Rocky bouncing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marlena

Member Since 2015
Dear clever members!
I would like to ask you guys to give me your opinions as with regards to Rocky's BGs today.
Rocky's numbers looked very good today but suddenly he jumped from green number to BG of 10 (180) at PMPS.
What happened today as follows:
from this morning I changed the type of protein in his food from turkey to beef (raw homemade with supplements).
Later this morning he helped himself to some cooked fish and drank a lot of fish "soup" (water left after fish was cooked for the dog). He vomited shortly after that with hairballs. I fed him again as he had insulin in the morning.
I have noticed in the past that every time he got some cooked fish and/or fish "soup" he vomited profusely so I stopped giving him that but sometimes it is hard to remember to remove things from the kitchen so he helps himself like today.
I wonder why he is sick after eating fish/drinking fish "soup" - it looks like some kind of reaction.
Next: could his vomiting caused him to drop his BG very low and I did not catch it (fed him and tested him few hours later) hence his bounce PM or maybe there is a digestive problem and that in itself would cause him stress and higher BG hours later?
Do you have any suggestions for me? Am I doing something wrong? He seemed to be so well regulated and I continue with low dose of insulin but as soon as I skip a dose on a green number he goes higher.
I would appreciate your input as I'm still learning how balance this sugar dance.
 
(((Marlena))) no real suggestions/advice, I'm afraid, but it could be possible that the change of diet to beef, then the addition of fish to which it seems he may be allergic, has caused stress to some degree which makes it entirely possible that his BG goes higher. You say that he always vomits after fish so that's one contributor. Presumably he has had beef before and is not allergic to that? I thought beef was harder to digest that poultry but I don't feed it myself so not sure.

I'm sure the clever members will give you some better ideas but meanwhile try not to worry. This is indeed the sugar dance and a very merry one at that ;-)

Hugs
Diana x
 
Thanks Diana,
see what tomorrow brings.
Beef was always ok with Rox but fish does not suit him.

So my money is on the fish.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top