Resistant to Particular type of Insulin???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancey

Member Since 2012
Thought a separate thread would work best for this question: Based on Frodo's numbers (I need to get his spreadsheet up to date I am a couple of weeks behind, having issues with Google doc.) it would seem regardless of the insulin amount his numbers are not really changing. He is currently up to 1.75 and I have a feeling going to 2 tomorrow. But BGs really are not changing. I even bought a new bottle of insulin thinking that would make a difference but nothing changed. So question is can our cats build up a resistance to a type of insulin? Not insulin resistant but just to one type? I just don't know what to do, I hate him staying in the these high numbers, there is a small amount of glucose in his urine staying in these 200-300 ranges.

Hope that question makes sense.
Appreciate any input you can provide.

Nancey
 
I looked at your SS. Except in late April very early May you have not had a BG below 200.
You can try:
Increasing the dose or another insulin.
 
We do have a draft protocol for ProZinc and yes, increasing another 0.25 is reasonable.

If you get more than 3 days at the same dose with nadirs well above 50 mg/dL, an increase is the next logical step.

How high a dose are you using currently?
 
Right now he is on 1.75, can't remember if my signature says, but he is on Prozinc. Thinking I will kick him to 2 tomorrow morning.
 
Not sure if it's resistance to a particular insulin or if it's just that the insulin isn't working for him. We have a saying around here that the "best insulin is the one that works for your cat." I had a similar experience with Lantus for over a year and a half with Mikey not ever getting regulated. I switched to Levemir and now look at his spreadsheet. What a difference an insulin change made! It could be that you've just never increased enough to the right dose for Frodo, but you've been using ProZinc for over a year now and not seen much difference in numbers. At this point, you can either choose to stay with the ProZinc and increase his dose to see if that helps any or you might want to try a different insulin instead of continuing to chase numbers.
 
Frodo was on Lantus the first time he was diagnosed, then he went into remission, when he came out they put him on Prozinc. I had Frodo doing pretty well on Prozinc, he was running 100 and lower. Then all of a sudden he just started climbing and here we are now, that was December. My vet said we would try up to 2.0 twice a day and if that did nothing then we would try a different insulin. She is very open to this forum and everything I have been doing to help Frodo. What you said about using Prozinc for over a year and not seeing much difference, is really my concern also. Guess I will try the 2.0 and if nothing happens go from there I will change him over.
 
Yes Larry, I realize that. But, I read posts oldest first, so this post was the first one I read from this new user and I replied to that one first. It gets complicated sometimes when new users have multiple posts going and the same information is discussed in more than one post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top