Jim (NJ)
Member Since 2019
The love of my life was diagnosed in March 2020 with ckd and pancreatitis when I brought him in to get checked out for concern of his diabetes. He was diagnosed in May 2019 with diabetes when his glucose levels were off the charts at 450-500+. The vet started him on Lantus with 2u and would do a fructose test every month, to see his numbers remaining 450+ so she increased him to 3u, then to 4u each month until finally in August when I started doing research on my own. I was able to find this great site and found out a great amount of info that would go on to save & extend his life. He ate Blue buffalo dry food and 2 wet meals a day all his life until the vet recommended switching to Royal Canin Glycobalance for his diabetes. He was always starving when on glycobalance and it did nothing to help his condition.
Once I found out about high protein, low carb diet I switched him over to Fancy feast classics pate which he loved eating compared to the glyco food. This is when I started testing his glucose levels daily and really changed my lifestyle to take care of him properly. I immediately noticed the drop in his BG levels going to an all wet high protein/low card diet. As you can see on his spreadsheet, he continued to improve and eventually went into remission on January 1st 2020!
We started 2020 with his 1st no shot and his numbers glucose were low all through January & February. They started to rise into the 150 area on a human meter so we brought him in to get checked out by a new vet since we moved from our original vet and I felt like I did more to save his life then they did. My 1st visit was on 3/18 which I have blood work & urine test for. The new vet determined from a ultrasound that he has pancreatitis and ckd. It broke my heart how she explained it to me and thought we were bringing him home to basically die at that point. She did not provide any treatment and I just continued to monitor his glucose levels until they started getting into the 200-250 range. At this point is when I started him back on .5u Lantus and working his way back up to where he is now at 2u.
We brought him back into the vet to get his teeth cleaned as this was originally what his appointment back in May 2019 was for when they found he was diabetic. They cleaned his teeth & pulled a tooth, I was hoping this could of been the cause of his glucose levels rising but they still continued to creep up. I started Rocky on Hills k/d diet food at the end of May per the vets recommendation. After a few days of not really wanting to eat it, I then find some more info about how high in carbs the food was and low in protein, so I did more research. I learned about home raw food but we hesitant to do raw, so we just boiled chicken breast and he loved it. After about 2 months of eating boiled chicken, I ended up switching him to ezcomplete premix with raw chicken to balance out his diet and he loved it.
He started acting a bit strange the past 2 months, avoiding the rooms were in. Vomiting more than usual, loss of appetite, poop outside the box when he never went outside the box all of his life. Drinking a lot of water & urinating a lot too. I knew something was up with my guy so I brought him back in this week to get tested again. I wanted to start him on sub-q fluids as I read the benefits so I got a 1000ml bag on his last visit and we started fluids Saturday 10/3. He seemed to respond ok to fluids, he allows us to do them while purring and his coat feels much softer. I can tell hes still uncomfortable so I am trying to find more that I can do to help him. I had a bad breakdown on Tuesday night 10/6 as he stopped eating around noon and I felt like he was taking a turn for the worst and from reading about crashing, I got very scared and started a panic attack on myself. Luckily he started eating again the next day and has been since. But I just got the blood results today from the vet and his number have me really concerned. The vet just said at this point we just want to make him as comfortable as we can. She was going to provide with anti-nausea meds and continue doing daily 100ml sub-q fluids. I currently give him a probiotic but read about prebiotics so I mentioned that to her after reading about them on this site. I ordered Renadyl due to being able to put it in his food but when I told her that, she said even if less bacteria lives breaking it out the capsule she would still go with Azodyl. Now after seeing his high calcium levels, I question if either prebiotic is ok for him.
I am so desperate to do anything I can to help my guy get comfortable. I don’t personally feel like the vet I am seeing now is doing much good besides writing prescriptions and doing blood work. I was fortunate enough to get him help with his diabetes, but feel like I’m behind the ball on ckd and his time is running out.
