Returning to this group after about 2.5yrs

Just brought my new foster kitty home, Mochi 3 days ago. Her numbers are all over the place. She also has a diagnosis of pancreatitis. Seems like everything she eats just comes out the other end :/ she is always hungry and has lost a lot of weight these past two months. Hoping with regular testing and a better diet will help get her numbers a bit more stable.
 
Hey Jennifer! Sorry you're back but glad you already know the basics! At least we don't have to go over those again...LOL
She's so young to be diabetic! And to already had a DKA too! Poor girl! Happy she found her way to your home though.

Your Signature says she's on Fancy Feast +DM. Is that the canned or the kibble?

Was Mochi started on 2.5?
 
Hi Chris! Mochi was doing 2u and then was increased to 2.5 on Feb. 1st. The sensor was tried 2 different times, but no luck with keeping it on..she has no fat on her body :/ diet was just changed from OM wet and dry..internist felt that was the best given her pancreatitis. I just started her on 1/2can Fancy Feast and 1/2can of the DM BID with OM dry mixed with Dr. Elsey's clean protein BID(1/4c total). She is sooo young :( maybe if the pancreatitis can get under control the diabetes will improve!?! Labs are added on the spreadsheet as well.
 
Hi Chris! Mochi was doing 2u and then was increased to 2.5 on Feb. 1st. The sensor was tried 2 different times, but no luck with keeping it on..she has no fat on her body :/ diet was just changed from OM wet and dry..internist felt that was the best given her pancreatitis. I just started her on 1/2can Fancy Feast and 1/2can of the DM BID with OM dry mixed with Dr. Elsey's clean protein BID(1/4c total). She is sooo young :( maybe if the pancreatitis can get under control the diabetes will improve!?! Labs are added on the spreadsheet as well.

Welcome Back, you are blessed to be a Forster mom, I wish I were, but living in a Condo with tight pet regulations I can only have max 2, So I have 2! I do feed the Ferral cats behind a Publix near my house at nighttime there is a community of about 70+ cats, all neutered and spayed and have shots, there are 3 of us with this mission, with the ASPCA 'Catch and Release' program we make sure they are healthy and well fed, it is very rewarding:bighug::cat::cat:
 
The sensor was tried 2 different times,

We've found that even if they are properly attached, they rarely last 14 days (some get them off within an hour!) and they are inaccurate at low numbers. We've seen a lot of members who had the Libre tell them their cat was in hypo territory, but when re-checked with a regular meter, we up to 200 points higher than what the Libre was telling them, so keep that in mind if you decide to try one again in the future.

What treatment is she getting for the pancreatitis?

2U is a higher starting dose than we usually recommend and we only recommend increases by 0.25 (unless nadirs are always 300 or higher), so it's possible she's getting too much insulin, but for now, with so many changes already, probably best just to stay where you are while you continue to gather data.
 
Welcome Back, you are blessed to be a Forster mom, I wish I were, but living in a Condo with tight pet regulations I can only have max 2, So I have 2! I do feed the Ferral cats behind a Publix near my house at nighttime there is a community of about 70+ cats, all neutered and spayed and have shots, there are 3 of us with this mission, with the ASPCA 'Catch and Release' program we make sure they are healthy and well fed, it is very rewarding:bighug::cat::cat:

thank you! I'm very lucky to be able to foster and help medical kitties :)
 
We've found that even if they are properly attached, they rarely last 14 days (some get them off within an hour!) and they are inaccurate at low numbers. We've seen a lot of members who had the Libre tell them their cat was in hypo territory, but when re-checked with a regular meter, we up to 200 points higher than what the Libre was telling them, so keep that in mind if you decide to try one again in the future.

What treatment is she getting for the pancreatitis?

2U is a higher starting dose than we usually recommend and we only recommend increases by 0.25 (unless nadirs are always 300 or higher), so it's possible she's getting too much insulin, but for now, with so many changes already, probably best just to stay where you are while you continue to gather data.

Thank you..I think it's a bit high also. Checking the numbers often will hopefully give a better picture and it will be adjusted. I've rarely had good luck in general with sensors! I've seen people recommend treatment for pancreatitis, she isn't on anything.
 
