Risky 9/18 +2 +4 +6 +7 +10 pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
This is Risky's curve from yesterday--with today's numbers included

9/17
amps 477--shot 1 unit and fed tuna and dry (more tuna than dry--maybe 3 tbs. of dry) ketones negative
+2 586
+4 519
+6 444
+8 432
+10 504 eating tuna

pmps 452 shot 1 Unit
+3 515


9/18

amps 450 (eating tuna and some DM dry) Ketones negative shot 1.5 Units
+2 510----looks a little better than yesterday...food spike I am sure
+4. 448
+6. 405
+7. 404
+10 395
pmps 419 shot 1.5


Martha says that Risky is eating less, because she is not making the Science Diet as availble. He is eating tuna and some DM dry.....but, we know he needs to eat something, even if she has to feed the Science Diet more until he can be transitioned. Ketones were negative and she is testing. She is going to do a curve on the 1.5 today.
 
Re: Risky 9/18

She will not increase quickly--she knows he has to settle in, but since the food change is not going Great....he probably needs a little more insulin on board. She is going to get the Fancy Feast flaked Tuna today and see if he will take to it. He is eating some of the DM dry. It is her intention to stick with this dose for a few days if the numbers don't go crazy!
 
Re: Risky 9/18

His PS's are really consistant, the rises at +2 & +3 are probably from the dry food.

Have you given her Dr. Lisa's tips for transitioning to the wet food? It took me weeks to switch Harley, I would sit with him in the bathroom and put bits of wet food in his mouth with my fingers until he finally realized that it was food.

Paws crossed he eats better and starts to see the light on the wet food.
 
Re: Risky 9/18

She is making a great attempt to get him on wet. Just like you said Robin, she is sitting with him--mixing the tuna with the wet and putting it on her finger. She is going to try the Fancy Feast flaked Tuna today....who knows?!

Her other two cats took immediately to the wet...doesn't it figure?!
 
Re: Risky 9/18 +2 +4

I haven't been following along so far, but the numbers really look to me like Bix's when he was on dry food and 1u. I'm glad she is increasing, and I hope she will move fairly quickly as long as he is eating dry. Bix got up to 4.5u before I got him transitioned to canned (TG for LC!) and then was able to lower the dose, and even then (before the transition) he only saw a few blues.

Dry is hard to fight, it tends to just drive things into the reds & blacks. I remember getting SOOOO excited whenever there was a hint of blue or even yellow, but it was a tedious climb up through the doses (I fought at every increase, I don't know why in hindsight). Anyhow, my point is he looks to me like he needs more insulin, and likely quite a bit more (though I still would not move faster than 0.5 increments every 3rd day or so).
 
Re: Risky 9/18 +2 +4 +6

Joanna,
Just so you have a little background on this since you hadn't been following the past couple days.
This kitty, up until 3 days ago, was on 7 or 8 u BID, and had numbers in the reds and blacks on those doses. She just started hometesting, all those high numbers were from vet curves, as were the increases from 1u BID to 8u BID. Kim went to her home and showed her how to home test, and we collectively came up with a "plan" to change diet to wet, and basically start over like Risky was a just diagnosed newbie.
So the first day, we skipped the PM shot, then yesterday, 1u BID. Plus trying to intoduce kitty to wet (not a fan yet) or at least a better carb dry.
The intent is to make the diet change work to drop BG, then worry about upping insulin if needed. The curve from yesterday was a good improvement actually, with the less crappy dry food and some tuna.
Again, as if kitty is a newbie, we are trying to start low, go slow, and stick with a dose for 4 days or so.
The thinking is "really, how much worse can Risky get?", since he's been living in the red zone for I think, 3 months?
There are at least 3 other threads which show the group discussions on this one.
Here's one:
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=52410

Just wanted you to know how we got from "there" to here, and would love some input from you on the strategy!
Carl
 
Re: Risky 9/18 +2 +4 +6 +7

He is eating tuna and DM dry (13 percent carb) tonight. My understanding is no Science Diet (40% carb). If that is the case....yay!!!
 
Re: Risky 9/18 +2 +4 +6 +7

That IS good news!
Hopefully we see a reduced BG as a result soon.
Keep us posted...
Carl
 
Re: Risky 9/18 +2 +4 +6 +7

Considering the high dose of insulin he's used to, those numbers aren't bad. Hope they continue to improve.
 
Re: Risky 9/18 +2 +4 +6 +7 +10

Looks like the 1.5 (increase) and the removal of the Science Diet are producing improved results. Today's numbers aren't where we want to be.....but, duration is better than yesterday and the +10 is 100 points less. Obviously, I think we stay with the 1.5 dose and be aware that the numbers could come down quickly if he continues to eat the DM vs. the Science Diet.

Curious for your thoughts and opinions!
 
Re: Risky 9/18 +2 +4 +6 +7 +10

great news that he is off the science diet!!
I would stick with the 1.5 foor at least 4 days to see what happens..
you guys are doing great!!
 
Re: Risky 9/18 +2 +4 +6 +7 +10

Yes on the SS. She actually is not at home, but has Risky with her--so, when she gets back I will help her set it up. Then I will get Saint Sue to attach it to her signature.

Thanks Sue!
 
Re: Risky 9/18 +2 +4 +6 +7 +10

Good plan, stick with 1.5 for 4 days. I wonder if any of those BG numbers are associated with "away from home" stress? Getting home in familiar surroundings may help the cause too.
Please tell Martha from all of us that she is doing a super job!
Oooh, how about low carb treats? I think she said she was giving treats, don't recall what, but they sounded like off-the-grocery-store-shelf higer carb ones.
Carl
 
Re: Risky 9/18 +2 +4 +6 +7 +10

Wow. Good duration. The +10 is still falling, so where's his nadir?
 
Re: Risky 9/18 +2 +4 +6 +7 +10

What will be interesting is if he drops from +10 to +12 like he did last evening. Yesteday's curve was shaped like a sine wave. Today's is just a downward slope. I hope he's rising by shot time, or we'll have another decision to make.

Carl
 
PMPS 419 shot 1.5 Units

I am claiming nadir is +6 and the last test were surfs prior to pmps. The numbers after +6 are not different enough to claim as drops in my opinion.

Martha wants me to Thank everyone for their help. She will be on line tomorrow and able to interact with everyone!

Assuming the Science Diet is gone, we need to be cautious for a big drop when then high carbs clear. Please keep an eye out for Martha and Risky.....I know you will!

Thoughts?
 
I agree it's going to be a scary for awhile finding the right balance but she tests really well! so we should have enough information to keep him safe. Great job!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top