Rex, AMPS - 363, +4 - 90, PMPS- 322, +4 - 85

Suzanne+Rex

Member Since 2022
Is it normal for BG levels to fluctuate so drastically on Lantus? We just switched from Vetsulin 2 days ago- the curves are definitely getting smoother, but still seems so drastic of a drop when he’s only on .75 units and weighs 15lbs. He had to be reduced from 1unit yesterday due to BG dropping below 50 at NADIR.

Can anyone check out my spreadsheet to make sure I am implementing the tight regulation method correctly? I am just concerned with his Pre-shot numbers bouncing back up so high that he will have problems. Does this smooth out over time? Thanks so much in advance!
 
It does smooth out. Check out my Ruby's 2020 tab. She went from bouncing all over the place to blues and greens a few weeks after starting TR. Looks like you are doing fine. Hold .75 for another three shots/cycles and then come to us for dosing advice. It can take a while for the Lantus depot to build up, which is different from Vetsulin, an in and out insulin. This is a marathon, not a sprint. Just let the insulin do it's thing, feed small meals through the first six hours after the shot, and fingers crossed you will see fewer pinks. Rex is doing pretty well!
 
It does smooth out. Check out my Ruby's 2020 tab. She went from bouncing all over the place to blues and greens a few weeks after starting TR. Looks like you are doing fine. Hold .75 for another three shots/cycles and then come to us for dosing advice. It can take a while for the Lantus depot to build up, which is different from Vetsulin, an in and out insulin. This is a marathon, not a sprint. Just let the insulin do it's thing, feed small meals through the first six hours after the shot, and fingers crossed you will see fewer pinks. Rex is doing pretty well!

Thank you so much! Was trying to find another kitty with similar numbers to compare, but the numbers I was seeing on other cats’ spreadsheets were making me think that he is just really sensitive to insulin. Feeling much better
 
Thank you so much! Was trying to find another kitty with similar numbers to compare, but the numbers I was seeing on other cats’ spreadsheets were making me think that he is just really sensitive to insulin. Feeling much better
It took us a month and then some to get there. For some kitties, it just takes a few weeks :) ...or never. :( We will soon find out about Rex.
 
Back
Top