? Recovering from hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aito

Member Since 2021
I haven't been posting here for a while and my spreadsheet is not updated I apologize for that.
Sica had a hypo this morning, about two hours ago. I'm not home because I'm quarantining at my boyfriend's apartment so as not to give my parents covid. Sica is with them so everything Im writing has been explained by my mom.
She woke up at 6 am because she heard a noise and she saw Sica leaning against the wall seeming completely disoriented, pupils dillated and kind of sniffing the wall. She took her bg, it was 64.
So her and my dad rubbed some honey on Sica's gums because her teeth were clenched and she refused to eat or drink water. Then they immediately drove her to the emergency vet.
At the vet they took her bg again, it was 65 so still around the same value. They gave her some Gourmet Gold canned food which she immediately devoured, surprising everyone around her. New test 30 minutes later, 76. So it is raising.
They drove Sica back home, she ate some more of the canned food, drank a lot of water and is now lying under the kitchen table, in her usual spot.
My question is: Is there anything specific my mom should watch out for? She will be testing Sica again in 5 minutes and then once more in about 40-50 minutes before giving her insulin shot.
And how much should she lower the dose? We have been keeping Sica on 3 units of Lantus and she has been doing great on it. Nadirs usually between 100 and 150.
I will be providing any other information necessary again apologies for not updating here.
 
I have answered your other threads.
It is really important to keep the SS up to date so we can help you.
Yes you will need to reduce the dose of insulin.
Because she had a symptomatic hypo, she could be very sensitive to insulin now so you will need to proceed with caution.
Once she gets home from the vets, I would post what the BGs are and try and update the SS so we have some data to go by. at the moment I can’t even see the SS. I have asked @Bandit's Mom to have a look at it.
Please keep us updated with how she is. Hugs
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top