Thank you..I think it's a bit high also. Checking the numbers often will hopefully give a better picture and it will be adjusted. I've rarely had good luck in general with sensors! I've seen people recommend treatment for pancreatitis, she isn't on anything.
Your cat needs medicine for nausea, and very important she needs medicine for pain. If she continues to have loose bowels (I know this is against what FDMB says) I would keep her on the dry food. I think Dr.Elsey's is a good dry food. And I am saying while her bowels are loose. It is very, very important that she has these medicine. That would be as soon as you could talk to a vet. My cat got compound BUPE, it was not as expensive as the other BUPE. We changed vets until I could be sure that we either had or had access to these meds at all times. Pancreatitis is very severe PAIN.
 
Thank you..I think it's a bit high also. Checking the numbers often will hopefully give a better picture and it will be adjusted. I've rarely had good luck in general with sensors! I've seen people recommend treatment for pancreatitis, she isn't on anything.

Yes, the sensors are a pian, they tend to fall off, or the cat removes them or stop working before the 14 days, and they are expensive. I went thru all the horrors, until I started using the ReliOn, I've never looked back:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Your cat needs medicine for nausea, and very important she needs medicine for pain. If she continues to have loose bowels (I know this is against what FDMB says) I would keep her on the dry food. I think Dr.Elsey's is a good dry food. And I am saying while her bowels are loose. It is very, very important that she has these medicine. That would be as soon as you could talk to a vet. My cat got compound BUPE, it was not as expensive as the other BUPE. We changed vets until I could be sure that we either had or had access to these meds at all times. Pancreatitis is very severe PAIN.

I'm going to confirm why they think she has pancreatitis and ask about meds for it. Her stools have not been loose and is always ready to eat! The vet wanted her to have some dry food to help get some weight back on her. I ordered the Dr. Elsey's clean protein. :cat: overall she is in good spirits :joyful:
 
I'm going to confirm why they think she has pancreatitis and ask about meds for it. Her stools have not been loose and is always ready to eat! The vet wanted her to have some dry food to help get some weight back on her. I ordered the Dr. Elsey's clean protein. :cat: overall she is in good spirits :joyful:
Careful with diagnosis!, sometimes we become so overwhelmed and we are taken for granted, dry food kibbles, are between 25-30% carbs, you do not want to feed that to a diabetic cat, diabetic cats need to have a diet between 0-10% carbs as you know, you will not be able to regulate BG with High Carbs even the so called "prescribed" food have the same amount of high carbs, follow your instincts, you can always have a Vet give you MIRATZ, is to increase appetite, more food, better weight :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Careful with diagnosis!, sometimes we become so overwhelmed and we are taken for granted, dry food kibbles, are between 25-30% carbs, you do not want to feed that to a diabetic cat, diabetic cats need to have a diet between 0-10% carbs as you know, you will not be able to regulate BG with High Carbs even the so called "prescribed" food have the same amount of high carbs, follow your instincts, you can always have a Vet give you MIRATZ, is to increase appetite, more food, better weight :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

understood! I'm lucky Mochi is not picky and eats everything offered! I do have mirataz at home that I've had to use for my kitties with kidney disease.
 
I'm worried I may be missing when I give her insulin :( she is skin and bones..it's hard to tent her skin. Is there any other place to do her shots besides the typical place between the shoulder blades? Her numbers today barely went down when I tested her, doesn't make sense to me :nailbiting:
 
Is there any other place to do her shots besides the typical place between the shoulder blades?
upload_2025-2-10_2-13-19.jpeg


