remission and steroids

Status
Not open for further replies.

raeofhope

New Member
Hi everyone! I was wondering is there is anyone on the site that has information/feed back on their babies that have been in remission but are now on steroids? My baby Rae has been in remission for 2.5 yrs but has recently been diagnosed with lymphosarcom :sad: I decided that I didn't want to put my poor baby thru chemo due to her other health condition - FIV. The vet has put her on prednisolone bid 0.5 mg. This of course may trigger her diabetes again :sad:. Has anyone had any experience with diabetes and prednisolone? I'm feeling very anxious and sad about the whole thing. Rae is my life!

Thanks for any feed back or info you can give me!

Cheers,

Kathy and Rae
 
raeofhope said:
Hi everyone! I was wondering is there is anyone on the site that has information/feed back on their babies that have been in remission but are now on steroids? My baby Rae has been in remission for 2.5 yrs but has recently been diagnosed with lymphosarcom :sad: I decided that I didn't want to put my poor baby thru chemo due to her other health condition - FIV. The vet has put her on prednisolone bid 0.5 mg. This of course may trigger her diabetes again :sad:. Has anyone had any experience with diabetes and prednisolone? I'm feeling very anxious and sad about the whole thing. Rae is my life!

Thanks for any feed back or info you can give me!

Cheers,

Kathy and Rae

Actually, if the prednisolone will help her and she would feel better, would it be so bad if Rae would need a bit of insulin? Nope, because when you look at the whole picture, if your Rae is happier, then no problem.
Instead of feeling anxious and sad, try just enjoying all the time you have with her.
 
Gayle.............I have no problem giving Rae insulin when the time comes if it does. She just started the prednisolone today! I was looking to see if anyone has had the same experience with positive results. I'm looking for some support. It is hard for me to be positive with such NEW difficult news. Like I said she my world. Thank you.
 
raeofhope said:
Gayle.............I have no problem giving Rae insulin when the time comes if it does. She just started the prednisolone today! I was looking to see if anyone has had the same experience with positive results. I'm looking for some support. It is hard for me to be positive with such NEW difficult news. Like I said she my world. Thank you.

Like you said... Rae's your world, so spend lots of time with her and let HER cheer YOU up!
She doesn't know anything about meds or conditions or how they mix; she knows that you are her world and you always do your best for her.

And I bet if she could talk, she'd say thank you SO much; I love you, too.
 
Hi Kathy -

Don't have the wisdom to share with you, but I've got two babies w/ FIV and I know from experience (as you probably do as well), that their systems don't always respond quickly to anti-biotics... not sure about other Rx. Moochie Pooch (a cat), showed up w/ acid burns on all four feet - I thought he'd been hit by a car when he showed up to eat my food walking on top of his paws/feet. It took THREE rounds of anti-biotics to get him through that. And those were the days of pills, not liquids or shots. By the second week, he was taking the pills out of my hand - no "poke down" necessary. I'm sure your Rae will do well - and hopefully someone will see this and be able to share their positive similar experiences. Good luck!

Lu-Ann
 
Thank you Lu-Ann! Rae is only 11 yrs old and I was hope that she would be ok till the ripe old age of 18. Wishfull thinking I guess. I don't know if I could go thru all this again tho :?
 
Well, my cat will never be in remission but I do know about daily steroids (5mg. pred) and a diabetic cat. My Payne is a very complex diabetic with pancreatitis and a tendency to go DKA at the drop of a hat. It took until the 3rd. DKA that I sorta figured it out but I let my new vet talk me into a different insulin, hence the fourth one .....

Yet what I do know is that for a cat with issues pred sometimes helps a lot. I have tried reducing her amount but it only adds to her problems so now I try to embrace it. It keeps her level and helps to keep the ketones at bay (along with many other things :) but most of all it helps her eat .... on a regular basis, even if she is not feeling well. and for a diabetic cat, in remission or not, eating is so important.

I feel your pain .... I battled lymphosarcoma with my Ricky dog two years ago, she was the light of my life and I hold her dear every day. Pred helped her in the end with food, for some animals it is a Godsend. My prayers are with you.

