Rosa 1/24 AMPS 370 +3 392 PMPS 443 +3 472

Status
Not open for further replies.
It is - a pretty pink number for first thing in the morning! And I managed to get a good test first time in spite of only being half awake - I must be getting the technique down. A nice gentle slide would look good on her chart today I think. :)
 
Hmm - slightly higher at +3 than pre-shot. She did eat a lot of breakfast though - going to check to make sure there's nothing been left out again that she shouldn't have had.
 
No bad food out that she could have got to. I'm wondering if she'd maybe been lower overnight and is having a slight bounce - I might have to pull an all-nighter to check where her lowest point is then. That'll probably have to wait a day or so until I can figure out a day I'll be awake enough to do it.
 
You don't have to pull an all-nighter to figure out if Rosa is going lower at night. On Lantus, the +2 test is a really good indicator. If it's quite a bit lower than the preshot, then there's a good chance kitty will be having an active cycle that night. And that would be the night to set an extra alarm to get up. Of course, with Neko, when she was on Lantus, I found the +2 wasn't that good but a +3 was better. Whatever test you can get before going to night will be helpful. A lot of kitties really prefer going lower at night. A couple of years ago, Neko had one stretch of several months where she went low (and earned reductions) only at night time and bounced during the day.

The other thing to keep in mind is that Rosa could still be bouncing from that blue a couple of days ago. Bounces can take 6 cycles to resolve and in the mean time, numbers can bobble up and down.

Cheering on that good first time test!! :)
 
Last edited:
Oh - thank you so much. I'd still be awake up to about +4 anyway so I can certainly get a test at +2 and another at +3 if she looks to be dropping much lower than her preshot. If it's only a case of setting an alarm to grab a +6 or +7 that's no problem at all. :)

Even if she's still bouncing from the blue, she started this morning under 400 which is good for her so far.

And thank you - the first few days I was having to wake up early so I'd had half an hour before trying to test. I was a bit last minute getting up this morning so I was pleased I didn't mess it up getting it done before I'd had even a mouthful of coffee! :)
 
You'll learn to test in your sleep!:p:p We usually rely on a +3 but we use Lev and that has an later onset. Actually though the preshot and +3 are pretty much the same, meters only have to be accurate to within 20% +/- and can vary from shot to shot. I'd agree that this is still probably a continuation of the bounce.

The drooling for good numbers has begun, just remember how happy you were to see pink this morning!;)
 
I don't doubt I will especially if she drops close to the 50 at night sometime down the line! The numbers are really close to the same with the 20% though, you're right. I'm not worried about it - just thinking of seeing if she is lower at night than during the day...more curiosity than anything else!

I'm still very happy with the pink - it's so much better than seeing black numbers in the morning. Just working on figuring out what's happening in her system at as many different times of day as I can. :)
 
At least the 500+ spike right about her PMPS test seems to have lowered a fair bit today. Didn't get as much testing done as I'd have liked - it all got pretty busy today but I'm going to grab a couple more tests before bed to see where she's headed tonight.
 
So she decided to go a bit higher at night than in the day. Trust her to be awkward and do the opposite of every other cat! ;) Unless she's never adapted from UK time to PST - it would be almost 9am in the UK at the moment.
 
Every cat likes to do things their own special way and then as soon as you think you know everything there is to know about them they'll change their minds ;) but in this case I think Rosa is still bouncing from her visit to the blue grotto, should have cleared by tomorrow night though...

Looks to me like she might be just about due an increase too so post for advice about that in tomorrow's condo.

Well done on the test this morning :)
 
Thank you. She most likely is still bouncing a little but she's doing fine - still under 500 and pretty happy with life. I guess even in the 400's she's going to be feeling a whole lot better than when she was all the way up at 680!

I just worked it out and you're right - I last increased on Wednesday so she is due for an increase on fast-track as she's still over 300 at nadir (apart from her one attempt at dipping her toes in the blue - she must have really wanted to party with Vyktor ;) ). I'll check in and ask for advice on that after her morning test. Off to get some sleep now as it looks like she's all set for the night! :)
 
Ugh - trying to get Rosa to go to bed. I've been bringing her into the bedroom and closing the door so I can keep an eye on her, but tonight she's decided she wants to be left to wander and is resisting all my efforts to get her into the room. She can always get in to find me if she wants to. I've been too nervous about something happening to her to let her disappear off to one of her other places at night since she was diagnosed. With her numbers as they are, should I just let her do her own thing...she should be safe enough tonight in the 400's?
 
Yes she will be fine. With that reading at +3 hours in she isn't going to drop into dangerous territory. Just make sure no dry food or treats are out anywhere.

Just another note, keep checking for ketones whilst the numbers are high.

She is still inside though isn't she?
 
Thank you. She's all good on ketones - negative every time. I've shut our housemate's cats in his room with their dry food - he's away for the weekend.

Oh, she's inside - she only goes out on a harness and leash anyway and she can get to me if she needs to - the door's always open if the cats aren't being kept in the room.

Thanks again - I'm going to go and crash for a few hours now I know I can leave her to her own devices for a bit. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top