Reintroducing Coco - 6/5/11 - acro/lev/R

Status
Not open for further replies.

CocoButterBall

Member Since 2011
Hello everyone! I am reintroducing Coco to the Lantus forum. I was here for a short time before the other Acro group swept me away to facebook. Unfortunately things haven’t been going well with them, and I don’t feel like they can help me any longer with my current situation as i will explain below

Coco is on Levemir and R . I used to be on lantus though. He did have less bounces on lantus then he does on levemir, but levemir makes him happier so I really want to work with it.

Basically I was giving him Levemir 2 times a day like normal.. then he started to spike at +8 to +10 of almost every cycle. and it would keep going up until +2 of his next cycle when the next levemir shot kicked in. My meter won’t even read how high his glucose goes during these spikes. The max on my meter is 600. I am guessing 700-800+ based on pattern though.

so I decided to start using R with the levemir. I was told by them to use it as preshot if I have to use it. they really thought I didn’t even need R at all... which I, even new to this seriously disagree with, and I will be using R no matter what for my cats safety. If coco's bg is going up to 400 by +10.. then he will be around 600+ by PS time. they want me to wait til ps to give him the R.. I want to give it to him before the spike even happens to help control it. So I did what I wanted to do. I now give him R once he over 350 near the end of a cycle.. they have no advice for me in this area and wont help me with it because they disagree with it. i feel that every cat is different, and if this is what Coco needs, then I want to do it for him. I really wish i help or support with this though.

the main reason this is so important to keep doing is because if I leave his glucose without giving the R, he gets sick.. and it’s not normal high BG sick. he becomes 100% unresponsive, lays on his side with his eyes open, he is very limp.. and stays there for about 10 hours, then perks up. this has happened every time I did not give him R when i felt he needed it. and the other group wants me to stop giving him R. I won’t do that, I need to make this R and levemir work together, and giving it at PS is not going to work for coco. I want to control his glucose b4 its bad, not after its bad.

I have examples b4 the giant gap on my ss of me using the R to help smooth the spikes, and its working, but it’s still not good enough for me. I am ready to start giving him R at 300+ and even down to 250+ to get this under control if I need to.

Coco is still not regulated and I need help with this R situation. I have had troubles with rebound, where R made him go higher, So I’m thinking maybe I’m giving him too much, maybe I should go down in dose and give it to him 2 time.. I’m not sure. he isn’t very sensitive to R at his end cycle so I think I have room to try a few things with it.

I don’t understand why the other group is so against me using R, but they are, and I need help to make it work for his safety, I do not like seeing him that sick, I need this R. and I need to find a way to make it work even better for my Coco. I tried several times to get opinions or ideas on what I was doing, but only kept getting the you don’t need R, or give it as PS only from the other Acro group.. I can only take that answer for so long..

Coco has FIV also.

Current doses of insulin are :
- Levemir: 4u BID
- Regular insulin: 2.25u PRN

My ss has a gap, but all the numbers I didn’t record were basically the same thing as right above the gap. I was checking, but didn’t record the info (bad on me)

I was told its still okay to post here.. even though he is on Levemir :]

So far today:

AMPS - 333 4u Lev
+1 -
+2 -
+3 - 150
+4 - 131
+5 - 123
+6 - 175
+7 - 250
+7.5 327 2u R
+8 - 342
+9 - 311
+10 - 351 1u R
+11 - 367
PMPS - 316 4u Lev
+1 - 303
+2 - 272
+3 - 232
+4 -
+5 -
+6 - 231
+7 -
+8 - 409 2u R
+9 - 416
+10 -
+11 - 479
AMPS - >600 (6/6/11)
 
Re: Reintroducing Coco

Andrea!!!! Welcome Back!!!

We have any number of beans here who are Lev users. We don't discriminate!! Lantus and Lev work pretty much the same way so we really don't treat them any differently. In fact, the Tilly Protocol is for both Lantus and Lev.

