Riley psam 250

Status
Not open for further replies.

dana moore

Active Member
Ok really did not get any insulin last night because his numbers were 150 and staying steady. So this morning it was 250 which is the lowest yet that he's had since not having a shot last night. So today I am only giving him point five units and he still acting great. I will be monitoring him up until mid point today.
 
Good morning Dana and Riley,

He is doing very well. Yes, I'd watch carefully this morning. To go all night and not get much higher is amazing. It looks like mini dosing will be on your future. Do you think you can eyeball .25 units? We have some tricks for that.

I think maybe I'd go with the probiotic daily rather than the pumpkin.

When do you see the vet again?
 
I just checked it at 3 hours and its 101. I need to make an apt with the vet to talk to him. He has no clue what I've been up to but he will be surprised and I'm gonna give him all the info from this site to give to his other FD patients. I'm still giving probiotics but I was only giving him some pumpkin to help him have softer stool. He seems to be doing ok with that. Do you recommend pumpkin every other day to help with other things like fur balls? I'm sure I could do .25. The vet told me to call him next week when I talked to him last week
 
Nice drop, but it is 50% in 3 hours. If you are going to leave before +6, I think I might give him a snack of lower carb before you leave.

You may want to do some research before you see the vet and have your info in hand: a steroid that might raise his levels less, an antibiotic that doesn't have any sugar (although maybe he can go off that). Maybe ask him about Miralax. It's something you could easily give every other day in a small amount.

Dana, it really is beginning to look like Riley's diabetes was caused by a perfect storm of an infection, a steroid and high carb food. If there is a way to alter those things, you might have a kitty in remission (anti jinx). You already made a huge difference changing his diet.
 
I'm gonna stay home until I can check him at +6 to be on safe side. I'm gonna have alot of info when I talk to Dr. Todd. I'm also gonna ask about butesonide that some people have recommended on here instead of prednisone or Depo shot.

He normally has great bowel movements but because of the baytril I think it was stopping him up. I think he only has a day or two of that left.

As soon as the 30 days is up and the Depo wears off (on the 20th) is when the IBD shows itself and he has noting but diarreha. I really can't believe the difference in Riley from 3-4 weeks ago! Thanks to you and this awesome forum. I'm gonna keep those fingers crossed. I'm afraid after taking more steriods he may go up again.
 
144 at 6 hrs. I'm getting ready to take pmps. If its under 200 no shot over 200 do you think I should stick with point .5 or .25 Sue?
 
You want to have a shootable number in the morning, so unless he bounces big time, 0.25 units may be good.
 
I'm with BJ. If .25 is too low, we can adjust up later. But based on how Riley has been before, giving a lower dose might help you get that shootable number in the AM.
 
The nice thing about ProZinc is there is no depot to worry about. If you check again later and the number is shootable, you can do it if you wish.
 
At +2, you'll see any food spike effects which need to be managed with some insulin, just maybe only a token dose.
 
He was at 155 this morning with no insulin lastnight. He just keeps getting lower and lower without insulin! Great news right? Now I just need to figure out what to do next. I'm afraid to give him anything even a small dose. because .5 brought him down 100 points in 3+ hours yesterday when he was at 250.
 
This is where you might chase the numbers. That means wait until he gets high enough to shoot, and only shoot then.

Spreading out his food into mini-meals helps keep the glucose more level.
You may be able to add plain meat or poultry - mix 1 ounce of that to 5 ounces of cat food, then portion out the mini-meals, to further reduce the carbohydrate ratio in the food
 
BJM are you talking about adding meat to soft food or hard? I'm trying to stick to soft although it's driving me crazy because he will only eat the liquid off of the top when I add some water to make it gravy-like. I have to give him a small handful of hard every now and then. He does not like chicken, I tried that before. I'm going back to Petco today to see if he'll eat freeze dried shrimp today on my lunch break.
 
Adding it to soft food.

The only 2 low carb dry foods in the US are Evo Cat and Kitten at specialty pet supply stores and Young Again 0 Carb available on the internet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top