My advice is to stay with what's working - the dose reduction has helped, but she's still swinging (going from lows to highs) so reducing to .7U was great! If you can prepare syringes ahead of time at .7U for the sitter it would probably be OK over the period they have to do this for you. As long as you are going lower I don't think you will see 500s again.
No, it was not too soon to lower dose again. The pattern of swinging will possibly continue 'cause it's still very wide between lows and highs. Remember, the idea is to keep the levels more even - that is when Levemir works and probably why they call it "leve(l)mir!" and what you saw with the 100s preshot, then the 400s at next preshot is a strong indicator of too much insulin still.
Here's a spreadsheet to look at.
https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pxGL7AcHbfFGP98wDVWTrYw&output=html This is Sheila's Beau, who went off insulin on Levemir after 2 YEARS on Vetsulin (which is thankfully no longer made) in 3 months, yes 3 months. 'Cause Sheila was on her game and realized that even .5U was too much.
It's not as obviously with Celle, but you can see all the spotty pinks in July yet he was getting double digit BGs too. The trouble with a dose too high is the lows may not be as low as you would think - Beau's dose was lower than Celle's when he was swinging and he wasn't swinging very much, but since he was going lower than Celle is, the percentage swing is probably about the same.
Then scroll slowly down to about mid August when she started reducing the dose. It is obvious as she reduced the pinks went away and he began leveling off.
It's very counter-intuitive that such a small dose can make level blood glucose happen, but it does. That's why I scream and yell when I see members such as yourself come to the board on such high doses as even 4U sometimes. There is one right now on Lantus that is doing the same thing. That spreadsheet is here:
https://spreadsheets.google.com/spr...GI5SFNKUGpwUm5MbFIwODBTZFkxaWc&hl=en_US#gid=0 Look kind of familiar? Even on 2U he's dramatically swinging.
I need to try to get a library of spreadsheets as examples of this phenomenon. It is such because it just boggles people's minds that so little insulin works! Our society now is all "more, more, more" and that does not work in the world of feline diabetes sometimes.
So it's hard to break that mindset.
Hope this helped illustrate what's happening.