I'm going to preface what I have to say by pointing out that I don't have an acro-kitty and I've not used R. I have, however, seen quite a few cats who have been guided through the R process and what you're describing -- using R to keep the pre-shot numbers in a manageable range -- doesn't sound foreign to me in the least. In fact, either Libby or Jojo, at one point noted that using R this way helps the Lantus or Lev have a lower number to grab on to which then helps the basal insulin (the Ls) to bring the numbers down. Several of the people here who are using R are using it past nadir in order to lower pre-shot values. I think your logic will make sense to them. Many of the people here also use R on a sliding scale. Libby can help you with that if you think it's something that will benefit Coco.

We have several people with newly diagnosed acro kitties. I'm sure they will be by. I'm also sure that they will be open to thinking through dosing whether it's with R or with Lev.

For an acro kitty, Coco is on a relatively low dose of Lev. Was raising his Lev dose part of the discussion? What are your thoughts in that area? I don't know that more Lev is needed -- I'm just trying to get a sense of what options you've been thinking about.

Also, on your SS, what does "BAR" mean?
 
Re: Reintroducing Coco

BAR is bright, alert and responsive.. means he was doing good that day.. sry about that lol. its something we use in my school (vet tech)

I am open to increasing lev if needed. my issue with that is he is already going very low blue and sometimes green on his current levemir dose. so i'm not quite sure how to balance the R with the levemir and i am going at it blindly atm (on my own) Some experience with this will be greatly appreciated. I am just glad i think i found some people who are willing to work with Coco's R needs, instead of just telling me i shouldnt do it. :]
 
Re: Reintroducing Coco

welcome, Andrea and Coco! Yep, it's fine for Lev kitties to post here. We have a lot of people (myself included) who have switched from Lantus to Levemir, but since this is our "home" and the insulins are used so similarly, we have just stayed here.

Can you fill in today's numbers on your spreadsheet? And if you have any others to fill in during the gap that would help. I think it might take a few days to gather data before we can give any solid solutions, but we can definitely talk about what is happening.

I know I sent you a link to Buckwheat's spreadsheet. She is one person I know of offhand who uses a smaller dose of Lev combined with a larger dose of R to help keep Buckwheat level. She also has a tab on her spreadsheet called R scales. IMHO it would be helpful for you to build a sliding scale like that, to give different doses of R depending on what the reading is and when in the cycle you get it. Notice that in her earlier R scales, she had different doses of R that she used depending on where in the cycle she got a high reading. Usually if you are using R at the end of the cycle, when the Levemir's action is pretty much gone, you can get away with a higher dose of R than if you are giving it at preshot.

One pattern I see on Coco's spreadsheet is that when he hits blue, then he hits pink and BAM, right away he is in red or black. If you can anticipate that jump and maybe give the R at the pink number, that might help prevent him from going quite as high. Not just any pink number, but the pink numbers that come after nadir and right after a blue, so you know he is starting a big bounce. I don't think I would start right out with 2.25 units of R at those pink numbers, in case it is too much. Start with a conservative R dose, get some tests after it to see how it works, and then decide whether that dose is working or not. Do you know how many points drop Coco gets from 1 unit of R?

Coco's bounce actually reminds me a little bit of Gus, one of our current acro kitties. See how before his dental she was using smaller doses of R more often? Gus sometimes drops too much if she gives a larger dose of R than that, so she compensates by giving it more often.

Anyway, those are some preliminary thoughts. It looks like you have pretty good availability to test during the day, so I'm sure you can find something that will work. Based on what I see right now (without the last 2 weeks of data), I would actually tend to stay away from shooting R at preshot. It looks like Coco is dropping pretty well just on the Lev, but he does have trouble late in the cycle. Just my opinion. I would love to have some discussion happening here because I think this is very interesting!

About his Lev dose, once you have a few more days worth of data we can look at that. He might have room for an increase in his Lev too, but for sure you can play with the timing of R late in the cycle.
 
Re: Reintroducing Coco

I agree, coco does just fine with lev at ps and no r.. he drops within 2 hours, so i never felt it safe at all to even give R at ps for coco.. I was thinking about doing small r doses, but doing it 2 times instead of 1 time b4 ps.. sinse i notice the 1 dose of R doesn't last until +2 of the next cycle like i want it to. I really want to try to give it at lower glucose numbers like you mentioned, to try to keep him around 300 max.. once he is pink, i want to start giving R.

