Hi Denise,
Part of the issue might go away in a couple of weeks when we set the clocks back, since it'll be getting darker an hour earlier, so her sunbathing time will run out earlier.
Most people test, then feed, then shoot, all within just a few minutes. Couple of reasons for that. One of course is that it makes your life easier and that 10 or 15 minute period just becomes your routine, which Honey will adjust to pretty quickly. The other is because of the relationship to how food and insulin work together (or more correctly, how they oppose each other).
Insulin has a timeline, and typically what you will see with Lantus is a curve that looks something like this:
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
You'll notice that usually (and keep in mind that every cat is different, and this is just a typical timeline), there will be an increase in BG from feeding, and that by three hours after feeding and giving the shot, the insulin "onsets", starting to push the BG lower. Sometime around 5-7 hours after the shot, it is most effective, and that when you would expect to see the "low number" (nadir) for that 12 hour cycle.
The way you are doing the morning routine, you are testing before feeding which is just what you want to do. That test is important, and it is important that it be a "fasting" number. Then you are waiting about an hour and a half or so before giving the shot, right? The effect of that might be to make her BG curve "atypical". You might see an earlier onset than normal because the food will be mostly digested earlier in the shot cycle. You might not see an increase an hour or two after giving the shot that you would see if she ate just before the shot (does that make sense?)
The other thing, I am thinking that for the PM routine, you are doing the test/feed/shot thing all right around 7:30, right? If so, then you will probable see a more typical curve at night, but it won't be the same as the AM cycle, just due to the timing of food and insulin being different.
I think what is really important, no matter what your routine, is that you find one that works best for
you and your schedule. One that lets you test/feed/shoot close together, and allows you to give the shots 12 hours apart. Honey will adapt to your schedule, because it will become "routine". Once we set the clocks back at the beginning of November, you may find a time that works both AM and PM and lets you do that.
Two basic principles to this "dance". Food makes BG go up, and insulin makes BG go down. That is important because you will find that by adjusting the timing and the amounts of food given, you can affect Honey's BG curves during the day or night. You will find what works best for her and it could be different than what works for me or anyone else, because every cat is different. What we try to advise newer members is what is "typical" based on what we have seen in our cats and lots of other cats.
Hope that helps some,
Carl