Hannah and Phoebe
Member
Previous post from .org
Following SLGS, we've been reducing Phoebe's dosage relatively quickly over the past 4-5 days. Sometimes by 0.25, but sometimes by 0.5 when advised by this group since she is on a higher dose and is a long-term diabetic.
My partner and I have been taking turns sitting up with her each night to cross-check her Libre readings with the ReliOn when she is entering/at/exiting nadir. (Side note: We've found the Libre to be good for seeing patterns, and for letting us know where her peaks/nadirs are or are likely to be. But, it doesn't seem to be accurate above ~250 or below ~100.) We are doing this to A) Try to find a pattern to her nadirs, and B) to determine if they are truly <90. She has had nadirs below 90 for most of the past 15 days actually, although we only learned about and started following SLGS ~4 days ago.
Other important info for this question:
-Phoebe was on the maximum dose of predisolone until July 29th, when we started weaning her off of it under the vet's guidance over the course of 20 days. She has been fully off of pred since Aug 17 (this past Sunday)
-We are in the process of transitioning from dry to wet food. We are now 3 days into a 10-day transition
So the main questions I have:
-Are we reducing too quickly/not quickly enough?
-And specifically, should we reduce again this evening?
-Are these lows concerning/dangerous? I have not really been sleeping much due to worrying about something happening to her in the middle of the night, since it seems her nadirs are occuring pretty late and/or she is having multiple nadirs?? [Edit to add: She exhibits no symptoms when low that I can discern. She is lethargic always lately due to IBD (which we are also in the process of addressing). She walks, makes eye contact, and behaves normally as far as I can tell. Sometimes I think she is exhibiting symptoms of a low, but she is 150 when I check. Other times, she is bright-eyed and "normal" seeming but her BG is 50.]
Following SLGS, we've been reducing Phoebe's dosage relatively quickly over the past 4-5 days. Sometimes by 0.25, but sometimes by 0.5 when advised by this group since she is on a higher dose and is a long-term diabetic.
My partner and I have been taking turns sitting up with her each night to cross-check her Libre readings with the ReliOn when she is entering/at/exiting nadir. (Side note: We've found the Libre to be good for seeing patterns, and for letting us know where her peaks/nadirs are or are likely to be. But, it doesn't seem to be accurate above ~250 or below ~100.) We are doing this to A) Try to find a pattern to her nadirs, and B) to determine if they are truly <90. She has had nadirs below 90 for most of the past 15 days actually, although we only learned about and started following SLGS ~4 days ago.
Other important info for this question:
-Phoebe was on the maximum dose of predisolone until July 29th, when we started weaning her off of it under the vet's guidance over the course of 20 days. She has been fully off of pred since Aug 17 (this past Sunday)
-We are in the process of transitioning from dry to wet food. We are now 3 days into a 10-day transition
So the main questions I have:
-Are we reducing too quickly/not quickly enough?
-And specifically, should we reduce again this evening?
-Are these lows concerning/dangerous? I have not really been sleeping much due to worrying about something happening to her in the middle of the night, since it seems her nadirs are occuring pretty late and/or she is having multiple nadirs?? [Edit to add: She exhibits no symptoms when low that I can discern. She is lethargic always lately due to IBD (which we are also in the process of addressing). She walks, makes eye contact, and behaves normally as far as I can tell. Sometimes I think she is exhibiting symptoms of a low, but she is 150 when I check. Other times, she is bright-eyed and "normal" seeming but her BG is 50.]