Nancy and Payne ....
and my Ricky girl, forever in my heart.
 
Rae used to be on caninsulin. I don't think that is the best insulin for her at this point - should she need it - as it's short lasting (last I checked) and Kathy is away from the home for 12 - 14 hours at times. But I've not treated a diabetic cat in years so think that this board can give the best information with peer review when it comes to an FD kitty who might come out of remission who also has cancer and is FIV positive.

Some information about what types of insulins are best for cats on steroids with cancer and FIV would be great.

Is there anything new out there that works for people with schedules where they are gone a few days a week for 14 hours?

Can we hear some examples of FD kitties with this diagnosis who have had some great reactions to the treatment?

Is there anything Kathy should look out for that her vet may not have mentioned?
 
Hi Kathy:

Don't know that I can be a lot of help because Dude has never been in remission - in fact his numbers have been and still are a souce of many gray hairs (in addition to age, of course) on my head.

That having been said, he's been diabetic for over 8 years and while his numbers are up and down, they do stay in the lower range a good part of the time and he has been otherwise fairly healthy.

Recently a mass was discovered in his chest - unable to biopsy and not sure I would at his age (almost 18) anyway - but the dilemma then was "do we try prednisilone to see if it will shrink?" I was very concerned about the diabetes and giving pred - however, he's been on it for over a year now and I have seen no significant changes in his numbers. Not sure that would have been the same result had he been in remission - but at least it hasn't caused any flare-ups in the diabetes and the numbers are just as they have always been. Others on the board told me their cats' numbers didn't change when they had to give pred also.

And the pred seems to have helped a bit - so it was well worth it.

Hoping that it does some good for sweet Rae and that she is still able to stay off the insulin - having responded so well to the insulin in the past, hopefully if you have to resume it, she will once again respond positively.

Sending you many, many hopeful prayers and healing vibes - hope your sweet baby gets better.

Emmy & Dude (& Mittsi too)
 
Hi Kathy,

My little man Tucker was in remission but came out of it before he started the Prednisolone. Tucker had IBD, Chronic Pancreatitis, a brain tumor, Hypokalemia (Low Potassium), allergies - airborne and wheat gluten, and I'm sure if I thought about it I could remember some more things.

He was on many insulins while I was blessed to have him. When he started the Prednisolone for his brain tumor he was on Levemir, about 1.75U twice per day. Taking the Pred actually lowered the amount of insulin he needed, we were at about 1.25U BID by the end. For him, removing the pain from the swelling of the tumor and from the IBD with the Pred made him happier and gave him lower numbers.

If I had to start over like you, I'd probably go with Levemir, it's a long acting insulin similar to Lantus but it seems to be more gentle from what I have seen. I also have some odd hours at times and don't have any problems if I need to shoot a half hour early or an half hour late, I've shot an hour early when needed without issue.

I do have one kitty now who was in remission for a while until a few months ago, he got a tumor which we removed, but it's probably coming back. I had been testing him every few weeks and when the vet told me his BGs were high I was surprised. He's not on steroids, but he is on Levemir and we are getting some nice numbers even though I can't shoot 12/12 all the time. His preshots are around 225 and lower with nadir around 100 or so.

This is scary and it's not fair, but if you follow Rae and let him be your guide I'm positive you will find something that works during this time and you can enjoy the time you have with him.

My best,
Jennifer
 
Victoria,

Thank you for clarifying my needs! I greatly appreciate! I'm not the greatest at being clear.

Cheers,

Kathy
 
Hi, Kathy.

We're in a similar situation. My sweet Scruffy has been diet controlled since April, 2008. His 4th anniversary would have been coming up! :( Unfortunately, he was diagnosed with lymphoma, a heart murmur, and CRF towards the end of January, and they started treatment with IV dexamethasone. He had been a steroid-induced diabetic, to begin with - one shot of depomedrol back in 2003. I was expecting that he'd be back on insulin, and sure enough, within a day or two, he started having numbers in the mid-200's.