It varies each cycle tho but an hour or 2.. so its kind of guesswork on when he needs R. takes a lot more testing strips, but thats fine with me. I def want to work on a scale like in the ss you showed me

but sinse i want to start giving R at around 300 now. it will prolly be earlier in the cycle. so ill give 1u r tonight at the first sign of a 300 number. but doing it earlier i think will also mean that i might need to do 2 R doses b4 his levemir tonight. so at the first sight of a second rasie,, maybe give another1 u r?
 
Re: Reintroducing Coco

hi andrea - i remember when you were here before because i thought cocobutterball was such a cute name!

my kitter, punkin, was just diagnosed this past week as acro too - he's currently on 9.5u lantus and until the last couple of days was having pretty good numbers. we've had very good luck so far with just increasing the lantus, and he mostly runs fairly flat in his numbers, so i haven't used any R yet.

so, i can't advise you on the lev & r because i haven't got experience with them, although if punkin's dose continues up we may switch to levemir just so it doesn't sting him. at the moment he's taking it without any trouble. if we need to add R to control his numbers, there are several people here doing it and i'm willing to go that route too. and on this forum, i would guess 1/3 of the people use levemir.

you sound like a very committed bean - your hand is on the syringe, your eyes are on your cat, and i think our job is all about what helps each other help the kitty. you're the person who is there and you know best how he is responding to each insulin. you are his expert, so i'm not going to tell you not to do what you think works - i don't think any of us will. i'm more than willing to toss around ideas and try to help in whatever i can. sometimes it helps to hear other people's ideas or experiences, or even reflect on what we are saying - i know sometimes i feel "too close" to see objectively and it helps if others will reflect for me. i think we can learn from each other's experiences - and there's already a lot of expertise here.

glad you're here, we'll help each other!
 
Re: Reintroducing Coco

julie1220 said:
hi andrea - i remember when you were here before because i thought cocobutterball was such a cute name!

my kitter, punkin, was just diagnosed this past week as acro too - he's currently on 9.5u lantus and until the last couple of days was having pretty good numbers. we've had very good luck so far with just increasing the lantus, and he mostly runs fairly flat in his numbers, so i haven't used any R yet.

so, i can't advise you on the lev & r because i haven't got experience with them, although if punkin's dose continues up we may switch to levemir just so it doesn't sting him. at the moment he's taking it without any trouble. if we need to add R to control his numbers, there are several people here doing it and i'm willing to go that route too. and on this forum, i would guess 1/3 of the people use levemir.

you sound like a very committed bean - your hand is on the syringe, your eyes are on your cat, and i think our job is all about what helps each other help the kitty. you're the person who is there and you know best how he is responding to each insulin. you are his expert, so i'm not going to tell you not to do what you think works - i don't think any of us will. i'm more than willing to toss around ideas and try to help in whatever i can. sometimes it helps to hear other people's ideas or experiences, or even reflect on what we are saying - i know sometimes i feel "too close" to see objectively and it helps if others will reflect for me. i think we can learn from each other's experiences - and there's already a lot of expertise here.

glad you're here, we'll help each other!

Thank you :] I miss lantus in coco because it wasnt as bouncy as levemir (every cat is diff tho) but.. coco's mood and overall personality has brightened up so much on lev, so i def think the lantus was bothering him. If lantus didnt do that i might have actually swapped back for the better numbers.. but i def want to make the lev work for him

I can tell already this page will get me further then where i was though. Libby showed me a few people who have Different R schedules going on and its relieving to see someone else doing what i wanted to do myself :]

I am sorry about your Dx for Punkin. When i was first on here i wondered if he had Acro also, so i guess he does :/

________________________________________________________________

+7.5 is 327.. lol ._. damnit.. shoulda gave the R at +7.. gave 2u R.. forgot about the dropping to 1u thing when i drawing it >.< He wont go too low though, he isnt all that sensitive to R..
 
