Rosie and Chatran from Australia need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatran (GA)

Member Since 2014
My 14 year old cat Chatran was diagnose with Diabetes few months ago. I would like to test hi bg at home but by reading all your post your number for bg is quite different from here. Is anybody here from Australia who can help me what to use for bg reading? Last week when I took my chataran to vet, his number was 15-16 and he said he still wants to see this number drop. Thank you so much

I'm so glad I found this forum and the lovely people on here

Rosie & Chatran
 
Re: Mummy of Diabetic kitty from Australia need help

Yes, we don't use mmol like the rest of the world. If you multiply your number x18, you'll get our equivalent. We have a great color coded spreadsheet that converts automatically.

Here are the directions for it:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=6

You want to use the World version.

We have members in Australia. One of the most popular insulins here, Lantus, is commonly prescribed there as your vets developed the Queensland protocol for it. There are lower carb foods avaialbe there also.

15-16 isn't an awful number. Just for reference, we generally consider a cat regulated if they are in the mid to lower 200s at preshot and double digits at nadir, but not below 40 which is approaching hypo territory.

Welcome and let us know how we can help.
 
Re: Mummy of Diabetic kitty from Australia need help

Thank you Sue and Oliver. I am interested in the low carb food if you could pls direct me to it. My chatran was prescribed Hills MD wet and dry - he doesn't eat both. He does eat FF classic but not so much variety. Will see our vet on Tuesday for his bg curve and will ask what sort of glucometer is he using. Our vet is the nicest person which is a bonus :smile:

Thank you again

Rosie & Chatran
 
Re: Mummy of Diabetic kitty from Australia need help

If you can get Fancy Feast, the pates are great. (Not the gravy ones) This website done by a vet has a great food list and very solid reasons for not feeding dry food: www.catinfo.org You can take the MD back and get a refund. It is guaranteed by the manufacturer - just say he won't eat it. The wet is liver based and lots of cats don't like the taste. BUT don't change Chatran over to all wet until you are testing at home. When we switched Oliver from dry to wet, he came down 100 points overnight. If we had given his usual amount the next morning, he would have hypoed.

If you can start hometesting, the home numbers would be much more valuable than the vet's curve. Most cats are stressed at the vet and stress raises blood glucose numbers - sometimes 100 points or more. Then doses based on those numbers can be too high once the cat gets home and relaxes.

Some vets use the AlphaTrak pet meter. It is very expensive for the meter and the strips. We use human meters. They are cheaper initially. The cost is in the strips as you do use a lot. Since we are looking for trends and patterns, human meters work fine for us. They do tend to run higher than most pet meters, but we factor that in. If you think you'd like to try testing at home, just ask for help. We have taught hundreds of people how to do it, over the internet.

Keep reading and asking questions. We'd love to help you and your sweet Chatran.
 
Re: Mummy of Diabetic kitty from Australia need help

Vet stress can elevate the glucose from 5.5 -10 mmol/L (100-180mg/dL).

Changing to low carb food may drop the glucose 5.5 mmol/L (100 mg/dL). If nothing else, ditch the dry food, that'll help. You may find some ideas for foods in this post.

To get estimates from the guaranteed analysis on cans, you might try these calculators:
http://www.scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html
http://fnae.org/carbcalorie.html

We try to stay below 10% calories from carbohydrates (not 10% of the weight)
 
Re: Mummy of Diabetic kitty from Australia need help

Thank you for your help ladies - you're awesome :cool:

Rosie & Chatran
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top