Also, instead of "tenting", you might try something we call a "Wrist-roll". You grab some fur between your thumb and forefinger with your left hand (if you shoot with your right) and then "roll your wrist" gently to pull the skin up a little until you get a "break" in the hair. Shoot into that "break" at about a 45 degree angle. It's hard to explain but here's a picture that might help, and using this method has been a huge difference for a lot of people here.
upload_2025-2-10_2-16-37.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-10_2-13-19.jpeg
    upload_2025-2-10_2-13-19.jpeg
    44.3 KB · Views: 129
  • upload_2025-2-10_2-16-37.jpeg
    upload_2025-2-10_2-16-37.jpeg
    35.7 KB · Views: 135
thank you! thank you! I will try this at the next injection :bighug:
I have read here that you can shoot on the paw, but I personally couldn't do it thinking his paw would hurt or something, but the "wrist roll" looks like a good idea, poor baby:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Where? I have never hear do that. Some caretakers do however, prick the a paw pad with a lancet to get blood for testing vice the more common location of pricking and ear tip.
that's what I meant. the paw pad, for blood, not for insulin, sorry did not mean to scare you!!:D I have always done the ear, and only the left ear, I have never been able to get blood from the right ear, ever;):bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
@CORKY - I believe what you're referring to is testing for blood glucose using the paw pad. You do not inject insulin into a paw. If you are unsure of your information, please do not post misinformation.

If you are going to talk to your vet about pancreatitis, there are tests that can be run. The Snap fPL can be done in the office. It's like a pregnancy test -- you get a "+" or "-" result. The Spec fPL is sent out to a lab and you get a number as a result. They are the definitive tests for feline pancreatitis.

Did anyone suggest adding S. boulardii to your cat's food? It's a probiotic that is particularly helpful at controlling diarrhea.
 
@CORKY - I believe what you're referring to is testing for blood glucose using the paw pad. You do not inject insulin into a paw. If you are unsure of your information, please do not post misinformation.

If you are going to talk to your vet about pancreatitis, there are tests that can be run. The Snap fPL can be done in the office. It's like a pregnancy test -- you get a "+" or "-" result. The Spec fPL is sent out to a lab and you get a number as a result. They are the definitive tests for feline pancreatitis.

Did anyone suggest adding S. boulardii to your cat's food? It's a probiotic that is particularly helpful at controlling diarrhea.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I corrected myself right away it was a typo of a word! thank you
 
@CORKY - I believe what you're referring to is testing for blood glucose using the paw pad. You do not inject insulin into a paw. If you are unsure of your information, please do not post misinformation.

If you are going to talk to your vet about pancreatitis, there are tests that can be run. The Snap fPL can be done in the office. It's like a pregnancy test -- you get a "+" or "-" result. The Spec fPL is sent out to a lab and you get a number as a result. They are the definitive tests for feline pancreatitis.

Did anyone suggest adding S. boulardii to your cat's food? It's a probiotic that is particularly helpful at controlling diarrhea.

Mochi isn't experiencing any diarrhea. Her stools are very normal, I do add some fiber but that is it.
 
How'd it go?

I feel like I'm failing her :/ her numbers seem to start out good, but continue to rise throughout the day. I've cut out the DM and am strictly giving Fancy Feast. I think the needle may be too long. I use the same needle for my other diabetic kitty and don't have any issues, she is throwing me off and can't figure out how I keep missing. If I'm home and testing her every hour with numbers continuing to rise, can I give a small dose? I know giving after missing is a not a good thing, but if monitored closely is that still not a good thing? She is hungry all day and wants to continually eat, will getting a timed feeder help with her numbers? Everything she eats comes right out as if she isn't retaining her food.
 
I feel like I'm failing her :/ her numbers seem to start out good, but continue to rise throughout the day. I've cut out the DM and am strictly giving Fancy Feast. I think the needle may be too long. I use the same needle for my other diabetic kitty and don't have any issues, she is throwing me off and can't figure out how I keep missing. If I'm home and testing her every hour with numbers continuing to rise, can I give a small dose? I know giving after missing is a not a good thing, but if monitored closely is that still not a good thing? She is hungry all day and wants to continually eat, will getting a timed feeder help with her numbers? Everything she eats comes right out as if she isn't retaining her food.
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Jennifer can you confirm or not that Mochi had DKA at diagnosis please.
In the spreadsheet it says she had it on 1/19/25?
It doesn’t say anything at all in the signature about DKA.

Are you testing for Ketones in the urine?
Are you just feeding low carb wet food now?

