Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and holding

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
OK I"m still shot from the longest week of my life and a 15 hour work day on Saturday - so I was too stupid to realize I now have an issue - what do I do about giving Robbie some insulin? He was 172 at amps+11 at amps +12 well, pmps should have been, he was 131 fed him and at amps +12.5 he was 171 at amps +13 he's (of course) still 170. Even on the very aggressive schedule we've been on I can't shoot much into 170. The other night I waited till +14 and he went up to 354 suddenly - (food?) I shot 3.0 and it he was high the rest of the night but than "only" 367 at amps. He's sleeping peacefully - doesn't seem to want more to eat (ate a full can)
Thoughts please gang I can't even remember how this all works it's been so long since he's moved much lower than 280range at either PS.
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Can you monitor tonight at all? If so, and if he moves up into that 250-300 range, maybe the 3.5 again? Getting a mid range 300 at the next preshot is an okay outcome in my humble opinion.

Sorry you are here, but they are lovely numbers.....
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

spoke to my new friend the house call vet - she suggested testing at +14 which I did and he's 378 - now I'm sure a lot is food but we opted to shoot 5.00 (as our regular VEt has suggested unless he's under 200) - so Iam home all night- just got a new cannister of test strips and we'll check it out -
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Ellen. I will be around tonight and will check back in later to check on how robbie is doing. Hope all will go well and he will give you good numbers.
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

thanks - fingers crossed he doesn't pull a trick on me
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

I never remembered how this works - I shot him 2 hours late - but I don't make that his NEW pmps right? Anyway best I can explain it is I shot 2 hours late so at 14 now at 15 hours plus 15 minutes he's at 267
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

It doesn't mean you have to reset your clock and wait 12 hours to dose him again, so on your SS, put the dose in the +2 PMPS column, and this latest test would be considered to have been done at +1.25 after his PMPS. Does that confuse things? You can enter the data in the PMPS +3 column.

You could still shoot "on time" at your normal AMPS time providing you have a high enough number to shoot into.

Loving these numbers Ellen. It's great to see you and Robbie catch a break. :-D

Carl
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Thanks Carl but in my current mental state you've now totally confused me LOL -- I am happy about the numbers but trying to figure it out in terms of where to go with the dose etc. I'd seriously love to move him off that 5:45am number(I've slowly been moving it from 5:15) more to like 6:15ish even cause when we go away in August (if we make it) our friend won't be doing anything before about 7am in terms of a shot etc.
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

ummmm, OK tad nervous now - not even another hour and he's 170.... he was SCREAMING for his midnight snack so I gave it to him... gonna stay up another 45 minutes and test again than either stay up or set my alarm - that's like 100 drop every 2 hours...
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

OK, didn't mean to confuse....oooops.

If you are trying to move his AM shot to later, this could be a good opportunity to do so. Whatever time that was when you shot him at +14 today, you can shoot again up to 12 hours later, and then that will become your new "normal" shot time. (I didn't realize you were trying to move to a later time anyway).

As near as I can tell, tonight you shot at what, 7:45? Then tomorrow morning, you can shoot at 7:45, 7:30, whatever time you want. If he is "high" before 12 hours have expired, you can shoot earlier, but you don't have to.

What I was getting at was that just because you were late tonight, it doesn't mean you have to move tomorrow's shot "out". Robbie obviously can't tell time, so he'll have no idea 12 hours has passed. But since you want to move his shot to a later time anyway, then Robbie is just trying to help you adjust your schedule. What a good boy!

Carl

As far as dose goes, as long as he cooperates in the morning, I'd go with 5.0 or 5.5.
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

ummmm, OK tad nervous now - not even another hour and he's 170.... he was SCREAMING for his midnight snack so I gave it to him... gonna stay up another 45 minutes and test again than either stay up or set my alarm - that's like 100 drop every 2 hours...

damn. 200 points in 2 hours, huh? Good that you fed, hopefully head the drop off. I just looked at your SS, and I don't see a quick drop by +2 anywhere, so this is sort of new territory.

The last time Robbie was on the juice, what was his "breakthrough dose"? The past couple of cycles sort of have that feel about them.

