Relion test strips ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charley

Member
Well friends, I did something stupid. I hate getting low on strips so I always buy them well before I need them. I started my hunt two weeks ago. In the last two weeks I have been to three different walmarts- twice each. Their shelves have been bare. Fast forward to today. Omg three strips left and a amps of 214. I have just driven to all three again. Shelves are empty. I called the company and was told the store needed to contact the distributor. Doesn't help me today. If you use Relion, are you finding test strips? I've now ruined my family's mother day plans as I have been on the phone with other Walmarts trying to find these damn strips. I may have to just buy a different meter and strips. Beyond stressed. We have been integrating Petsmart's low carb instead of FF and to our surprise all three times, Charley has given us a much lower amps. The first time we thought it was a fluke. Look at his ss.
 
Sorry this is happening. Hope there isn't a shortage. Diabetic cat parents need them.

I guess find a deal for a free meter if you buy strips. It's always good to have a back up. Then you can buy some back up strips for it on EBay for much less.

But glad he is getting lower numbers! Don't let it wreck your Mother's Day. Skipping a dose isn't the end of the world.
 
I've never seen them cleaned out when I went, but they do put them in plastic boxes/cases for security. I'm guessing you asked at the pharmacy counter? They may have moved them there so they didn't grow legs. A small box that is worth $36 (or more) could be shoplifted without the boxes. Last night my mom told me that their WalMart is having a problem w/ kids shoplifting baby food! Desperate people in desperate times.

I bought a back-up meter so I would have something to fall back on, should I find myself in the same situation as you. Something that has strips in every drug store chain is good - even though the strips are more expensive, it would give you a back-up plan.

If it's in budget, instead of ruining your day, I would encourage you to pick up another meter - about $18 at your local WalMart or (hopefully the same at) Walgreens/CVS/RiteAid, and as many strips that go with it as you can reasonably afford. Save the headache of calling/running around.
 
I think a lot of places have a deal on Bayer Contour meters. Buy the strips and the meter is free.

Carl
 
Hello!

I'll second what Donna wrote: the Arkray testing strips (for their Glucocard 01) fit Reli-On micro & mini meters. My strips and meter were made in Japan. ReliOn is manufactured by Arkray. They are the best priced strips that I found - I have not tried e-bay. I did get them through ADW but the transit took forever; however, I'm in California. In view of what you said, I'm wondering if Walmart is having delivery problems because of the tragedy in Japan - tsunami plus what followed.

I also recommend Amazon since I find them reliable and fast. Recently, I signed up for their PRIME service (costs $79 per year) but was desperate to get Aloe Vera juice fast and couldn't get to the store (whacked my knee and saw stars plus orbiting satellites). I had it the next day for an extra $3.99!!! With their prime account, thousands of items will be shipped to you free of shipping charges. You just have to watch that the item is eligible for the prime service since not all items are. Any prime eligible item is supposed to be in the customer's hands free of shipping charges in 2 business days, including Saturdays. The first 30 days of PRIME service are free and Prime service may be cancelled, if not satisfied. Your account won't be charged the $79 until the 30 days are up, and only if you don't cancel it. This was all a wonderful revelation to me!!! I order all items singly.
Best wishes,
Sophie
 
Problem solved. I found a Walmart 25 miles away with a full shelf. I will just mail order from now on and save myself the grief. On a positive, I think changing to the Petsmart food may be really good for Charley. We only bought a few to try, but wow what a difference. I just can't believe a 2-3% carb change would impact that much. I told my husband having Charley with us and him being happy and healthy was the best mother's day gift. He makes my heart smile.
 
One thing to note... if you have the Relion Mini or Confirm, the Arkay strips are the correct ones. If you have the navy blue Relion Ultima, like I do, it is manufactured by another company. I've not tried to hunt them down, so I'm not sure if they're available on-line anywhere.

Glad you found them! It's crazy when that happens!!! Happy Mother's Day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top