Reduce or hold steady a few more cycles?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AbyResq

Active Member
Can someone look at my spreadsheet and give me your thoughts on reducing Tuck's dose. My gut tells me if I keep him at 1 unit he's going to start bouncing. What do you think when you look at his sheet? Would you reduce now or wait a few more cycles?

On the AM cycles I've been trying to feed him at +5 to get ahead of the nadir with food. On the PM cycle I usually feed him somewhere around +3.5 and +4.0. 4 evenly sized meals throughout the day.
 
157 was 15-20 minutes early. I was hoping to feed and shoot before getting on a conference call. At 157 I decided to wait. It was another 1 hour and 15 minutes until I got back to him. (1 hour later than his normal time). He was 319 so I gave him his breakfast and 1 unit. At +5 he tested at 62. I fed him lunch. That was an hour ago.
 
Last edited:
I'd get another test just to be sure he's is headed up, not down.

I think one unit is needed for blacks but you could definitely try something skinnier for yellows and pinks. Interesting how a reduced dose on a yellow pmps gave you a much higher amps, though, and nothing obvious to bounce from....Have we suggested shooting 12.5/11.5? So shoot a little later at night and maybe get a high enough yellow that one unit works. And shooting 30 minutes earlier in the am before he goes up?
 
Interesting on the altered schedule. No this hasn't been suggested to me yet. I don't understand the night of 4/30 either, just one of those things I guess. 5/1 must have been a fur shot without me catching it or I had air in the syringe.

In the early days his doses were lasting longer and longer and I really thought he was headed off (still think this in the long run). Off to test :)
 
+6 and 15 minutes, he's at 140. He is very responsive to food and insulin. He does need his food intake reduced.

I allowed him to eat a ton because he was so underweight when I got him. He's getting 4 cans of Fancy Feast a day and probably only needs 3. He's around 12 lbs now and this seems like the right weight for him. It's nice not feeling his spine anymore.
 
I agree with the food reduction. That can lower his levels also. I had a 16 pound Maine Coon who was diabetic. At first when he was unregulated, he got 3 cans a day. Then, as his levels lowered, he was given 2.5. Then OTJ, 2 cans a day. It was plenty for him as he was a big couch potato - no exercising for his majesty......
 
If you check my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools, you'll see a number of indicators you can review to give you clues on how he is doing.
 
Thank you @BJM , I hadn't noticed those links in your signature. Luckily, this guy seems to be doing really well. Other than his huge appetite everything else seems back to normal. Happy and playful. I never see him drinking anymore and his peeing is back to normal. I checked for ketones the other day to confirm he had a transient high number from a bounce and not a prolonged high.

Tuck is a real sweetheart and easy going. He goes to his new mom on 5/14. As soon as he goes I'm taking in another Aby with diabetes. While I have the 'luxury' of an easy to manage diabetic cat I'm trying to learn all I can. Hopefully, the new guy is just as easy.
 
ECID! Lol but seriously, as patterns are discerned, most cats do become easier to manage. It's tough at first since you don't know the patterns. The good thing is that you will know about testing/feeding/the protocol, etc. So you won't be starting over from scratch!

Also, bless you for taking these babies in. So many don't want them and get rid of them. It's really wonderful of you to take them and care for them until they find homes!
 
And tonight's PMPS number was a whopping 452. I'm assuming that's a bounce from going down to 62 by +5. Guess my gut was right that 1 is now too much. I gave him slightly less tonight. I never know what to do on the bounce number, i.e. reduce now or try to catch him earlier the next cycle and reduce then.
 
ECID! Lol but seriously, as patterns are discerned, most cats do become easier to manage. It's tough at first since you don't know the patterns. The good thing is that you will know about testing/feeding/the protocol, etc. So you won't be starting over from scratch!

Also, bless you for taking these babies in. So many don't want them and get rid of them. It's really wonderful of you to take them and care for them until they find homes!

I didn't set out to foster a diabetic cat BUT now that I have, I didn't shy away when the call came in for the next one. Tuck was an adoption return for my group. His new owner was about to take him to a shelter, and we take our cats back no questions asked, I knew what would happen to a diabetic cat in most municipal shelters. I flew to FL and drove him 1,000 miles back to my house. He and his sister caterwauled most of the way, LOL.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top