Risky UPDATE --9/21--pm dose advice???

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
THANK YOU FOR YOUR THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS. And thank you Kim for posting updates on Risky as I had no INTERNET! I now have Internet....Risky is home after being admitted and hospitalized for 2 nights with a UTI, high fever and 1+ ketones.... When he was discharged today (about 4 hours ago), he had no fever, negative ketones and his BG was 350. 9:00 p.m. is when I need to give him Insulin. I just checked his BG and it was 423.... and negatives ketones. The vet recommended that I give him 2 units of ProZinc... I was giving him a fat 1.5 before being admitted. I need all of you to help me determine the amount of ProZinc to give. THANK YOU! MarthaPaige
 
FYI--Risky received R the entire hospital stay and this will be his first time back on Prozinc.
 
I am old and can't remember - do we have any numbers for either 1.5 or 2? I thought you had his ss attached to your posts, Kim, but I can't find it.
 
Dose - I think 2u sounds good.
Couple of questions - did they send you home with fluids?
Other than the antibiotic shot, did they prescribe others?
Is Risky eating okay?

Carl
 
No SS..but, the test are in my earlier Risky post.....

Baytril AB---on top of the Convenia

She will test when necessary

Not sent home with fluids, but the vet is open 24 hrs and she will take him back if necessary.

He is eating and doing good...very alert etc

Remember......he was on 8 units originally

Test postive for ketones until today...
 
No, my true thoughts are that if 2 units of prozinc won't hold the ketones off then any reasonable increase will not either. I was thinking 2 units and test, test, test the BGs and ketones.
 
I was going to say the f1.5u or 2u if you will be around to test.

I was wondering about wheather you got a different AB for the UTI too. Once the infection is gone his insulin needs might come down too.

I'm really glad he's doing well and back home. He skeert us.
 
Until I get used to posting, please be patient with me :lol: Risky is still on Batril and I will give him a dose tonight. No, they did not send me home with fluids (I don't know how to give) but Kim will show me when I return home from our trip. Vet is 10 minutes away and open 24 hours, 7 days a week. I am going to give him 2 units... and test, test, test. I will update you in the morning if not sooner. If he shows any signs of ketones, I will take him back to the hospital. Any other advice?? Thanks for the help. MarthaPaige
 
I was gonna say stick w/ 1.5 because the numbers were looking pretty good before he went to the hosp. Given how long it takes for ketones to show in urine, they were prob. due to the uti and.not.the lower dose.

Of course, I can't figure my own cat's dose out, either.

I wouldn't go higher than 2.
 
Martha,
Just keep an eye on the appetite. Lots of times anti-b's will make them feel nauseous. Important that there's food in his belly so the insulin doesn't become "too much".
You are doing an amazing job with Risky, especially given the fact that you are "on the road". Keep us posted (I've "subscribed" to this topic, so if anyone posts, I'll get an email prompt.

Carl
 
You can post your test numbers if you want. We like numbers and updates :-D .

And you have your own name now too. Yay!

Good that the vet is open and nearby for you.

Keep us posted.
 
Martha,
Welcome to PZI Land to both you and Risky!! Any friend of Kim's is a friend of ours.
I'm glad he's home and doing better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top