure if I'll be able to sneak home over lunch so I'd rather err on the side of caution.

She likes to mess with me late at night and super early in the morning. She's getting back at me for all of the poking. ;-)
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

Sounds like a good plan, skipping the shot. :smile:

Are you using the u40 needles? Can you get your hands on some u100s? Looks like Ruby is heading you for some fancy paw steps of micro dosing.

One, two, three, four....they sure like to keep us guessing. :-D
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

I think I need to run a new curve over the weekend and then have a consultation with the vet. She's totally on-board with home testing because Ru gets so freaked out when we go in.
I'm not comfortable messing with the dose much without her advice. I already feel guilty for changing up what I have so far. (I have an amazing capacity to feel guilt for just about
anything, though :smile: )
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

I am so with you on that! Even though I KNEW my old vet was wrong, I still lost sleep over not doing as he said to do. Silly, really, as 2u would have been way too much for the Poopster. Must be something ingrained in us.

:lol:
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

Even if her numbers are all cranked up tonight, I think I'm going to stick with the .75

I blame my parents for the guilt thing!
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

I'm going to run home in a few minutes and check on her. The husband said she's a bit quiet today.
She ate a good breakfast so I don't think she could be feeling too barfy.

I don't get home from work until 5:30, so an early shot is out of the question, unfortunately.
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

At +6.5 from the first reading this morning, she's at 308. She seems a little quiet but begged for a treat after her test. There was still about a tablespoon of her breakfast left over and she started eating that while I was making my own lunch so I think she's ok.
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

I think so too. Probably expect a high pmps....

Saw your note - .5 is too little and .75 is too much? Ridiculous, right? Unfortunately true for some cats. Hershey has the same issue.

So you can try a fat .5 (a dash - scientific term :mrgreen: - more than .5) or try to eyeball .6. I think you are using U40 needles. One way to do this is to decide where you think the amount is and leave some water in the syringe or put a piece of tape on the syringe and use it as a guide. Put your new syringe next to it when you are ready to dose.
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

Ruby is nothing if not ridiculous. That's why I love her so much!

I am using U40s. They're so tiny!
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

Dancing and vision tests?

I expected around 370, but I'm really not shocked it's that high. Not pleased, but not shocked.
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

I agree with a dose of half way between .5u and .75u.

A syringe magnifyer could help or you could make a fashion statement and wear 2 pairs of readers.
 
PMPS was 415
I gave her a fat .5/skinny .75 unit

at +3 she was 335 and at +5 she was 291. To my unschooled eyes, this looks good, but after her dip last night from 305 at +4 to 107 at +12...should I worry about her overnight numbers? I wake up in about in about 6 hours.
 
Re: Ruby 1/24 Whaaaat?

I think you should be fine. Not as steep a drop than last night. You can always leave out food so you she can bring herself up if she feels low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top