ReliOn to AlphaTrax Conversion Chart

WVCatMama

Member Since 2026
Is there a ReliOn to AlphaTrax conversion chart? We’ll be doing the diabetic curve for the vet in a couple weeks, and they use the AlphaTrax. I’d like to have the #s as close as possible to what theirs will read for dosing.

Planning to start first insulin dose tomorrow evening. 😬
 
No, there is no conversion chart. Our dosing methods were designed before the AT's came out, and the test strips are so much cheaper that most people here use the human meters. In general, the AT will read higher than the Relion in higher numbers, but they'll be much closer together in the lower numbers, where it really matters.

In addition to the spreadsheet, there are a few other bits of information that you can put in your signature that'll let us help you faster. Information in this post: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! For example, it's good to see which insulin you will be using, and I found out by looking at one of your previous posts.
 
Thank you Wendy. Good information to know. I can share that with the vet when they try to sell me the AlphaTrax when I do her curve.

I’ll work on my updated signature block this weekend too, so it’ll have better information for Faye as we get her all taken care of and back on track. 🥰
 
Thank you Wendy. Good information to know. I can share that with the vet when they try to sell me the AlphaTrax when I do her curve.

I’ll work on my updated signature block this weekend too, so it’ll have better information for Faye as we get her all taken care of and back on track. 🥰
Also on the spreads on the top hand corner in the slot for current insulin, the name of the insulin goes in there not the units, could you change that, so we can all be on the right page?, thanks. ;) Myself, to show Corky's SS to the vet I just open my phone on the site and go to his SS and he reviews it from there
 
Also on the spreads on the top hand corner in the slot for current insulin, the name of the insulin goes in there not the units, could you change that, so we can all be on the right page?, thanks. ;) Myself, to show Corky's SS to the vet I just open my phone on the site and go to his SS and he reviews it from there
Thank you! Checked yours and updated accordingly. I’m glad the spreadsheet is accessible now. That’s awesome about being able to show the vet! I’m going to prepare a similar printed spreadsheet since my husband will be doing some testing during the days when home (he’s not computer savvy), and I can take the printed ones to the vet also.
 
Most people just share the link to the spreadsheet with their vet :)
Great idea! Also, while we’re planning to do the 6 am - 6 pm schedule; what’s the leeway on that dosage; an hour before or after; 2 hours before or after? Want to know when is too early for that next dose and when is too late and time to let one slip (although we’re hoping for never slips).
 
Thank you! Checked yours and updated accordingly. I’m glad the spreadsheet is accessible now. That’s awesome about being able to show the vet! I’m going to prepare a similar printed spreadsheet since my husband will be doing some testing during the days when home (he’s not computer savvy), and I can take the printed ones to the vet also.
is very simple leave the computer open on this forum, all he needs to do is open this page click on Faye's SS in blue and insert the number, you can just show it to the vet from your phone the same way
 
Great idea! Also, while we’re planning to do the 6 am - 6 pm schedule; what’s the leeway on that dosage; an hour before or after; 2 hours before or after? Want to know when is too early for that next dose and when is too late and time to let one slip (although we’re hoping for never slip
with ProZinc the timing of the shots are very important, Corky also uses ProZinc , and 6AM 6PM shots, if you see his SS, scroll to the left you will see remarks, his feeding schedule, how much when I feed, is important that 2 hours after shot to feed a snack or small meal to keep the insulin in check, and several small meals/snack 3-4 during the day, the Protocol for ProZinc are TEST-FEED-SHOOT, you have a 2 hour window with ProZinc to shoot, but if you shoot early or later you will need to adjust the time when you shoot again, since there will still be insulin in the system, if you shoot late like 1/2 hour, the next shot should be 1/2 hour later, if you feel uncomfortable 1 hour before shot with the glucose level, then you posts us so we can assist you, there are instances where you do not dose on low numbers, but as a starter 150 BG is good to shoot anything lower you post us, missing a shot is not advised unless otherwise, I do not give dosing advice, but trying to answer your concerns according to Corky, all cats are different, but protocols are the same for ProZinc, please do not forget to create your signature
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Thank you! Checked yours and updated accordingly. I’m glad the spreadsheet is accessible now. That’s awesome about being able to show the vet! I’m going to prepare a similar printed spreadsheet since my husband will be doing some testing during the days when home (he’s not computer savvy), and I can take the printed ones to the vet also.
Yes. I occasionally took a printout of a page or so of my SS to the vet but not always. With some vets it is better not to show it and with some vets it’s all right. Some vets will tell you to keep your cat in the 200s, for example, which is way above normal healthy BG.
 