Re: Reintroducing Coco

wow, that's a pretty big jump in 1/2 hour! I'm glad you got the R in early. Now we'll see if that helped at all with the bounce. Trial and error, but you'll get there.

One reason he was less bouncy on Lantus might be that his dose was higher. I'm sure that helped with the bounces. One day he will settle down and stop bouncing so much, but R is a great tool to help while he's getting there.
 
Re: Reintroducing Coco

Libby and Lucy said:
wow, that's a pretty big jump in 1/2 hour! I'm glad you got the R in early. Now we'll see if that helped at all with the bounce. Trial and error, but you'll get there.

One reason he was less bouncy on Lantus might be that his dose was higher. I'm sure that helped with the bounces. One day he will settle down and stop bouncing so much, but R is a great tool to help while he's getting there.

Yeah, once it starts going up, it rly goes fast lol. Ill keep that in mind next time i see an increasing 250 ish lol.. I think he might need another R dose at +10 ish, we shall see how his numbers are then though :]

when i switched him from lantus to lev i kept it at 7u and he went rly low lol, was kinda shocking.. He has been roughly around 4u give or take since.. i wish he needed more if it would decrease the bounces.. but i just dont see him being too much higher then he is now atm :/

who knows tho, Acros always change
 
Re: Reintroducing Coco

you know, i'm ok with it. i mean i have my low moments, but i'm learning this isn't a death sentence. it's just another factor that influences his blood sugar. some cats have thyroid stuff, some have pancreatitis - all our kitties here have something that is affecting their BG!

several comments from people have helped me a lot - one is that he didn't just get this. he's had it for a while, it's just that I only just got the label. he was being treated with insulin before, he's being treated with it now. another is that he's the same cat as before i heard that label. the same sweet kitter who has blessed my life for 12 years! i love the little guy. :YMHUG:

I've done so much reading in the past few days - one of the most insightful things said that the most successful "non-medical, non-invasive" treatment was simply to increase the insulin. you give them what their little bodies need. he's such a trooper and he doesn't complain - we're in it together. :-D

i trust that you'll be able to tweak your combination to find something that keeps coco from being listless and staring into space for hours and helps him spend more time BAR!
 
Re: Reintroducing Coco

julie1220 said:
you know, i'm ok with it. i mean i have my low moments, but i'm learning this isn't a death sentence. it's just another factor that influences his blood sugar. some cats have thyroid stuff, some have pancreatitis - all our kitties here have something that is affecting their BG!

several comments from people have helped me a lot - one is that he didn't just get this. he's had it for a while, it's just that I only just got the label. he was being treated with insulin before, he's being treated with it now. another is that he's the same cat as before i heard that label. the same sweet kitter who has blessed my life for 12 years! i love the little guy. :YMHUG:

I've done so much reading in the past few days - one of the most insightful things said that the most successful "non-medical, non-invasive" treatment was simply to increase the insulin. you give them what their little bodies need. he's such a trooper and he doesn't complain - we're in it together. :-D

i trust that you'll be able to tweak your combination to find something that keeps coco from being listless and staring into space for hours and helps him spend more time BAR!

Yeah exactly, I was pretty ok with coco having it also because i have seen symptoms of it for over 5 years lol, so it was just putting a name to the symptoms finally! xD

Im sure i can find something to help coco out now. i was hesitent even doing the R thing a little sinse the Acro group looked down on it so badly.. But now i feel like im more free to alter his care more :]

__________________________________________

+8 - 342

At least its slowing down the high increases lol
 
Welcome back Andrea and Coco. My Gus is a newly dx'd acro (6-1-11) and I'm still learning about Lantus and R. I use R to keep Gus' bounces lower and to try to keep him <600. It's good to have you here and I hope that we can exchange ideas and experiences. When all is said and done, we're here to help our sweet cats. Lantus Land is a judgement free zone and a very open and honest forum. I know your interactions will be beneficial to both you and Coco.
 
bev5477 said:
Welcome back Andrea and Coco. My Gus is a newly dx'd acro (6-1-11) and I'm still learning about Lantus and R. I use R to keep Gus' bounces lower and to try to keep him <600. It's good to have you here and I hope that we can exchange ideas and experiences. When all is said and done, we're here to help our sweet cats. Lantus Land is a judgement free zone and a very open and honest forum. I know your interactions will be beneficial to both you and Coco.

