Robbies weekend numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
It was an interesting weekend- we had some commitments that made timing hard - so I bounced around with what I shot because I wanted to make sure he wasn't dropping too fast or I wasn't crazed while I couldn't get to him. It showed some interesting things.
It's really clear to me that morning shots can be lower than evening - he just responds much faster in the morning some how. I'm considering doing a 4 a amps and than a 4.75 5 or 5.5 at pmps,depending on his numbers - anyone wants to take a peak I updated his SS I'm looking at 7/19 as a potentially great day if I hadn't been so stressed out and panicked and dumped so much high carb stuff into him... would like to see one of those again when I know I can get to him easily.

Thanks
 
:-D :-D :-D
....damn, my butt hurts....
:lol: :lol: :lol:
I think Robbie is liking the 4.75u dose, Ellen. Today, not so much, but tonight? Yep.
I would agree, and I'm trying to look at this from a what have you done for me lately perspective since it's obvious that something has changed for the better in Robbie, that he drops lower quicker in the AM than in the PM. Tonight illustrates that well. Not much at +3, and nice drop by +5.

I'm also thinking that on the PM on the 19th, after that green during the day, the PMPS was partly "bounce", and you could have gone with 4.75 or 4.5 and he may not have come in yellow in the AM (which means you could have kept with 4.5ish instead of having to drop to 3.0 (which dominoed to the red PMPS, etc....

Really, the only cycle that doesn't look encouraging to me is today's AM cycle. Other than that, he looks like he's responding well, and all the numbers based on the doses and if there was or wasn't a bounce muddying the picture, make logical sense.

Maybe try 4.5 in the morning unless you see a number that can't be explained by logic?

Carl
 
OK did I bother to look on here for responses before I shot at 6am ? NO cause I was up half the night with some stomach virus and was so exhausted I don't know how I even shot and fed him and the other cat and crawled back into bed. I went with 4.00 cause I thought if he pulls a quick drop on me this morning I'll have to kill myself and since nobody would take as good care of him as me I couldn't do that to the poor guy so I went with 4.00 - the results were - it vanished after 10/11 hours like before - but hey NO quick drop... you get what you aim for sometimes. 5.00 tonight gave us like a 65/70% (totally guessing here Carl) drop in the +3 hour so he's at 248 right now. I've gotta hit bed soon so I'll check him at +4 and see where we are (although he just insisted on a snack)
I can say he's NOT pooping as well in the past 2 days - better than before still but not like a few days ago. So yeah, I think 4.75 is a good number but it's a pain in the ASS - I have to go to 5.00 and pull back just a TAD - very hard. Gonna give it to him tomorrow all things staying decent. We'll see.
 
Ellen,
You did the right thing shooting low. It's just one day, dear, and tomorrow it's in the rear view mirror.
Who'd going to take care of you if you run yourself into the ground?
If Robbie's having digestive issues again, his numbers will probably go wonky on you, so just try to maintain and get yourself better, and shoot safe doses.

and it was 53% (but who's counting ;-) )

Hugs,
Carl
 
LOL 53% OK I'm a writer not a math genius...
Well this morning I shot the "favored" 4.75 and at pmps he was 403 (actually EARLY for pmps by 15 minutes) What??? UGH so annoying. I had hubby shoot 5 at pmps. We are at about +3 now and I"m waiting for the test results (at work of course) OK ... and the number is... he's 275. I don't know. Plus I have to take him to the vet soon and he's just gonna say "why aren't you just shooting 5 like I said?" sigh... the insulin is almost done- gotta buy new so we'll see what that does the end of this week.
We are still trying to go away August 18th - I really wanted him in decent shape. At least it seems I could leave him with instructions to shoot 3.5 every morning and 4 every night and be pretty sure he won't hypo - still trying to find someone who'll test him and shoot. Very nerve wrecking.
 
Ellen,

I feel your pain about trying to get the numbers level before going away. Sounds like Robbie GI is doing better and the dosage is getting more level. Just keep hanging in there and i'm hoping for him to level out before next month. I leave next week for a wk and cooper has been a mess(up and down). SO it should be interesting.

Hope you are feeling better. Nothing like dealing with a sick kitty and you feeling sick too.

lori
 
Not that you don't have enough on your plate but I've been wondering about a couple of things for Robbie.

Thinking out loud, have you thought about having him tested for IAA (insulin resistance)/Acro? Once they start hitting the 5 unit mark and over it makes me wonder.

Have you thought about switching to one of the L's? Even with the higher doses maybe an insulin with a depot will help him have a flatter curve and lower numbers overall.
 
Yes, went over the IAA/Acro test thoughts with both our regular vet and the house call Vet who I really love too and neither felt this was something we should worry about now. He was on 8 units his first time around when he finally went OTJ - but our vet wants us to switch to one of the L's - we've discussed it I just couldn't wrap my head around it in the summer when I work like 70 hours a week - no time to figure out a new insulin so that's why we settled on 5/6 for the summer but now we're actually backing down as 5.5 ended up really being too much - Gotta get his timing fixed with eating etc. - just all over the clock these days due to me being at work so many hours and not here running things carefully. My guess is we'll be switching insulin in the Fall.
 
thanks gang - yes, I am Fifty ONE-derful years old today - and my sweet little (civie) girl Roxie Hart is 13! I picked her cause she was born on my birthday - she's in amazing shape and I swear is hanging in so she can once again be the only cat in the house ... :evil: poor Robbie with all his issues... So she's 65 in people years and is retiring and hopefully going on Social Security! :RAHCAT

spending my birthday at work freaking out of the Prozinc shortage - bought the last bottle from my vets it will last me about a month... ugh.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top