Carl

ETA - we posted at the same time....I'm reviewing the thread for numbers....(someone hasn't updated her spreadsheet, tsk tsk. :lol:
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

PMPS 387
+1.25 267
+2 170
Is that right?
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

I know I know I haven't updated the SS - I'll try to do that since I have some time now tying to stay up - no he hasn't had this quick a drop that I've documented in a long time. First time around 8.0 was his break thru number - but than again it was his starting point too. So ... I don't know - my gut's been telling me 6 was gonna be scary - so we aren't far off that . I'm gonna update the SS best I can now.
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Carl's thoughts on the 170

"Nervous" is appropriate. Like I said, I don't see a quick drop to +2 on the SS. I see lots of drops that big in 4 hours.

In 45, when you planned on testing him, we will see if the food slowed it down some. I will be watching for it.

Carl
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Ellen,
I think it's all good. He's just diving early. You know how to deal with it. Just haven't had this excitement this early before. You have any higher carb gravy carbage in the pantry? Not sure you'll need it, but it beats the hell out of karo, and to him, tastes a lot better.

Carl
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

His sister still eats the high carb gravey stuff skinny little thing that she is - so I have plenty of it and he's been dying to get his chops on some. We'll see.
I am frantically looking now for my notes on all the odd numbers I shot over the weekend - I have all his BG numbers in the meter but not the amounts I shot - and I know I did some odd stuff
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

OK the SS is a bit updated it's sketchy and messy but it's what I can find right now -more importantly I just tested and he's 138 - thoughts???

Carl - Your numbers are about right - I think I saw one number at one point and it was not correct - 372 was his HIGH point when I spoke to the house call vet and she said "try 5 - he hasn't budged much recently he needs a push" so I did but I think I saw 387 (new glasses in purse not on face) Now looking at the meter with the glasses on it says 372 - I'm an ass (and tired)
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

How long ago did he eat? Grab a can of that gravy stuff. Not yet, but maybe soon. If you can get him to level off and stay blue for a few hours, that would rock.

Carl
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Gravey food locked and loaded - I cheated and let him lick some off my fingers so he'd be a good boy for the test - he hates these multiple pricks - since he's been getting like 5 a day at most - so I tested at like midnight EST so I'll test again at 12:30? He ate 1/2 can around 11ish
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Good plan. See ya in 15:-)
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

btw Carl that photo of Bob is PRICELESS.... too cute.
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

127 another 10 points or the same however you want to look at it but I'm still scared he's dropping - thoughts - spoonful of the gravey crap?
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

I was digging thru the boxes of photos a while back and found Bob and Lilly as babies photos. So I took pics of the pics with my phone. His head was HUGE compared to the rest of him. He was the runt of the litter. Very adorable as a kitten. And he more than grew into his head!

Carl
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

This is almost +5? I think just a spoonful of carb soup would be find. fine.

Carl
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Yes, the shot was about 7:45/8pm EST - so the test was 12:30 EST
These are basically what I think the numbers have been

8pm 372 shot 5 (this was on top of a full can of dinner food he was between 170 and 133 at his regular pmps of 5:45)
10pm 267
11:20 170 (food)
12 138
12:30 127
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Looking at his SS, at least lately, it looks like 5.5 might be a bit much. He either is going low, long, or both.
I would expect a bounce in the AM (I think you saw one on the morning of the 14th too).
I think maybe 5 is good if he's over 350.
Are you working tomorrow? Will he be able to be monitored during the day? I'm thinking tomorrow morning ahead of time, since I probably won't be around to help then.

Carl
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

tomorrow is my long day - 9am till god knows when and my husband is working 9 to noon and than maybe test him and than not home till 5pm - I just tested him and he was 148 - gave him like half a teaspoon of the gravey food - he almost bit the end of the spoon off LOL He's sleeping in his toy basket-
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Sounds like he's loving life right now. That's awesome! I think I might poke him one more time in an hour, but you should be past the low point. That food should carry him to nadir and beyond without boosting him too far or too fast. Now, go whisper in his ear that "just because you can bounce, that doesn't mean you need to Robbie."