Coco was diagnosed in march i believe :] My goal with R is to hopefully keep him as even as i can.. i want to eventually find out how he acts with it in the low 200's even. .get a good idea about how much R he needs depending on glucose and use it all the time until the levemir decides to start behaving lol. if it ever does xD

the >600 numbers def freak me out with coco cuz I'm always worried about him becoming unresponsive. R is a life saver in that case with coco. :]

I def hope to finally get a plan going for coco on here that works for him, looking forward to it. Feels like starting over again for me xD
 
CocoButterBall said:
+9 311 :]

thinking another 2u next hour. if it stops going down.

what about maybe 1u, with a goal of keeping him flat rather than bringing him down? Bringing him down too hard might set up more bouncing. So far it looks like the last dose of R might have done its job by keeping him out of the 400-500 range.

I'm not sure Coco is as unresponsive to R as you think he is. The R is doing a good job of keeping him flat, when I'm sure he would be bouncing to the moon otherwise. I see times on your SS when he has dropped a couple hundred points on 2 units of R. That kind of fast drop can set up bounces.
 
alrighty ill do 1u then. That is true i rather keep him flat then drop. will be good to see if 1u will keep him flat also, havent gave 1u in so long, so hopefully it does keep him flat.

that's also why i wanna start doing it when hes in the 200's at lower doses. maybe around .5 - 1u depending on how he reacts.. to try to keep him there instead of the 300's. Will be a while b4 i establish exactly what he needs and when. this is the first time I've had input on my R dosing like this lol. so I'm def open to that. :]

that is another thing i was wondering about. .sometimes i feel like no matter how much i raise his R dose. it does the same exact thing.. not sure why its doing that though. tmr when he goes up ill def try the 1u R when he is in late 200's so i can compare the 2 days
 
maybe you've already done this . . . but (and libby, chime in here) i recall Libby having both Gus & Tommy, I think, do a trial so they could see how many points each .1 of R brought the BG down. I don't remember how you did that, libby, but i thought that was really interesting and would be a great tool - to have a chart that said "with .1 R kitty dropped x points; with .25 kitty dropped x points, etc."

if it's a repeat idea, ignore - i just noticed when they did that and thought it was great data for future use.
 
julie1220 said:
maybe you've already done this . . . but (and libby, chime in here) i recall Libby having both Gus & Tommy, I think, do a trial so they could see how many points each .1 of R brought the BG down. I don't remember how you did that, libby, but i thought that was really interesting and would be a great tool - to have a chart that said "with .1 R kitty dropped x points; with .25 kitty dropped x points, etc."

if it's a repeat idea, ignore - i just noticed when they did that and thought it was great data for future use.


i want to do this for coco for sure, what time of day should i do this at Libby? im sure his glucose being a lil diff each day might effect it also.. im curious about what time of day i should be doing this though. probably when he starts to go up i imagine..

i wouldnt test a .10 of a raising number though.. maybe a low .. low yellow.. im quite sure he is past .10
maybe i would just start mine at .50 or .25, which ever is recommended to me? :]
 