Please don’t ever give a second dose of insulin if you think the first dose did not go into the body. It is too dangerous to do that and we never recommend that.

With the BGs so high she is not able to absorb all the nutrients into her body so she will be hungry and probably thin. If she is thin, let her eat more food.
How many times a day are you feeding her ?
 
Mochi is thin and has lost some weight. Understood that is due to high numbers. She was 2.21kg last week and I weighed her last night, and she is 1.98kg

I was thinking a feeder is easier to get to help give her meals throughout the day since I'm not home every day to give extra meals. I've been giving 2 cans of Fancy Feast per meal and she has been eating 2xs per day, so 4 cans total per day. I've been giving a 1/4c of the Clean Protein Dr. Elsey's early evening a few hours before dinner.

I haven't checked for ketones since I brough her home last week. Jan 18th the vets tested for ketones, results ~ Serum ketones 4+++ on dipstick. She was hospitalized for a few days for Diabetic Keto Acidotic state which was resolved upon discharge per the discharge paperwork as well as a diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus. If I need to add this on the signature, please let me know where and how to add this information.

Yesterday was a much better day :)
 
Yes please add DKA to the signature as it makes a difference and can you add post DKA to your subject line please?
It is really important if Mochi has had DKA that ketones are checked daily for a time.
I am going to give you a list of things you need to be doing to help Mochi recover.
  • you need to give one and a half times as many calories as Mochi normally eats. Offer snacks every couple of hours during the day and evening as well as the 2 main meals. Food is like a medicine and helps keep ketones away. If your kitty won’t eat the low carb food, feed her whatever she will eat as eating any food is better than not eating,
  • Don’t skip any doses of insulin as insulin helps keep ketones away. If the BG is not high enough to give the dose…stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes and post and ask for help.
  • Test daily for ketones. Put the results of the tests into the remarks column of the SS so we can see. Please report any trace ketones at all. Do you have a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy? Even if there were no ketones on discharge you need to be checking daily please.
  • Give antinausea medication if needed such as ondansetron or cerenia
  • Give appetite stimulant if needed after the antinausea medication
  • Give extra fluids. If kitty will tolerate warm water in the food, put a teaspoon into each snack..
  • Ask the vet about subQ fluids
  • Set up a spreadsheet and test the BG frequently. You have already done this
  • Post daily with updates and ask for help as often as needed.
I think you need to increase the dose to 2.75 units…we need to get those BGs lower. And I would try and increase the amount t of food you are giving her. She is certainly very thin.
Yes a feeder would be a great idea. We need her to be eating more food.
 
Yes please add DKA to the signature as it makes a difference and can you add post DKA to your subject line please?
It is really important if Mochi has had DKA that ketones are checked daily for a time.
I am going to give you a list of things you need to be doing to help Mochi recover.
  • you need to give one and a half times as many calories as Mochi normally eats. Offer snacks every couple of hours during the day and evening as well as the 2 main meals. Food is like a medicine and helps keep ketones away. If your kitty won’t eat the low carb food, feed her whatever she will eat as eating any food is better than not eating,
  • Don’t skip any doses of insulin as insulin helps keep ketones away. If the BG is not high enough to give the dose…stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes and post and ask for help.
  • Test daily for ketones. Put the results of the tests into the remarks column of the SS so we can see. Please report any trace ketones at all. Do you have a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy? Even if there were no ketones on discharge you need to be checking daily please.
  • Give antinausea medication if needed such as ondansetron or cerenia
  • Give appetite stimulant if needed after the antinausea medication
  • Give extra fluids. If kitty will tolerate warm water in the food, put a teaspoon into each snack..
  • Ask the vet about subQ fluids
  • Set up a spreadsheet and test the BG frequently. You have already done this
  • Post daily with updates and ask for help as often as needed.
I think you need to increase the dose to 2.75 units…we need to get those BGs lower. And I would try and increase the amount t of food you are giving her. She is certainly very thin.
Yes a feeder would be a great idea. We need her to be eating more food.