I brought him in on 10/20 for the ultrasound and here are the results below with recommendations from the internal medicine specialist. I made the mistake of thinking his appointment was on 10/19 so I gave him 50mg Gabapentin the night before, then 100mg the day of the 19th. Once I realized the appointment was a day later, I spoke to the vet and she gave me more so I repeated the same dose for 10/20. I was concerned about him being on Gabapentin for 2 days but he was very relaxed and actually went poop at the vet waiting for his ultrasound. He is usually very upset with the vet and she was concerned that they might need to sedate him, but they were able to do it with just the Gabapentin.
Here are his results below: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...iWueLE8NRpUSgRlTzjFmlKSKc/edit#gid=1236880821
ABDOMINAL FELINE
R Adr Gl L Adr Gl
Right Adrenal Caudal Pole
Height 0.57 cm
Left Adrenal Caudal Pole
Height 0.53 cm
Gastroint
Duodenum
Thickness 0.33 cm
Jejunum
Thickness 0.35 cm
[0.33, 0.36]
Ileum
Thickness 0.42 cm
R Kidn L Kidney
Kidney Right Sagittal
Length 3.86 cm
Kidney Left Sagittal
Length 3.93 cm
OBSERVATIONS:
HISTORY: History of diabetes mellitus, went into remission in January, recent relapse with increasing insulin requirements over time. Progressive azotemia. On freeze dried raw chicken diet, Cerenia PRN. Aluminum hydroxide.
LIVER: The liver is normal in size and contour. It is normal in echogenicity with no focal masses or nodules.
GALL BLADDER: The gall bladder wall is thickened >1 mm. There is echogenic bile or sludge in the lumen of gall bladder. The common bile duct is normal.
SPLEEN: The spleen is normal in size and measures less than 1 cm in thickness.
KIDNEYS: The kidneys are normal in size and contour. Both kidneys have mild loss of corticomedullary definition and normal renal architecture. There is bilateral renal pelvis dilation and no ureteral dilation.
ADRENAL GLANDS: The adrenal glands are symmetrically enlarged.
BLADDER: The urinary bladder is normal. No calculi or masses are seen.
STOMACH: The stomach is normal.
SMALL INTESTINES: The small intestines are diffusely thickened with a prominent hypoechoic mucusal and muscularis layers. Normal wall layering is seen in all areas evaluated.
COLON AND ILEOCOLIC JUNCTION: The colon and ileocolic junction are normal. The ileocolic lymph nodes are prominent and surrounded by Hyperechoic fat.
PANCREAS: The pancreas is diffusely hypoechoic and enlarged.
LYMPH NODES: There is no mesenteric lymphadenopathy
PERITONEUM: There is no effusion.
ASSESSMENT:
The thickened gall bladder may be normal in an older cat or could indicate cholangiohepatitis.
Mild chronic renal changes the renal pelvis dilation may be an individual variant or indicate pyelonephritis.
The bilateral adrenomegaly may be an incidental finding or indicate pituitary dependent hyperadrenocorticism.
Thickened intestines R/O diffuse enteropathy, like inflammatory bowel disease or small cell lymphoma vs. normal in older cat
Pancreatitis
RECOMMENDATIONS:
I would recommend a urinalysis and culture. Since animals with diabetes mellitus can have an inactive sediment, I would treat with antibiotic for 4 weeks if the urinalysis suggests infection or the culture is positive or both.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The vet recommended a urinalysis and culture based on the ultrasound so I proceeded with them. I am still waiting on the results that should be back on Monday but the vet was very concerned with his condition and the results of the ultrasound. He has IDB, the gall bladder walls are thicked, the adrenal gland are very enlarged and she said that is possible due to stress? As she went over the long list of things, my heart just dropped and I had a hard time remember everything.
Pending the results of urine test & culture, she believe he might have a deep UTI or kidney infection that is causing the spike in the Blood glucose and what caused the downward spiral the past few months. She wants to put him on 30 day antibiotics but waiting for results to proceed.