Carl
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

well **** 5 isnt' enough ... maybe since he's pooping regularly 5 will be better - I can drop back and see. the point is - if a dose works and brings them nice and low - than they need to be "high" enough again to shoot that number and it's just a vicious circle - I was shooting 5 in to all sorts of scary numbers 221 281 275 and it never made a huge difference. back to the drawing board I guess.
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

I gotta sleep - setting the alarm for 2:15am - at least I'm not getting up at 5:30am to shoot him - gonna let that run till 6:15 I think and see where he is. UGH tomorrow night's gonna SUCK at work.
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

well **** 5 isnt' enough ... maybe since he's pooping regularly 5 will be better

I would edit that to say "well ****, 5 wasn't enough..."
I have told this to lots of people, maybe not to you but...
Don't assume what worked yesterday will work tomorrow.
And don't assume what failed yesterday will fail tomorrow.

There's a whole lot of blue on your SS the past 3-4 days. It's a whole new world.

Carl
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

thanks Carl and now the little bastard is 130 again... gave him another small teaspoon of the gravy food - hitting bed can't keep eyes open alarm set for an hour from now
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

I must crash too, Ellen, but you know the drill. He can flirt with green and may run long, but I believe you thwarted the really low numbers with the food you've been rationing.
I'll check in before I go to work. Try to get some sleep before your marathon day tomorrow.
Carl
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

checked him at 2:30 am and he was 185 - I let him go the night - checked him at 6:15 and he was 440 - shot 5 we'll see how he goes - he seems happy and comfy and well rested - three things him mom is decidedly NOT :roll:
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Bouncer...
Hoping you have a good day, Ellen:-)
Carl
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Wow! You two (and Robbie) had a long night. After you get some rest, Ellen, I hope you will be able to see this as a good sign! Looks like the poop issues were part of the higher bg. Hope the dose this am will work well. Maybe lower doses and numbers are in your future. (anti jinx)
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Ellen,

Sorry i didn't get back with you. I thought you might have a long night with the dose. I feel asleep with my kids and got up and fed cooper and passed back out again. Glad you had Carl to help you through the night. What is his amps?
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

440 amps. He hasn't been checked all day so I'm kind of freaking out but I shot 5 and he's been pretty steady on 5. Waiting for my husband to get home and make sure he's OK.
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Shot him at 6:15 am this morning - figured I'd take advantage of the episode and move his shot time up. 5:45 tonight he's 319 already. Shot 5.00 and have his "dad" on alert - could .5 really make this much of a difference? At 5.0 he's been steady eddie - 350ish at amps and pmps sometimes a bit higher sometimes a bit lower - 200's mid day and mid night when we're lucky. I move him to 5.5 and WACKO JACKO. I'm really curious about how much he's pooped has an effect on how things process. He cleaned himself out nicely yesterday late afternoon but he hasn't gone yet today. I don't know grasping here... :sad:

Here he is - I am Robbie I am in charge - you will bow to my will....
 

Attachments

  • robbie in charge.jpg
    robbie in charge.jpg
    88.1 KB · Views: 908
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

Definitely a "regal" look there!
It it only .5u, but that's a 10% increase? I guess the whole poopy thing question is how much stress does that cause or relieve when he manages to empty the tank on his own? If it's a huge relief, then his BG should be lowered by it. Remember, not only was he getting constipated, but the methods used to "fix" that were a lot more stressful than just being able to poop on his own. I have to believe it messed up his numbers "regularly".
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

well, the vet visits yes but other wise we use drugs and he's still on those. I think the stress of trying to go and not being able to might contribute for sure. I honestly don't know anymore. Tonight he's back to the same old - +2 307 down from 319 at pmps (dinner was at shot time)
 
Re: Robbie at130-170 and not moving now at amps +13 and hold

I know that the .5u is not to make that much of a difference, but remember ECID. My copper is very sensitive to .5u increases and decreases. I don't know why, but he is. So maybe this is the breaking point for Robbie. I do think that the poop issue might add to the stress if he is straining. A day isn't that bad. Your pmps looks ok. Maybe the amps was a bounce.

Good luck with tonight. Hope he does well.

lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top