As Bron said Mochi needs to eat more often, eating two cans in each meal, during the day she will be very hungry because of the very high BG, and at the same time several small meals a day, will help the insulin do its work, and the numbers will stabilize easier. Here is a link on a good Wet Feeder, there are many wet feedes,r I happen to refer this one to a member and she loves it:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/wet-feeder.293692/
 
As Bron said Mochi needs to eat more often, eating two cans in each meal, during the day she will be very hungry because of the very high BG, and at the same time several small meals a day, will help the insulin do its work, and the numbers will stabilize easier. Here is a link on a good Wet Feeder, there are many wet feedes,r I happen to refer this one to a member and she loves it:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/wet-feeder.293692/
I bought Kit Kat a wet food feeder and he loves it. He wants to eat out of it all the time. I moved it next to his bed, because he lays by it all the time. He is laying by it right now.
 
Yes please add DKA to the signature as it makes a difference and can you add post DKA to your subject line please?
It is really important if Mochi has had DKA that ketones are checked daily for a time.
I am going to give you a list of things you need to be doing to help Mochi recover.
  • you need to give one and a half times as many calories as Mochi normally eats. Offer snacks every couple of hours during the day and evening as well as the 2 main meals. Food is like a medicine and helps keep ketones away. If your kitty won’t eat the low carb food, feed her whatever she will eat as eating any food is better than not eating,
  • Don’t skip any doses of insulin as insulin helps keep ketones away. If the BG is not high enough to give the dose…stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes and post and ask for help.
  • Test daily for ketones. Put the results of the tests into the remarks column of the SS so we can see. Please report any trace ketones at all. Do you have a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy? Even if there were no ketones on discharge you need to be checking daily please.
  • Give antinausea medication if needed such as ondansetron or cerenia
  • Give appetite stimulant if needed after the antinausea medication
  • Give extra fluids. If kitty will tolerate warm water in the food, put a teaspoon into each snack..
  • Ask the vet about subQ fluids
  • Set up a spreadsheet and test the BG frequently. You have already done this
  • Post daily with updates and ask for help as often as needed.
I think you need to increase the dose to 2.75 units…we need to get those BGs lower. And I would try and increase the amount t of food you are giving her. She is certainly very thin.
Yes a feeder would be a great idea. We need her to be eating more food.

I updated the signature, but unsure how to update the subject line.

I'll order a feeder today..what is a general rule of thumb for good snacks and how far apart should I time the feeder. Luckily right now she is not picky and not skipping meals.

I don't have the sticks, but can get some. Is there a best time to test during the day and any tips on how to test on a kitty? I'm sure there is a place somewhere on this forum for this info!

Going forward I will follow the not skipping dose recommendations. I am seeing this after I skipped her dose this morning :arghh: When I tested this morning she was 120. In the mornings when I go to work I have about 1.5hr window where I can stall and retest and can post and see if I get a response before I have to leave.
 
I updated the signature, but unsure how to update the subject line.

I'll order a feeder today..what is a general rule of thumb for good snacks and how far apart should I time the feeder. Luckily right now she is not picky and not skipping meals.

I don't have the sticks, but can get some. Is there a best time to test during the day and any tips on how to test on a kitty? I'm sure there is a place somewhere on this forum for this info!

Going forward I will follow the not skipping dose recommendations. I am seeing this after I skipped her dose this morning :arghh: When I tested this morning she was 120. In the mornings when I go to work I have about 1.5hr window where I can stall and retest and can post and see if I get a response before I have to leave.
Good to test +2 after shooting, and a couple of more times during the day, we want to see a pattern and at +2 on second shot as well and before going to sleep, I am an obsessive tester, I test every 2 hours, Corky at tomes tends to be unpredictable, and I like to be safe than sorry:D:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Good to test +2 after shooting, and a couple of more times during the day, we want to see a pattern and at +2 on second shot as well and before going to sleep, I am an obsessive tester, I test every 2 hours, Corky at tomes tends to be unpredictable, and I like to be safe than sorry:D:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

When I'm home, I've been testing quite a bit. Luckily Mochi doesn't seem to mind the testing! When I go into work unfortunately, I'm not home 2hrs after the insulin, but I do one hour after. At night it's much easier to do extra test on workdays.
 
