Revson PMPS 305, +3 409 Help?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know I am behind on my SS, but can someone suggest why BG is going up with insulin??

1U "Fat", not quite 1.5 of Lantus

Drinking & peeing like a fish.
Trying new foods, but all low carb wet.
Did give him Stella & Chewy complete tonight too.

Today:
PMPS 305, +3 409
AMPS 288, +4 310

Saturday:
AMPS 310
PMPS 343, +2 388

Friday (Vet day):
PMPS 289
AMPS 278

Thursday:
263 PMPS
371 AMPS

Amy
 
Amy,
I am sure you would know if they were fur shots, so I am assuming they aren't.
One thing that has worked recently for a couple of PZI kitties when they started getting little drop or no drop is that they changed injection sites to one they hadn't tried before. Pretty much instant and positive results in both cases. Where do you shoot?

Carl
 
....but thinking about the whole "shed" concept, would changing sites be less effective with lantus? I don't know.
Carl
 
How precise are you being about "lo carb"?

I ask because Spitzer seems to skyrocket just by adding 3 oz of Purina Pro Plan Turkey and Giblets entree (6% carb calories) to 13.2 oz of Sophisticat Turkey and Giblets (allegedly 0% carb calories). I'm still testing mixes to see if the hypothesis holds, but so far, it is.

What seem like small differences between varieties may affect a cat greatly.
 
My first impulse is that it may be a food spike mixed in with the onset period of the insulin. I know it takes 2-3 hours before the insulin starts working, so it's not unusual to see an early spike, followed by a drop once the insulin kicks in. The other option is an inverse curve from too much insulin. Is there any way to get numbers later in the cycle to see if he's really dropping?
 
Re: Revson AMPS 383, +6 407

Amy & Revson said:
His numbers continue to go up instead of down.

In that case, it sounds like you're getting an inverse curve. This usually means he's getting too much insulin. Try reducing your dose. It may take several days to see much difference. (Not sure how quickly Lantus changes take effect). Reduce by .25.
 
For your spreadsheet, you can put the insulin dose in the turquoise column when you know it.

Also, please remind us what you are feeding him, how often, and how much, as that can make a difference in what we suggest.

"New dose wonkiness" - Some cats, when you change the insulin dose, have an erratic response to the change for several days.

Lantus doses are adjusted by the nadir - the lowest point in the 12 hours between doses. This means you need to be testing more than just the preshots. That may be difficult for many of us due to work or other obligations, but any time you can get a mid-cycle test helps identify how your cat responds to the insulin. Some folks set an alarm at night to test around +6. About once a week, it is helpful to do a curve - testing every 2 hours, for the entire 12 hours.

When you are giving low doses (under 2-3 units per dose), we recommend the change only be 0.25 units more or less.

Guidelines are posted in this sticky.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top