Recommended meters..??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scoobedoo

Member
OK, I've taken the plunge and I'm home testing my kitty. I bought a Relion Prime meter, are these any good..?? The test strips are about half the cost of the other Relion meters, but if there's a better/more accurate model I should be using I'll do it. Any info is appreciated.
 
Either the Prime or the Confirm are good to use. Once you are home testing, you'll want to know what the numbers mean. Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

= 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- lowest no shot limit for ProZinc, PZI, or other non-depot insulins, after you have been testing at least 5 weeks and reduced your limit gradually - maybe 10 mg/dL{.5 mmol/L} per week.

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Latest Consumer Reports article link here. August 2013.

I like the Relion Confirm for it's small blood drop requirement, 0.3 microliters, and low cost of test strips, and easy availability of the test strips any where in the US, at your local Wal-Mart. I have a Relion Prime as a backup meter. It needs a slightly bigger blood drop, 0.5 microliters, than the Confirm, but the price of the test strips for the Prime can't be beat.

Did you get lancets for "alternate site testing", usually 26-28 gauge? Bigger pin to poke with, makes it easier for those just learning to get a good sized blood drop.
 
Thanks for the replies. I'm using the 26G "thin" lancets, the smaller "micro thin" ones just were not producing enough blood for a useable sample.

I'm just getting started with the home testing and I'm finding the "learning curve" to be very steep, but I'm willing to learn and stay the course.

My initial successful test with the Prime showed a meter reading of 75 about 5 hrs. after the 8 AM morning dose of PZI, I was a bit alarmed at that number since the vet said it shouldn't go below 70.

Her BC measured at the vets office the day before @ about 5 hours post AM shot was 94 measured on the vets meter, which I believe was an Alphatrak.

A fructosamine test done at that visit showed her regulation to be "very good", and the same test done about 2 weeks prior to that was only "fair", so I think we are making progress.

FWIW, my cat has responded very well to the PZI treatment, and she has not ever shown any signs of Hypo, urine output and water consumption are way, way down, and she's gaining weight like crazy (she had gotten terribly skinny) and we are at just at a little over 1 month from the initial "diabetic cat" diagnosis.

I appreciate all your input.
 
It sounds like you are doing great! We worry when the nadir (between 5-7 hours after the shot is 50 or below) so your 75 looks okay. In general terms, a cat is in regulated ranges when they are in the mid 200s at preshot and in double digits at nadir, but not below 50.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
It sounds like you are doing great! We worry when the nadir (between 5-7 hours after the shot is 50 or below) so your 75 looks okay. In general terms, a cat is in regulated ranges when they are in the mid 200s at preshot and in double digits at nadir, but not below 50.

Thanks so much Sue, this is really helpful information as I move forward. Kitty and I are just getting started and she's only 6 1/2 yrs. old, so this is going to be a long road for us both.

I'm still having difficulty getting a useable amount of blood out of kitty's ears. The younger of the two Vets at the local animal hospital we use has a "sugar kitty" of her own, and has offered to give me a hands on "training session", I will bring in my little sugar baby and all my testing gear, and she will show me how a "Pro" does it, I'm very encouraged that I'm going to get it right eventually, with the minimum amount of stress and trauma to the little furball.

This "training session" will also give me an opportunity to check the variation in the readings between my Relion Prime, and my Vets meter, which I believe is an Alphatrack. I have to give my vet kudo's on this... they weren't insistent on the Alphatrack.. they only "suggested" it, but they were not "pushy" in any way, they've been very receptive to my attempts to save money on Insulin, syringes, etc, and I'm very thankful for that.

I can't tell you how thankful I am to all of you here that have given me useful advice and encouragement, it's very comforting to know there are other folks out there that love their Diabetic kitties as much as I do, have experienced many of the same challenges, and are willing to share their experiences with newbies like me. God bless all of you, and good health to your sugar babies.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top