When I'm home, I've been testing quite a bit. Luckily Mochi doesn't seem to mind the testing! When I go into work unfortunately, I'm not home 2hrs after the insulin, but I do one hour after. At night it's much easier to do extra test on workdays.
In that case make sure you leave food out till you come home to reinforce the insulin till you can test when you get home:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
A snack is a couple of teaspoons of normal low carb food. I would offer them every couple of hours during the day and evening with DKA in the recent past. We want Mochi to be eating lots of food.

I gave her 2 extra feedings today and for dinner she ate most and then finished a little bit later. She seemed more content this afternoon and evening with the extra food today. Going forward she will get lots more food :cat:
 
Did you skip the dose of insulin this morning?
If the Preshot is too low, try stalling? Don’t feed and then test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. With DKA in the picture it is not a good idea to skip doses of insulin
 
When I'm home, I've been testing quite a bit. Luckily Mochi doesn't seem to mind the testing! When I go into work unfortunately, I'm not home 2hrs after the insulin, but I do one hour after. At night it's much easier to do extra test on workdays.
I do not know how long it Lantus takes to kick in, I do know that in Corky ProZinc takes 2 hours to kick in :bighug::cat::cat:
 
Did you skip the dose of insulin this morning?
If the Preshot is too low, try stalling? Don’t feed and then test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. With DKA in the picture it is not a good idea to skip doses of insulin

Yes, I ended up skipping. I hadn't seen your post. I realized something smaller would have been ideal. Her preshot number was low again this morning. The vet recommended to do 2u this morning. She had a much better day except for the spike right at the 12hr mark.
 
Are you still checking for ketones?

I have not checked..the vet said she wasn't too worried if she is eating and getting the insulin. The previous person that had her, we think was having many fur shots and Mochi wasn't getting the insulin. She is finally on track and getting her doses and I'm able to check BGs throughout the day.
 
With DkA in the recent past I would strongly recommend you test for ketones. It is an early warning that there may not be enough food or insulin if ketones appear and you can do something about it before it progresses further
 
With DkA in the recent past I would strongly recommend you test for ketones. It is an early warning that there may not be enough food or insulin if ketones appear and you can do something about it before it progresses further

Is there a place on this site, that has tips on how to test for the ketones?

Mochi's numbers are still a bit all over the place, but the numbers have dropped quite a bit over the last few days.
 
To test for ketones, you can either collect a urine sample from Mochi and use a test strip from a bottle of Ketostix, or you can buy a blood ketone meter and test for ketones in the same way you test for glucose.
The blood ketones meter test strips are quite expensive, around a $1 each.
A bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy is around $10 to $15 for 100 test strips.
 
Just note that urine ketones strips do not test for the most common ketone bodies developed in dogs and cats:
"Ketone Bodies: The Culprits Behind DKA
When the body lacks insulin, it starts breaking down fat for energy, leading to the production of ketone bodies. The three main ketone bodies are acetoacetate, beta-hydroxybutyrate (BHB), and acetone. In dogs and cats with DKA, BHB is the predominant ketone body, making it a key player in the diagnosis of this condition (Durocher et al., JAVMA 2008).

Detecting Ketones: A Multifaceted Approach

Veterinarians have several tools at their disposal to detect ketones in the blood and urine. These include point-of-care (POC) ketone meters, dipstick urine tests, and reference laboratory assays. While ketonuria is present in 94% to 100% of dogs at the time of DKA diagnosis, urine dipsticks may not always reliably detect it (Di Tommaso et al., JVIM 2009). This is because dipstick tests primarily measure acetoacetate and, to a lesser extent, acetone, but not BHB."

https://vetemcrit.com/ketone-detection/
 
I've increased her feedings which in turn has now caused extremely soft stool and is still losing weight :/ I'm home the next few days so will be monitoring BGs and offering even smaller portions more often to see if she can maintain what's going in. Spreadsheet is up to date and numbers are still everywhere.
 
Back
Top