Riley 6/2 am

Status
Not open for further replies.

lbeerman

Member
So, Riley got just shy of 2 units last night. I checked at +5 and his bg was 110. He received 1 can of FF at 5am and his BG 2 hours later at 7:15 is 181. I'm thinking I should retest in an hour and see what it looks like?

I got my SS up last night thanks to the great link over in tech forums. :smile:

Thanks again for all the help!

Lynn
 
Re: Riley 6/1 am

You can test in 30 minutes to see if it is rising and closer to 200. Sometimes, after 12 hours, the bg levels rises quickly as the insulin has "run out". If it is rising slowly, it can mean his pancreas is helping out.

If you will be around, it would be a good day to give him a shot (most likely reducing the dose again) and see what numbers he gets. Maybe not a complete curve, but every couple hours, paying special attention to 6 hours and later?
 
Re: Riley 6/1 am

Thanks Sue,

I just rechecked and it is 199. I need to leave to take my son to swim class. I will be back in about 3 hours. Do you think it is safe to give him a shot before I go? Maybe 1.5?
 
Re: Riley 6/1 am

Your choice. That would most likely be fine, but I tend to be cautious.. He came up some but not a whole lot. I think the pancreas may be helping put a little. You could do just one unit to see how that looks. (you can always increase but you can't get the insulin out of the cat once shot) :mrgreen: Hope you can get some numbers today.
 
+2-178 is good.
Remember normal BG is 75-120.
I always kept it wrote down in my record book so I could remember or know when to be happy or freak out & post 911.

If you can get a +6 & +8. It helps paint the picture of what the insulin & body is doing.

By the way super cute picture Riley.
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
+2-178 is good.
Remember normal BG is 75-120.
I always kept it wrote down in my record book so I could remember or know when to be happy or freak out & post 911.

If you can get a +6 & +8. It helps paint the picture of what the insulin & body is doing.

By the way super cute picture Riley.


Thanks!

I was able to get a +4 of 75 and a +7 of 101. Missed the + 6 reading . Should I worry that it dropped between the 75 and 101?

Lynn
 
It would have been nice to know, because you might have been able to see when his lowest point was. Although the nadir can change, sometimes it tends to be at the same general time. Next time!

The numbers look good, especially as you are steadily dropping the dose.
 
Sue & Jenn, thanks for all the help. Take a lot of the stress off knowing I have somewhere to turn for advice!

Jenn, thanks for the info on the normal range of 75 -120. For some reason I had 40 -120 in my head. If I'd known the low range of normal was 75 I'd have been a lot more worried when I saw 75 come up at +4. I'm learning! LOL
 
The 40-120 range is when the cat is off insulin, in remission. You really only need to worry with a kitty on insulin when you see 40-50, especially when it comes early in the cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top