She mentioned steroids but didn't want to go that route and recommend starting a B12 injection but I am currently giving him Vita-cost 2000mcg B12 a day with 200mcg of folic acid. I was giving him zobaline for over a year which is the combination of these 2, but switched to this as much cheaper on my wallet and found this info diabetics forum. I read the injection can be better for pancreatitis since a lot of the powder is not absorbed, but then also read to do both as it won’t hurt him. So I'm not sure what to proceed with?
I also saw a lot of talk about Vit B complex supplement, which I am not giving, but leads me to believe I should start that now too?
He has been taking 4mg of cerenia & getting 100ml sub-q fluids daily which seemed to help alot in his attitude and appetite. I feel like his constipation has gotten worse since starting the phos binder which I read is a common side effect. Since starting the binder, we upped his miralax to 1/8 tsp per meal ( 4xday) and he did not poop since his vet visit in almost 4 days. I put 1/2 tsp of coconut oil in 4 meals yesterday and upped 2 of the meals to 1/4 tsp mirralax. He finally passed some poop outside the box this morning, but not as much as I was expecting. Today he barley ate any of his food and when I tested his BG # before dinner, it was at 285 which is slightly higher than his normal preshot.
After doing some reading on pancreatitis, I always see pain management being talked about and bupe. My vet has never mentioned this and its something that now looking back on, I feel like he has been in bad pain from his pancreatitis & he also suffers from arthritis. I feel like I should be asking the vet for bupe and need to get him on something to help manage his pain. He didn't really take well to the gabapentiin and Ive heard bupe is a lot stronger, so Im concerned he will freak out with it and doesn't like the medicated feeling they bring. Also bupe causes constipation which I think may be my biggest concern atm.
I feel like she did not have many recommendations to offer and feels like he time is going to be soon. I have been an emotional wreck all week, but not ready yet to give up on my guy. I don't want to see him suffer and sit in 1 spot for the rest of his life either, so I feel like I'm starting to run out of options to try. Doing research everyday on his conditions is taking its tool mentally and physically on me too, just so lost and so much conflicting info. If anyone sees a vitamin or prescription that I am possible missing that could help, I'm willing to try anything before throwing in the towel. Thank you all your time and support in this journey. It’s amazing the love and support you can get from a community of such great people <3
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...5iWueLE8NRpUSgRlTzjFmlKSKc/edit#gid=600488661
Once I found out about high protein, low carb diet I switched him over to Fancy feast classics pate which he loved eating compared to the glyco food. This is when I started testing his glucose levels daily and really changed my lifestyle to take care of him properly. I immediately noticed the drop in his BG levels going to an all wet high protein/low card diet. As you can see on his spreadsheet, he continued to improve and eventually went into remission on January 1st 2020!
We started 2020 with his 1st no shot and his numbers glucose were low all through January & February. They started to rise into the 150 area on a human meter so we brought him in to get checked out by a new vet since we moved from our original vet and I felt like I did more to save his life then they did. My 1st visit was on 3/18 which I have blood work & urine test for. The new vet determined from a ultrasound that he has pancreatitis and ckd. It broke my heart how she explained it to me and thought we were bringing him home to basically die at that point. She did not provide any treatment and I just continued to monitor his glucose levels until they started getting into the 200-250 range. At this point is when I started him back on .5u Lantus and working his way back up to where he is now at 2u.
We brought him back into the vet to get his teeth cleaned as this was originally what his appointment back in May 2019 was for when they found he was diabetic. They cleaned his teeth & pulled a tooth, I was hoping this could of been the cause of his glucose levels rising but they still continued to creep up. I started Rocky on Hills k/d diet food at the end of May per the vets recommendation. After a few days of not really wanting to eat it, I then find some more info about how high in carbs the food was and low in protein, so I did more research. I learned about home raw food but we hesitant to do raw, so we just boiled chicken breast and he loved it. After about 2 months of eating boiled chicken, I ended up switching him to ezcomplete premix with raw chicken to balance out his diet and he loved it.
