Barbara
Member Since 2011
Hello!
My cat Thumper was diagnosed on April 1st. I was totally shocked & figured I could never give her 2 shots a day but I'm managing. My vet mentioned home testing when she was diagnosed but it went right over my head. Her blood sugar at initial diagnosis was around 540. I was in such shock I can't remember the exact #. She was put on Pro Zinc 2 units twice a day. I had always fed dry food but am now giving her some wet food right before her shot. I asked the vet about switching her food altogether but she didn't want me switching totally till she was more sure what her #'s were. I took her back to the vet last Thurday for a curve. They did the first reading about an hour after her insulin shot & food. That reading was 155, 2 hrs. later it was 74, 2 hrs after that it was 89, and I the last one they took was 8 hrs after she got her insulin & it was at 289. I can't remember the ones in between those. The vet had me lower her dose of Pro Zinc. She again mentioned home testing but said if I didn't do it at home she would like to do another next week. After getting info on here I decided I had to do it myself. I went out & got a Relion meter & tried to do a curve yesterday. I tried to download the spreadsheet but had no luck there. I'm hoping someone can take a look at these #'s & tell me what you think cause I'm confused....and stressed! Hopefully I get the terms right, I tried to read & understand some of it! I think I'm on overload though!
AMPS 352
Fed her & gave 1.5 units Pro Zinc
+2.5 322 (I know I was a little late!)
+4.5 163
+6.5 102
+8.5 152
+10.5 246
she ate & I gave her 1.5 units Pro Zinc 1/2 hr later (I was an hour early with the shot - am still trying to work out my schedule!)
+2 315
This is where I'm confused. I thought the insulin would bring her blood sugar down? That's what seemed to happen that morning. I didn't test her again that night. I'm having a hard time getting blood & she was sick of me by then. cat(2)_steam She decided if I wanted blood so bad she would show me how to get some from myself & swatt my hand! LOL!
These are a couple of readings from this morning. I thought of testing her again all day since I'm off but her poor ears are all poked & I couldn't put her through that again today.
AMPS 410 (I was actually 45 mins. later than the 12 hrs since I gave the last shot)
+2 297
That's all I have for now. And if anyone can help with the spreadsheet I would appreciate it! Thanks!
Barbara
My cat Thumper was diagnosed on April 1st. I was totally shocked & figured I could never give her 2 shots a day but I'm managing. My vet mentioned home testing when she was diagnosed but it went right over my head. Her blood sugar at initial diagnosis was around 540. I was in such shock I can't remember the exact #. She was put on Pro Zinc 2 units twice a day. I had always fed dry food but am now giving her some wet food right before her shot. I asked the vet about switching her food altogether but she didn't want me switching totally till she was more sure what her #'s were. I took her back to the vet last Thurday for a curve. They did the first reading about an hour after her insulin shot & food. That reading was 155, 2 hrs. later it was 74, 2 hrs after that it was 89, and I the last one they took was 8 hrs after she got her insulin & it was at 289. I can't remember the ones in between those. The vet had me lower her dose of Pro Zinc. She again mentioned home testing but said if I didn't do it at home she would like to do another next week. After getting info on here I decided I had to do it myself. I went out & got a Relion meter & tried to do a curve yesterday. I tried to download the spreadsheet but had no luck there. I'm hoping someone can take a look at these #'s & tell me what you think cause I'm confused....and stressed! Hopefully I get the terms right, I tried to read & understand some of it! I think I'm on overload though!
AMPS 352
Fed her & gave 1.5 units Pro Zinc
+2.5 322 (I know I was a little late!)
+4.5 163
+6.5 102
+8.5 152
+10.5 246
she ate & I gave her 1.5 units Pro Zinc 1/2 hr later (I was an hour early with the shot - am still trying to work out my schedule!)
+2 315
This is where I'm confused. I thought the insulin would bring her blood sugar down? That's what seemed to happen that morning. I didn't test her again that night. I'm having a hard time getting blood & she was sick of me by then. cat(2)_steam She decided if I wanted blood so bad she would show me how to get some from myself & swatt my hand! LOL!
These are a couple of readings from this morning. I thought of testing her again all day since I'm off but her poor ears are all poked & I couldn't put her through that again today.
AMPS 410 (I was actually 45 mins. later than the 12 hrs since I gave the last shot)
+2 297
That's all I have for now. And if anyone can help with the spreadsheet I would appreciate it! Thanks!
Barbara