? Rom - Caninsulin (Vetsulin) dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue484

Member Since 2015
Hi. I have been shooting Romulus 2 units twice a day, but the last couple of days, he has shown good numbers. Today at +4 he is 3.7 (67) on AlphaTrak. Do we use 68 as a reduction figure for Caninsulin like Lantus or not? Do you suggest I reduce to 1.5 in future? (He's on the VetPen, so no quarter doses)
 
Last edited:
Yes and no. Since Canisulin is an in and out insulin it's dosing is based on the preshot number as well as the nadir number. I am basing this on prozinc but I believe it is similar because prozinc is also in and out but just lasts longer and has a more gradual effect over the course of the shot.

So after Fern went to 54 (human meter) on a preshot number of 293 I knew that 3 units at that PS number was too much and I reduced down to 2.5 units at that preshot number. I was still good to give 3u when he was over 400 though. (that appears to be going away as well after this morning).
 
Do we use 68 as a reduction figure for Caninsulin like Lantus or not?
I would if it were my cat. When Saoirse was on Caninsulin I didn't want her below the mid-80s on Alphatrak: for the nature of the insulin I wanted at least that much of a cushion. I actually didn't feel comfortable if her BG dropped into double figures at all.

With such low nadirs I'd also be inclined to grab a few +2 tests to see how fast the dose is dropping Romulus and whether there is any risk of an earlier nadir than usual.

My two penn'orth.


Mogs
.
 
I was raising the dose for preshots if over a certain number but I noticed it took Rom a few cycles to settle down again, so now I am trialling keeping the same dose. I started only of the first of March and only had to do it once, but it worked then.

I still gave 2 units tonight as he was slightly higher than at AMPS, plus I never saw the above post!! He is still yellow at +5, so he seems good for tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top