He started acting a bit strange the past 2 months, avoiding the rooms were in. Vomiting more than usual, loss of appetite, poop outside the box when he never went outside the box all of his life. Drinking a lot of water & urinating a lot too. I knew something was up with my guy so I brought him back in this week to get tested again. I wanted to start him on sub-q fluids as I read the benefits so I got a 1000ml bag on his last visit and we started fluids Saturday 10/3. He seemed to respond ok to fluids, he allows us to do them while purring and his coat feels much softer. I can tell hes still uncomfortable so I am trying to find more that I can do to help him. I had a bad breakdown on Tuesday night 10/6 as he stopped eating around noon and I felt like he was taking a turn for the worst and from reading about crashing, I got very scared and started a panic attack on myself. Luckily he started eating again the next day and has been since. But I just got the blood results today from the vet and his number have me really concerned. The vet just said at this point we just want to make him as comfortable as we can. She was going to provide with anti-nausea meds and continue doing daily 100ml sub-q fluids. I currently give him a probiotic but read about prebiotics so I mentioned that to her after reading about them on this site. I ordered Renadyl due to being able to put it in his food but when I told her that, she said even if less bacteria lives breaking it out the capsule she would still go with Azodyl. Now after seeing his high calcium levels, I question if either prebiotic is ok for him.
I am so desperate to do anything I can to help my guy get comfortable. I don’t personally feel like the vet I am seeing now is doing much good besides writing prescriptions and doing blood work. I was fortunate enough to get him help with his diabetes, but feel like I’m behind the ball on ckd and his time is running out.
I brought him in on 10/20 for the ultrasound and here are the results below with recommendations from the internal medicine specialist. I made the mistake of thinking his appointment was on 10/19 so I gave him 50mg Gabapentin the night before, then 100mg the day of the 19th. Once I realized the appointment was a day later, I spoke to the vet and she gave me more so I repeated the same dose for 10/20. I was concerned about him being on Gabapentin for 2 days but he was very relaxed and actually went poop at the vet waiting for his ultrasound. He is usually very upset with the vet and she was concerned that they might need to sedate him, but they were able to do it with just the Gabapentin.
Here are his results below: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...iWueLE8NRpUSgRlTzjFmlKSKc/edit#gid=1236880821
ABDOMINAL FELINE
R Adr Gl L Adr Gl
Right Adrenal Caudal Pole
Height 0.57 cm
Left Adrenal Caudal Pole
Height 0.53 cm
Gastroint
Duodenum
Thickness 0.33 cm
Jejunum
Thickness 0.35 cm
[0.33, 0.36]
Ileum
Thickness 0.42 cm
R Kidn L Kidney
Kidney Right Sagittal
Length 3.86 cm
Kidney Left Sagittal
Length 3.93 cm
OBSERVATIONS:
HISTORY: History of diabetes mellitus, went into remission in January, recent relapse with increasing insulin requirements over time. Progressive azotemia. On freeze dried raw chicken diet, Cerenia PRN. Aluminum hydroxide.
LIVER: The liver is normal in size and contour. It is normal in echogenicity with no focal masses or nodules.
GALL BLADDER: The gall bladder wall is thickened >1 mm. There is echogenic bile or sludge in the lumen of gall bladder. The common bile duct is normal.
SPLEEN: The spleen is normal in size and measures less than 1 cm in thickness.
KIDNEYS: The kidneys are normal in size and contour. Both kidneys have mild loss of corticomedullary definition and normal renal architecture. There is bilateral renal pelvis dilation and no ureteral dilation.
ADRENAL GLANDS: The adrenal glands are symmetrically enlarged.
BLADDER: The urinary bladder is normal. No calculi or masses are seen.
STOMACH: The stomach is normal.
SMALL INTESTINES: The small intestines are diffusely thickened with a prominent hypoechoic mucusal and muscularis layers. Normal wall layering is seen in all areas evaluated.
COLON AND ILEOCOLIC JUNCTION: The colon and ileocolic junction are normal. The ileocolic lymph nodes are prominent and surrounded by Hyperechoic fat.
