Results in, officially diabetic. Starting units?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tinwhiskers

Member Since 2020
Hello again!

Sorry for not responding to some on previous post, got a little busy for us too!

Well our girl Leena is going to start insulin today, we went with Lantus due to availability. We just aren't sure what to start her at. We are thinking .5 and going from there to see how she responds. Vet recommended 1 unit but we know she can get close to 'stable' at times. Her ultrasound revealed overall good progress so we are trying to incorporate her insulin with other herbal supplements.
Her BG reading hover between 340-390 with food, so she IS going down (we have not updated the SS and will fill in numbers today).

She still has issues with pancreatitis - but her abscess has gone down from 3cm to 1cm! Internally there is still inflammation though in many places it is not as severe as it was.
We are still going to give her the slurry we made to help her organs detox, as it does seem to be making a difference. Another reason we want to start her lower than what was recommended.

Any thoughts or insight is much appreciated!
 
WELCOME BACK! :D
I like your plan! BUT lets see what the more experienced people have to say.

Glad you made it back here. Your experience with juggling issues will def help others
thank you!
jeanne
 
@tiffmaxee - On the mend, we hope it is something that can get resolved but at this point it is way too soon to tell. The specialist suggested 1 unit, which we did start her on today. At +3 she read 322, her PMPS was 402 so for a first dose it's progress. Should we do another reading at +6?

Her weight is 6.5 lbs - all wet food, low carb and phos for the BG and cystitis. We add chicken to increase protein as the food is low there but otherwise a solid choice for her.

@Diane Tyler's Mom - Her leg is doing much better! She still has days where it is stiff, but she is walking around and jumping up to her usual spots.
 
@tiffmaxee - On the mend, we hope it is something that can get resolved but at this point it is way too soon to tell. The specialist suggested 1 unit, which we did start her on today. At +3 she read 322, her PMPS was 402 so for a first dose it's progress. Should we do another reading at +6?

Her weight is 6.5 lbs - all wet food, low carb and phos for the BG and cystitis. We add chicken to increase protein as the food is low there but otherwise a solid choice for her.

@Diane Tyler's Mom - Her leg is doing much better! She still has days where it is stiff, but she is walking around and jumping up to her usual spots.
I'm glad it's better
 
Thanks @tiffmaxee and @Critter Mom.

The one thing I am worried about is the fact that we will be unable to get a BG reading after one od her shots, either the AM or PM.
We both work long hours and there is just no way for one of us to be available at both times. Even moving the time of her shot, qe would still have the same issue.
Any advice? Have others had this issue as well?
 
I'm assuming you mean mid-cycle tests, not preshot tests here.

In the journal-published version of the Roomp-Rand Tight Regulation Protocol, they advocate a minimum of three tests per day: AMPS, PMPS (so you know that Leena's BG is high enough to give insulin safely) and one mid-cycle test in either the AM or PM cycle (so that you know how low the dose is taking her and whether it needs to be adjusted). The spreadsheet should then help you better understand the overall pattern of Leena's response.

Some members with busy schedules grab 'out the door' and 'in the door' tests to help flesh out the overall picture.

Here's a forum post with suggestions on how to work with Lantus within a busy schedule. It might give you some ideas, whether you're following TR or SLGS:

Is it Possible to do Tight Regulation with a Full-time Job? Yes!


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top