? Restarted Lantus

Casper & Buddy & Bandit

Member Since 2019
Lantus insulin was stopped bc my cat was dropping low after insulin first in the pm. and then once in the a.m. (sleep showing signs of twitching paws, and would wake up quickly and eat some YA) and FF pate. Day 6 off insulin his BG was 191. He was doing pretty well 9 days off of insulin, ie playing like crazy, etc.. 2 days ago has excessive wax in ear, which was really bothering him, so I cleaned out the ear and decided not to use steroid ear drops, just natural cleanser. Next day he seemed better. He began to show signs yesterday (Thanksgiving) so tested @ 5 pm. and BG was 322 1 hr after eating. Earlier, around
3: 30 pm., he had a huge hairball and threw up some small froth patches after with foul smelling stool x 2 days, but no diarrhea. He started to show signs of an upset stomach, ie pica, going for shower curtain, so after test 0.5 Lantus was started and then he produced a soft foul smelling stool again. Today, 8 a.m. BG was 324, so another 0.5 Lantus given. Today he only will eat YA this evening, (I give only a TBS or so a day), which I've been trying to wean him off of. Finally, my ?: At what point do I increase/decrease Lantus dose and by how much?
 
Well Hello there - is your kitty Casper? Or is that your name? It appears that this is your first post on the LB&L forum?

So the first thing we'll need to do is get your Spreadsheet set up. Instructions on how to do that are posted here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Once you have that set up the members here will be able to review what's going on and will be able to better help you.

If you need help with the SS ask - perhaps @Marje and Gracie will be around soon to lend a hand - she's very good at that. Although, being Thanksgiving weekend, it's possible that others may have to lend you a hand with that.

Let's see if we can get that going along with your signature. If you could set that up so we can see a little history about Casper that would be helpful: when diagnosed, type of food, pertinent details.
 
Sue has offered good information that will allow up to get to know Casper better. Just to make sure you're aware, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (lowest point in the cycle) not on the pre-shot numbers. You will need to be testing before every shot as well as get additional tests during the cycle if you're not doing so already.
 
Please send me a private message if you need help with the SS. To send me a PM, click on “Marje and Gracie” to the left and then “start a conversation”.

Welcome to FDMB!!
 
Am glad you posted here. I just saw you sent me a private message previously. I am guessing that was sent to me in error. Any issues you need answers on regarding dosing, health issues, etc. should be posted directly to the forums so they are seen quickly. I am rarely on the board anymore and did not see your private message. :)
 
Well Hello there - is your kitty Casper? Or is that your name? It appears that this is your first post on the LB&L forum?

So the first thing we'll need to do is get your Spreadsheet set up. Instructions on how to do that are posted here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Once you have that set up the members here will be able to review what's going on and will be able to better help you.

If you need help with the SS ask - perhaps @Marje and Gracie will be around soon to lend a hand - she's very good at that. Although, being Thanksgiving weekend, it's possible that others may have to lend you a hand with that.

Let's see if we can get that going along with your signature. If you could set that up so we can see a little history about Casper that would be helpful: when diagnosed, type of food, pertinent details.
Well Hello there - is your kitty Casper? Or is that your name? It appears that this is your first post on the LB&L forum?

So the first thing we'll need to do is get your Spreadsheet set up. Instructions on how to do that are posted here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Once you have that set up the members here will be able to review what's going on and will be able to better help you.

If you need help with the SS ask - perhaps @Marje and Gracie will be around soon to lend a hand - she's very good at that. Although, being Thanksgiving weekend, it's possible that others may have to lend you a hand with that.

Let's see if we can get that going along with your signature. If you could set that up so we can see a little history about Casper that would be helpful: when diagnosed, type of food, pertinent details.

Hello, I'm so sorry I haven't responded sooner and thanks so much for your response. It's been a whirlwind of events. I'm just taking a breath and learning this board better with Bandit's chart soon to follow and to answer your question, Casper is a name of 1 of my now 3 cats, lost 1 of my fur babies and immediately after I had medical problems with the other cats as well as battling my own illnesses, 1st emergently Buddy and then Bandit diagnosed with diabetes, so I couldn't take my eye off the ball and was having a lot of difficulty focusing. Bandit, in the pic, is the diabetic kitty on Lantus since Aug. of 2019. Thank you to everyone who responded and I will be contacting you all again soon with Bandit's updated chart. Have a great day and stay safe...
 
Back
Top