Andrea & Coco said:
sometimes i feel like no matter how much i raise his R dose. it does the same exact thing.. not sure why its doing that though.
Here's my spin... When you're intervening with R, it's usually when Coco has already started to bounce upward. For example, tonight, Coco went from 6 = 175, +7 = 250, +7.5 = 327. I suspect that given the momentum behind these bounces, it's hard for a reasonable amount of R to bring the dose as low as you might like. If you'd gone with your gut and shot at +7, the cycle may have been flatter. I tend to think Coco is responding to the R. It's just that he is so darn good at bouncing that it's hard to get a clear picture of how well the R is working.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Andrea & Coco said:
sometimes i feel like no matter how much i raise his R dose. it does the same exact thing.. not sure why its doing that though.
Here's my spin... When you're intervening with R, it's usually when Coco has already started to bounce upward. For example, tonight, Coco went from 6 = 175, +7 = 250, +7.5 = 327. I suspect that given the momentum behind these bounces, it's hard for a reasonable amount of R to bring the dose as low as you might like. If you'd gone with your gut and shot at +7, the cycle may have been flatter. I tend to think Coco is responding to the R. It's just that he is so darn good at bouncing that it's hard to get a clear picture of how well the R is working.
that is true. I do have to consider that he would normally be well over 600 by now.. so the R is keeping him 300+ pnts lower and its even decreasing his glucose a tiny bit as well. guess that really does put it into perspective for me :D
 
Hello Andrea & Coco - Susan & Lanky here. We started off with Humulin N, came to this board, switched to Lantus, then DX with ACRO, then switched to Levemir & stayed with Lantus Land (LL). We use Levemir & R now. Our vet is a great guy, very involved & has supported us throughout all of this ACRO business. Lanky & I went to Colorado for treatment with Dr. Lunn last Aug (almost a year now). I've not done R curves & don't know how, but got the OK to use small unit doses of R to help Lanky out as needed (R dose ranging from .5 to 1.25u as needed).

So welcome aboard & maybe we can all share & learn together as there are several Acro kitties that post on LL.

Give Coco a hug from us.
 
PMPS is... 316, which is awesome .. and i gave 4u of lev..

R should start wearing out next hour.. then lev kicks in the hour or 2 after :]

I will try to get a decent Night cycle tonight as well, sometimes they are a bit diff. for coco.
 
sehjak (Susan & Lanky) said:
Hello Andrea & Coco - Susan & Lanky here. We started off with Humulin N, came to this board, switched to Lantus, then DX with ACRO, then switched to Levemir & stayed with Lantus Land (LL). We use Levemir & R now. Our vet is a great guy, very involved & has supported us throughout all of this ACRO business. Lanky & I went to Colorado for treatment with Dr. Lunn last Aug (almost a year now). I've not done R curves & don't know how, but got the OK to use small unit doses of R to help Lanky out as needed (R dose ranging from .5 to 1.25u as needed).

So welcome aboard & maybe we can all share & learn together as there are several Acro kitties that post on LL.

Give Coco a hug from us.

Hey! :]
Coco was on N insulin at first also. he got up to over 16 units with 0 effect, was just horrible. lol. My vet lets me do what ever i want now. cuz he is at a loss. what ever i say i need he writes me a script for lol. it is what it is.. at least i can get what i need from him i guess. My only real help is from people online. :]
 
hello andrea. welcome back to the group! i'm pretty late to all that's been going on, but i wanted to make sure i stopped by to say hello. alex is not an acro kitty, but i've been around for quite awhile and do understand how the L insulins work. alex started out on lantus the first time around, but i switched her to levemir when she came back from the Falls the first time and then just stuck with lev when she returned from the Falls the second time. the number of lev users in this support group fluctuates between 1/3 to 1/2, so you'll find quite a few others besides coco on lev.
looking forward to seeing coco's data over the next few days... hope to see you posting often!
 
Jill & Alex said:
hello andrea. welcome back to the group! i'm pretty late to all that's been going on, but i wanted to make sure i stopped by to say hello. alex is not an acro kitty, but i've been around for quite awhile and do understand how the L insulins work. alex started out on lantus the first time around, but i switched her to levemir when she came back from the Falls the first time and then just stuck with lev when she returned from the Falls the second time. the number of lev users in this support group fluctuates between 1/3 to 1/2, so you'll find quite a few others besides coco on lev.
looking forward to seeing coco's data over the next few days... hope to see you posting often!

hello :3

I am basically shifting my efforts for help and advise to here from the Acro group, so you should be seeing me just about daily :] need to re populate my ss for sure though lol.
 
whatever works for you. it wasn't that long ago when the lantus isg was home to the majority of acro/IAA kitties on lantus and levemir. you're certainly welcome here... in fact, glad to have you. as someone probably mentioned the group has seen 4 kitties diagnosed with acromegaly in the last couple of weeks. i also see susan/lanky stopped by to fill you in on lanky's journey. i think you'll probably be helpful to one another. while some of the newer caregivers may not be well versed in acromegaly, they've shown an incredible interest in learning and they're THE most supportive bunch of people i've ever met.
 
