Casper & Buddy & Bandit
Member Since 2019
Lantus insulin was stopped bc my cat was dropping low after insulin first in the pm. and then once in the a.m. (sleep showing signs of twitching paws, and would wake up quickly and eat some YA) and FF pate. Day 6 off insulin his BG was 191. He was doing pretty well 9 days off of insulin, ie playing like crazy, etc.. 2 days ago has excessive wax in ear, which was really bothering him, so I cleaned out the ear and decided not to use steroid ear drops, just natural cleanser. Next day he seemed better. He began to show signs yesterday (Thanksgiving) so tested @ 5 pm. and BG was 322 1 hr after eating. Earlier, around
3: 30 pm., he had a huge hairball and threw up some small froth patches after with foul smelling stool x 2 days, but no diarrhea. He started to show signs of an upset stomach, ie pica, going for shower curtain, so after test 0.5 Lantus was started and then he produced a soft foul smelling stool again. Today, 8 a.m. BG was 324, so another 0.5 Lantus given. Today he only will eat YA this evening, (I give only a TBS or so a day), which I've been trying to wean him off of. Finally, my ?: At what point do I increase/decrease Lantus dose and by how much?
3: 30 pm., he had a huge hairball and threw up some small froth patches after with foul smelling stool x 2 days, but no diarrhea. He started to show signs of an upset stomach, ie pica, going for shower curtain, so after test 0.5 Lantus was started and then he produced a soft foul smelling stool again. Today, 8 a.m. BG was 324, so another 0.5 Lantus given. Today he only will eat YA this evening, (I give only a TBS or so a day), which I've been trying to wean him off of. Finally, my ?: At what point do I increase/decrease Lantus dose and by how much?