PANCREAS: The pancreas is diffusely hypoechoic and enlarged.
LYMPH NODES: There is no mesenteric lymphadenopathy
PERITONEUM: There is no effusion.
ASSESSMENT:
The thickened gall bladder may be normal in an older cat or could indicate cholangiohepatitis.
Mild chronic renal changes the renal pelvis dilation may be an individual variant or indicate pyelonephritis.
The bilateral adrenomegaly may be an incidental finding or indicate pituitary dependent hyperadrenocorticism.
Thickened intestines R/O diffuse enteropathy, like inflammatory bowel disease or small cell lymphoma vs. normal in older cat
Pancreatitis
RECOMMENDATIONS:
I would recommend a urinalysis and culture. Since animals with diabetes mellitus can have an inactive sediment, I would treat with antibiotic for 4 weeks if the urinalysis suggests infection or the culture is positive or both.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The vet recommended a urinalysis and culture based on the ultrasound so I proceeded with them. I am still waiting on the results that should be back on Monday but the vet was very concerned with his condition and the results of the ultrasound. He has IDB, the gall bladder walls are thicked, the adrenal gland are very enlarged and she said that is possible due to stress? As she went over the long list of things, my heart just dropped and I had a hard time remember everything.
Pending the results of urine test & culture, she believe he might have a deep UTI or kidney infection that is causing the spike in the Blood glucose and what caused the downward spiral the past few months. She wants to put him on 30 day antibiotics but waiting for results to proceed.
She mentioned steroids but didn't want to go that route and recommend starting a B12 injection but I am currently giving him Vita-cost 2000mcg B12 a day with 200mcg of folic acid. I was giving him zobaline for over a year which is the combination of these 2, but switched to this as much cheaper on my wallet and found this info diabetics forum. I read the injection can be better for pancreatitis since a lot of the powder is not absorbed, but then also read to do both as it won’t hurt him. So I'm not sure what to proceed with?
I also saw a lot of talk about Vit B complex supplement, which I am not giving, but leads me to believe I should start that now too?
He has been taking 4mg of cerenia & getting 100ml sub-q fluids daily which seemed to help alot in his attitude and appetite. I feel like his constipation has gotten worse since starting the phos binder which I read is a common side effect. Since starting the binder, we upped his miralax to 1/8 tsp per meal ( 4xday) and he did not poop since his vet visit in almost 4 days. I put 1/2 tsp of coconut oil in 4 meals yesterday and upped 2 of the meals to 1/4 tsp mirralax. He finally passed some poop outside the box this morning, but not as much as I was expecting. Today he barley ate any of his food and when I tested his BG # before dinner, it was at 285 which is slightly higher than his normal preshot.
After doing some reading on pancreatitis, I always see pain management being talked about and bupe. My vet has never mentioned this and its something that now looking back on, I feel like he has been in bad pain from his pancreatitis & he also suffers from arthritis. I feel like I should be asking the vet for bupe and need to get him on something to help manage his pain. He didn't really take well to the gabapentiin and Ive heard bupe is a lot stronger, so Im concerned he will freak out with it and doesn't like the medicated feeling they bring. Also bupe causes constipation which I think may be my biggest concern atm.
I feel like she did not have many recommendations to offer and feels like he time is going to be soon. I have been an emotional wreck all week, but not ready yet to give up on my guy. I don't want to see him suffer and sit in 1 spot for the rest of his life either, so I feel like I'm starting to run out of options to try. Doing research everyday on his conditions is taking its tool mentally and physically on me too, just so lost and so much conflicting info. If anyone sees a vitamin or prescription that I am possible missing that could help, I'm willing to try anything before throwing in the towel. Thank you all your time and support in this journey. It’s amazing the love and support you can get from a community of such great people <3
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...5iWueLE8NRpUSgRlTzjFmlKSKc/edit#gid=600488661
Last edited:
Please hang in there foe more replies.