with ProZinc the timing of the shots are very important, Corky also uses ProZinc , and 6AM 6PM shots, if you see his SS, scroll to the left you will see remarks, his feeding schedule, how much when I feed, is important that 2 hours after shot to feed a snack or small meal to keep the insulin in check, and several small meals/snack 3-4 during the day, the Protocol for ProZinc are TEST-FEED-SHOOT, you have a 2 hour window with ProZinc to shoot, but if you shoot early or later you will need to adjust the time when you shoot again, since there will still be insulin in the system, if you shoot late like 1/2 hour, the next shot should be 1/2 hour later, if you feel uncomfortable 1 hour before shot with the glucose level, then you posts us so we can assist you, there are instances where you do not dose on low numbers, but as a starter 150 BG is good to shoot anything lower you post us, missing a shot is not advised unless otherwise, I do not give dosing advice, but trying to answer your concerns according to Corky, all cats are different, but protocols are the same for ProZinc, please do not forget to create your signature
@Suzanne & Darcy
@WVCatMama and I are over on the ProZinc forum so we’re chugging right along with the ProZinc, which will be starting tonight! She wrote me early this morning to get a feeding. Paws crossed for everything!
 
Yes, starting this evening! I’ve made a printable spreadsheet for hubby to fill out that I can plug in online, made a daily timing sheet for feedings and snacks, I have a long weekend off work, so it’s perfect time to start and get into the routine.

Just hope we can get the ear prick with her cone on the next two weeks. She’s looking good and ready to go.
 
Yes. I occasionally took a printout of a page or so of my SS to the vet but not always. With some vets it is better not to show it and with some vets it’s all right. Some vets will tell you to keep your cat in the 200s, for example, which is way above normal healthy BG.
We saw a different doctor last evening, and I asked him his range. He said on the AlphaTrax, it’s good anywhere from 75-150. We have the ReliOn though so I know our numbers will be some lower than the alpha. Still going to see if I can find a conversion chart somewhere online. Would be a good resource to have for us newbies.
 
We saw a different doctor last evening, and I asked him his range. He said on the AlphaTrax, it’s good anywhere from 75-150. We have the ReliOn though so I know our numbers will be some lower than the alpha. Still going to see if I can find a conversion chart somewhere online. Would be a good resource to have for us newbies.
I doubt if any chart will be very accurate because it’s just too complicated. With your ReliOn, normal, healthy cat BG should be between 50 and 120, with most time spent below 100.
 
I doubt if any chart will be very accurate because it’s just too complicated. With your ReliOn, normal, healthy cat BG should be between 50 and 120, with most time spent below 100.
That’s my goal…and in my head equating 50 to the vet’s 75 on their range of 75-150…so thinking around 120 is equivalent-ish to their 150.

Also, how do you know when they’re in remission, and when do you not give insulin based on their glucose readings? Is remission if they have so many days below x value?
 
@WVCatMama and I are over on the ProZinc forum so we’re chugging right along with the ProZinc, which will be starting tonight! She wrote me early this morning to get a feeding. Paws crossed for everything!

Yes, starting this evening! I’ve made a printable spreadsheet for hubby to fill out that I can plug in online, made a daily timing sheet for feedings and snacks, I have a long weekend off work, so it’s perfect time to start and get into the routine.

Just hope we can get the ear prick with her cone on the next two weeks. She’s looking good and ready to go.
to test you can remove the cone, then put right back on, don't forget the rice sock ;)
 
Back
Top