Jill & Alex said:
whatever works for you. it wasn't that long ago when the lantus isg was home to the majority of acro/IAA kitties on lantus and levemir. you're certainly welcome here... in fact, glad to have you. as someone probably mentioned the group has seen 4 kitties diagnosed with acromegaly in the last couple of weeks. i also see susan/lanky stopped by to fill you in on lanky's journey. i think you'll probably be helpful to one another. while some of the newer caregivers may not be well versed in acromegaly, they've shown an incredible interest in learning and they're THE most supportive bunch of people i've ever met.

Yeah im going to take a look at some of the spread sheets and stuff from the other Acro's who posted and try to catch up so i can keep up with them daily hopefully soon so i know whats going on with everyone xD
 
Re: Reintroducing Coco - 6/5 - acro/lev/R

+6 was 231
+8 was 409 gave 2u R

shoulda checked +7 jus like in the pm cycle..

so im assuming this cycle is higher because of me giving him R on the pm cycle? im not 100% sure on the effects of R and stuff with lev. I went with 2 units of R instead of 1u because he was already at 400+

damn. just wish i would catch these at the right times lol, but i was sleeping.
 
ya gotta sleep, too! someone told me early on that it's a marathon, not a sprint. those wise words gave me permission to sleep at night - cuz i was so stressed thinking "i have to do something to save my punkin" that i was waking up in the middle of the night and everything.

you got a LOT of testing done last night - you deserved the sleep. coco was probably just as happy for the break.

have a great monday!
 
julie1220 said:
ya gotta sleep, too! someone told me early on that it's a marathon, not a sprint. those wise words gave me permission to sleep at night - cuz i was so stressed thinking "i have to do something to save my punkin" that i was waking up in the middle of the night and everything.

you got a LOT of testing done last night - you deserved the sleep. coco was probably just as happy for the break.

have a great monday!

I'm usually up a lot doing stuff anyway, so its not too bad lol. I kind of like to occasionally wake up to check on things. I don't know lol lets my mind rest easier..

______________________________________________________________________

so.. late this cycle didn't go well. not sure if i got a rebound, or just not enough R to help it.
 
Reviewing the spreadsheet, it almost looks like he runs through the Levemir in about 8 hours, based on when he is given R.

Does it look like that to anyone else?

We haven't asked you what you're feeding and how (did I miss that someplace else?), so - does he free feed, or do you feed him at set times? Some folks manage part of the glucose rise with timed feedings - Sienne, for example, spreads out the feeding in the first half of the shot cycle to slow the glucose rise. And what, how much, and how often are you feeding him? How's his weight?

Has the vet checked him over for dental problems or other infections which might contribute to his elevation in addition to the acromegaly?
 
I always thought the insulin just decided to run out.. but i have a hard time getting anyone else to really see it that way..

He is a grazer. He eats when ever he wants. and i was advised to change it to alter his BG but.. the low carb food has pretty much 0 effect on his lvls. i have tried many diff scheduals.. its just feels pointless to feed him at certain times when it doesnt help him at all. lol

I do pull the food away once he is around +8 or so. when the insulin seems to be dieing.. but rly.. whether its there or not. his glucose is going to do the same thing, If i fed him nothing from +6 til PS .. it wouldn't look any diff then it does now.. i have tried lol

he is on FF all around 3-5% carb
 
If he grazes, feeding him that way is fine.

And the vet checks for other problems?
 
Mainly Acro related

Enlarged kidneys (last blood test showed normal values still)
high cholesterol
grade 5 heart murmur
neuropathy
arthritis
FIV positive. very very prone to infections of all sorts
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top