Rising Pre Shot

Aaron and Jasper

Member Since 2018
Do continually rising preshots after a dose increase suggest that its too much insulin?

And regarding smogyi/bouncing does it have to be a near hypo event or can it be a "perceived" low? Its probably the holy grail of questions around here but how do i know hes bouncing aside from "holding the dose?" I feel like im going in the wrong direction with dose increase because his numbers keep rising.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/upcoming-dental-libre-results.245872/#post-2777877
 
Hi! Bouncing can occur when there is a fast drop, even if kitty doesn't drop to a particularly low number.

Kitties can be fiddly, and gets frustrating trying to understand why their BG go up or down sometimes. :bighug:

There are more experienced people here that might see more clear patterns on Jasper's numbers, but from what I saw he is running high most of the time, so I don't think you got the red AMPS because you are giving too much insulin.

Hope you find a good dose soon!
 
Rising numbers means the kitty needs more insulin. Lowering the dose will only have you chasing higher numbers and you risk glucose toxicity. If you're following TR, you raise the dose by .25 units after 6 cycles if your nadirs are greater than 200 but less than 300. I believe you only really test for insulin resistance when kitties don't respond to 6 units of insulin, and from what I can see Jasper has never been on anything more than 2 units, which is not a low amount but also not terribly high.
 
It looks like he will likely need an increase if you don’t see better numbers by tomorrow night. After 6 cycles it’s time to increase to 1.25 unless you start to see blue or green nadirs. If a decrease was needed you would see him dropping under 40 as a long term diabetic.
 
I appreciate all the responses, thank you!

I am mostly just curious because when he was at .75 he was too high, but he wasnt really this high. The only thing i changed recently was the increase and the bgs seemed to climb with it?
For example he was floating in the 200s the 2 days after his dental at .75.
He was on .5 for a long while before i brought it to .75 early march

The only anomalies i can add are him being on clindamycin currently, so thats a factor in determination. He also seems to have a lot of allergy problems right now
 
The clindamycin is for infection? That could be raising the bg as well as recovery from the dental. When Max had his dental it took a few weeks to get him back to being tightly controlled.
 
Yes, and he probably has two or three more days worth in the bottle.
See, i couldnt find anywhere online, or mercks, whether it would raise bgs or not.
@tiffmaxee were their numbers high directly after? He was (relatively) low for 2 days after his dental. Did you increase?

His gums are still pink. His dental was on the 8th though.

@Marje and Gracie do you have any thoughts? Sorry its kind of split between two.
 
Yes, and he probably has two or three more days worth in the bottle.
See, i couldnt find anywhere online, or mercks, whether it would raise bgs or not.
@tiffmaxee were their numbers high directly after? He was (relatively) low for 2 days after his dental. Did you increase?

His gums are still pink. His dental was on the 8th though.

@Marje and Gracie do you have any thoughts? Sorry its kind of split between two.
It’s really hard to say without being able to see data. One thing I will say is you shouldn’t fatten doses; I’d stick with full 0.25u increases and decreases until he starts seeing a lot of green.

Is the clindamycin one you had to mix because some of these antibiotics that have to be mixed have sugar in them. My vet only uses the oral clindamycin that is clear, does not need to be mixed, and has no sugar.

As much as we all want to know what causes the need for more insulin, sometimes we just don’t have that answer. In that case, just follow the protocol to increase the dose until nadirs I prove.
 
Eating well, acting fine.
I can tell when hes feels bad though. Idk, usually in the morning hes bright eyed and chipper, even if in the 300s, but after i give him insulin he just seems to feel like crap. You can see the low eyes or mouth, the darkened or glazy eyes. Is lantus ever the (problem)? Could i be looking at a food or insulin thing?

It is the clear clinda, i have been mixing it however.

Any thoughts on the gums still being pink?
 
Gums should be pink and moist. Are they red? Did he have any teeth pulled? Do you have a follow up appointment? When? The clindamycin might be making him feel a little sick but it’s a good antibiotic for teeth issues.
 
His is getting a little bit of dirtiness at his nose lately, and his eyes have been watering more. His ears already get pretty red at times.

Any of that stand out to anyone?

I think im going to start him on chlorpheniramine for his allergies and hes due a new seresto collar as well
 
Back
Top