He's been on prednisone -I asked why they aren't giving him prednisolone instead, but they were vehement that he needed the regular pred - small doses (10mg and 5mg) for three weeks. Although the chemo seemed to put him into remission and the tumors in his liver and spleen disappeared, the CRF has continued to worsen, and the prednisone, which they had been tapering him off of, was increased back to 5mg every day last Thursday, in the hopes of aiding his kidneys.

Dian and Melissa graciously loaned/gave me partial pens of Levemir, which was what he'd been on last. I started him out on tiny little doses, and he has been pretty much in the 100's most of the time. Because of all his other issues, I really didn't want to be poking him and doing all the stuff that you do when you have regulation in mind; I just want him to be below the renal threshold. And, by the second week or so, he was pretty much hanging for 24+ hours on less than .5 units. It's turned out that diabetes is pretty much a non-issue at this stage; everything else is so awful, I hardly give it a thought.

It surprised me that he had had such a subdued reaction to the introduction of prednisone. Back in the old days, when he was healthy, even using ear medication that had steroids in it would throw him into the 300's. A lot of people here seem to think that cancer "eats" sugar; maybe they're right.

I wish your Rae the best, and you. This is not something that I ever expected to have one of my cats go through, and it stinks. I'm sorry to hear of another beloved kitty being sick.
 
Hi Kathy. Ennis and I are not dealing with the same kind of cancer that you and Rae are. But we are dealing with primary cancers in 4 different abdominal organs in a 19YO cat.

Ennis is about 1 year OTJ, but I have always suspected that it was cancer eating the sugar. I started Prenilosone gladly for its anti-inflammatory properties. When Ennis gets to the point of pain, we won't be starting pain killers. At his age and with his cancers, his end is inevitable and there is no reason to prolong it.

Ennis was joyfully on Levemir for 4+ years. Joyfully because it kept him at or below the renal threshold for most or all of the day. Irregular schedule? Yep, that was us. I have memory problems and I would forget to give him his shot on time--many, many times. But Lev is forgiving, Ennis was forgiving, and once I would remember the need to give him a shot, he was always there for me no higher than the high 100s.

So if you need to put Rae back onto insulin, I would suggest Levemir, which is OTC in Canada.

Ennis has been on prednilosone for about a month now and has not yet needed to go back onto insulin. The highest I have found him, I think, is about 102mgdl (5.7 mmol). But I also feed him small frequent meals. He eats every 2-3 hours, even through the night. He always has had this feeding schedule since he's been diabetic.

The pred has been great for Ennis. Before it "kicked" in, he was having severe trouble mobilizing--one of his rear legs would splay out to the side and go completely stiff and he would walk backwards in circles, trying to get "traction." With regular 2.5mg BID pred doses (again a memory problem on my part) and bi-weekly Adequan shots for his arthritis and B12 shots for general health, he is mobilizing quite fine, although he is starting to have short periods of "spasms" a couple times/day.

We are using a liquid compounded pred. Ennis won't take pills, and he doesn't fight the chicken-flavored liquid. It comes from a pharmacy in Houston TX, but I am not sure whether they deliver to Canada, or how pricey the mailing would be. Probably best to find a local compounding pharmacy if you want to try the pred as a liquid.

You are the one who knows Rae best. You need to pay attention to changes in her behavior. A month ago, I knew that Ennis wasn't right. He didn't come into my office during the day, but hung out on my bed. He started going into the litter box about 50 times/day (not an exaggeration). As I mentioned, for over a year I suspected cancer. He went into the vet for his bloodwork and X-ray (we had been doing this every 4 months for about 2 years) and the vet finally saw some darkening of his liver on the X-Ray and the next day, his BW came back with through the roof for liver values. But by then, we had scheduled the CT scan with the specialist that brought the terrible DX the next week.

Is there anything Kathy should look out for that her vet may not have mentioned?

Yes, watch for something being "off" with Rae. It can be the smallest thing, such as more frequent visits to the litter box or requests for more-frequent petting. Cats are subtle about their health. You need to been extra-attentive to her signs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top