Jeanne & Dottie
Member Since 2016
Sorry to repost this, but it appears so far down I'm not sure anyone will see it.
Earlier today I asked a pretty mild question. But now I may have another issue..and I need some suggestions? The post started as:
"Right now Dottie is fasting..and her BG is slowly, ever so slowly, going down. Does that mean that her pancreas still has a few working cells? Would BG stay more level if it weren't?"
Update: Perhaps I shouldn't have said she is fasting. I might have gotten a response. As it is, this post seems to have fallen to the bottom so quickly it disappeared.
Dottie was really fighting me today about eating. Haven't been able to check her keytones because I haven't seen her urinate. She fought me so hard about eating, with her mouth being sore, that I've decided to call an alternate vet tomorrow, to get an appointment to have someone else take a look in her mouth. I'm worried that there might be a spot of necrotizing bone somewhere, as she can eat, until suddenly YOW! She jumps up, claws at her face, and runs around.
So I decided to take an easy feeding path, and give her whatever she wanted. I got her to drink a little tuna water, and after that, to eat some tuna (1oz.)..and later on, I 'insisted' she eat an ounce of Friskies pureed chicken&tuna. We made a mess as usual but I got most of it into her.
But I haven't been able to give her her shot. Just before her injection time, I fell asleep and she slipped below her threshold that I've set, at 190..and since then, in spite of what I've fed her, there has been a slow march down in BG levels. She's been listless all evening. Can't get keytones from her because she hasn't urinated yet, that I know of...I suspect she went just before I woke.
I started having trouble getting blood out of her ears, so I suspected she might be a bit dehydrated, and so I've given her some fluid. And I also gave her a wee bit of FF gravy to boost her energy until the fluid takes hold. She was so apathetic it was alarming..lay down to get her fluids like she didn't have the energy to stand.
It's been almost 14 hours since her last shot, and her BG is at 99..and I'm still asking: Could her pancrease actually be working, or is it something else dropping these numbers?
For the past day she's been on less insulin, because her nadir kept dropping too low for comfort...so following protocol for PZI, she has only recieved a reduced dose of 1 unit of Protamine Zinc at each injection. I'm torn between wanting to watch to see if she'll stop dropping her numbers and level off, and giving her some more food.
Any suggestions? I will test in a few minutes, and insist she eat some more. OH and Darnit...As I posted this, Dottie just peed in her box, and I wasn't prepared. Rats. Why does everything happen on a weekend night?
Earlier today I asked a pretty mild question. But now I may have another issue..and I need some suggestions? The post started as:
"Right now Dottie is fasting..and her BG is slowly, ever so slowly, going down. Does that mean that her pancreas still has a few working cells? Would BG stay more level if it weren't?"
Update: Perhaps I shouldn't have said she is fasting. I might have gotten a response. As it is, this post seems to have fallen to the bottom so quickly it disappeared.
Dottie was really fighting me today about eating. Haven't been able to check her keytones because I haven't seen her urinate. She fought me so hard about eating, with her mouth being sore, that I've decided to call an alternate vet tomorrow, to get an appointment to have someone else take a look in her mouth. I'm worried that there might be a spot of necrotizing bone somewhere, as she can eat, until suddenly YOW! She jumps up, claws at her face, and runs around.
So I decided to take an easy feeding path, and give her whatever she wanted. I got her to drink a little tuna water, and after that, to eat some tuna (1oz.)..and later on, I 'insisted' she eat an ounce of Friskies pureed chicken&tuna. We made a mess as usual but I got most of it into her.
But I haven't been able to give her her shot. Just before her injection time, I fell asleep and she slipped below her threshold that I've set, at 190..and since then, in spite of what I've fed her, there has been a slow march down in BG levels. She's been listless all evening. Can't get keytones from her because she hasn't urinated yet, that I know of...I suspect she went just before I woke.
I started having trouble getting blood out of her ears, so I suspected she might be a bit dehydrated, and so I've given her some fluid. And I also gave her a wee bit of FF gravy to boost her energy until the fluid takes hold. She was so apathetic it was alarming..lay down to get her fluids like she didn't have the energy to stand.
It's been almost 14 hours since her last shot, and her BG is at 99..and I'm still asking: Could her pancrease actually be working, or is it something else dropping these numbers?
For the past day she's been on less insulin, because her nadir kept dropping too low for comfort...so following protocol for PZI, she has only recieved a reduced dose of 1 unit of Protamine Zinc at each injection. I'm torn between wanting to watch to see if she'll stop dropping her numbers and level off, and giving her some more food.
Any suggestions? I will test in a few minutes, and insist she eat some more. OH and Darnit...As I posted this, Dottie just peed in her box, and I wasn't prepared. Rats. Why does everything happen on a weekend night?
Last edited:
I am suspecting there's a portion of bone exposed back near the joint of the mandible, or a tiny piece of plaque that has gotten under the skin in that same location. My vet won't even look, which makes me mad, so I'm going to get a second opinion. And if I'm right, and he's wrong....
You will need to change Diego's name to Pincushion, and check him for leaks when he drinks! And yes,
adding water to meals will help.