Relion Micro question and low BG question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alfred

Member Since 2014
Hello two quick questions.

Question about the Relion Micro meter. I ordered the control solution to test my meter, it is the "Normal" level 1 solution. I tested my meter with it three times and the numbers have been as follows:

97
101
101

The range stated on my test strip bottle says 104 - 173 for the normal control solution.

Does this mean I should get a different meter since this one appears to not be testing in the range properly?

The control solution did get above 86 degrees, the bottle states to keep it below 86 degrees but it was in the mailbox and it got to 90+ the day I received it. Could this cause the solution to no longer be accurate?

Second question: Alfred has been OTJ since 6/9/14, however I tested him today and the meter said he was at 34. Should I be concerned when/if I get low readings like this while he is OTJ? He had eaten about 4 hours prior to my testing him. I fed him after testing him and gave him some treats.

I'm not entirely sure I can trust the meter though so just looking for some advice. Should I get a new meter or order more control solution? Should I be doing anything specific if/when Alfred tests below 40 while he is OTJ?

Thank you!
 
Hi!
I don't know the answer to your control solution question, but would call the manufacturer and ask. At times, I test myself just as a control to the functioning of my glucometer. If I ever get a weird=unexpected number, I retest because there are times when we don't get enough or get too much blood on the test strip but no error message pops up. Upper 30's can be an OK BG when in remission, but until you have more data I'd always test again immediately (just for your own peace of mind) - you don't have to wait any specified amount of time.

I have 2 OTJ cats, one for about 2 years & the other well over a year, and still get shaken by low numbers! I have 2 monitors +batteries, just in case one poops out on me.

Best wishes,
Sophie
 
1) the FDA allows meters to vary +/- 20% from what a lab would get. Your test values are within that range, so you're good to go. Whenever you get an unusual number, re-test. That'll narrow down the range to the overlap between the 2 tests.

2) you're looking for trends, not absolute numbers.

3) we have pet-specific reference numbers for human glucometers. I'll get them for the next post.
 
Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
BJM said:
Whenever you get an unusual number, re-test. That'll narrow down the range to the overlap between the 2 tests.

This may be a dumb question, but with the amount of them I have asked so far, I figure why not....lol

If you get an unusual number, should you be re-testing right away, or do you still want to wait 20-30 minutes before testing again to see if it is still an unusual number?
 
Re-test right away when there is an unusual number, to confirm it.
Best 2 out of 3 if the 2nd is widely different.

Usually, a meter will give you an error message if there isn't enough blood on a test strip; sometimes, though, they don't, they just read low erroneously.
 
Thank you very much for the replies!

From now on if I get a low number I will test again immediately.
 
FYI, my non-diabetic often reads in the 30s on the Micro. With the Prime, he'll test in the 40s. If a cat is not on insulin, then you usually don't have reason to worry.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top