Recently Diagnosed...Difficult to Regulate (Canada)

Status
Not open for further replies.

KylaD

Member Since 2011
So we just got back from the Vet, she was very open to the Low Carb, wet diet, so we are starting the transition today!! :) We are also going to look at changing his insulin in the next couple weeks, she prefers to do one thing at a time and monitor his sugars by home testing closely. I am very happy with this and will keep you updated, but anymore tips,hints,suggestions are welcomed!! :) Thanks for the support.
 
That's great news that your vet is on board!

Remember that changing his diet is going to lower his insulin need, so you need to be testing him quite often if you're switching diets. Did your vet lower the insulin dose for the diet change?
 
Well she was originally going to increase his insulin today, so we decided to not increase and keep it where we are at because we are going to transition slowly from the dry to the wet to see how they tolerate, so we can go from there, but we will do close home monitoring :)
 
If it's a slow transition and you're closely monitoring (testing every few hours), then I think you're good! Make sure you post back when you and your vet decide on an insulin. I would have been lost without the dosing advice I got here!
 
Will do, We did a PMPS and he was at 23.0mmol/l --- mind you about 45 mins prior to that, a friend stopped by with her dog which scared Tipsy and he hissed and then ran off to the bedroom, so that could also be a reason it was soo high. Will check him again in the morning and see where we go from there. :) Thank you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top