Rousseau's BG is Low

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jnfr

Member Since 2011
Rousseau's BG is now 53. I just tried to give him some high carb food. Should I test him every hour to make sure his #'s don't go lower?
 
That's quite a drop from 400 this AM. Did he eat the food you gave him? It would be good to test him within a half hour to make sure his BG has not gone lower.

After seeing this low today I hope others will advise you further on lowering his ProZinc dose.
 
Yikes! That's an interesting day for Rousseau. Your notes said he ate tuna at +5. If you give him any more food, do so in little bits. If he needs food to bump up his numbers, you need him to be a little hungry. Sometimes just the gravy from the higher carb food will work to do that, and not fill him up.

Carl
 
Oh, and you don't have to wait a whole hour to test him again... When you get to the 50's and feel nervous about it, every 30 minutes can help you out too.
 
I just tested him again (approx. 30 min. later) and he's still at 53. He ate a little food. He's not displaying any hypo symptoms.
 
Most cats don't display hypo symptoms in the 50's, but man is that a drop from your preshot today! Be prepared for a bounce from the steep drop. Because the number didn't dip dangerously low, and you will probably see a bounce from it, I personally recommend dropping the dose to 1.75u. I'd be warry to reduce too much too quickly, but you definitely should reduce a bit.
 
Looking at the SS yesterday, and in yesterday's thread, upping the dose to 2.25 seemed to be perfectly logical. You did last night, but then shot 2.0 this morning, right? And then Rousseau throws this sort of cycle at you? Today looks like the "odd" one, and I don't understand it at all. Granted, there wasn't a lot of data to go on but yesterday's cycle on 2.0 sure did look like not enough insulin was the problem.
I'm confused.
Carl
 
His BG is back up, 445. I don't understand why his #'s are so erratic; it confuses me too. Poor Rousseau; he's been so good about getting his ears pricked.

Thanks,
Jennifer
 
That number is probably due to his liver reacting to the low numbers earlier. Not much you can do about it unfortunately. What I am thinking is "what if this has been happening all along?" What if all those days where you had high AMPS and PMPS numbers, he was going that low, and the same thing has just been happening over and over?
I think that it might be a good idea to actually reverse the thinking from yesterday and reduce the dose. Maybe that will stop this from happening. Like down to 1.5 even?

What's anyone else think?

Carl
 
Sometimes, backing off ProZinc a little makes the curves less steep.

Some folks spread the feeding into several small meals to spread out the food intake, and thus the glucose creation from digestion.
 
I am a ProZInc user. Our cats were DX around the same time. Just 10 days apart Baxter being sooner.
If you can get some more testing in during the day or evening. Maybe set your alarm in the middle of the night & check him if possible. I know it bites, but it helped me know what was going on many hours after I gave him insulin. This will help you with the dosing. Oh and along with everyone on this board. They did with me & boy did they always help. I don't think I would have Baxter where he is today without everyone on here.

Good Luck!
 
i think it would be really great to get some more tests in so you can see if there is daily bouncing. the dose might be a little too much, carl. even one more test that "caught" a low number or tests that showed there were no low numbers would help determine if 1.5 was ok or a little much.

great job getting going on the home testing! it's not the easiest thing to do at the beginning, but it does get easier!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top