Recent Feline Diabetic Mommy...

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlain80

New Member
We just found out last night that my beautiful Lolita has diabetes. We had a feeling this was the case as she was displaying some key signs. I will admit, with overwhelming guilt, that I drug my feet a bit on taking her to the vet...her temperament is not conducive to that situation. It got to the point where she was urinating around this house which she has never done in her 12 years of life. She is too much of a lady. We took her in and the prognosis was what we feared. After a lot of tears, I am ready to whats best for my first born.

After that introduction, my question is about ProZinc. This is the insulin that was recommended by my vet. I have seen many different (and cheaper options). Does anyone have insight as to a cheaper insulin? Should I just stick with the ProZinc despite the price? I will do anything for her, but if a cheaper option is just a sufficient, I would like to go with it.

Also, one last thing, how do you handle monitoring her sugars? Do you do at-home tests? If so, where do I get the materials for this?

Thank you all so much. This has been very emotional for me. This cat has been my loyal companion since the day that I got her. She is strong, confident, and amazing and seeing her is distress has been a reality check. I am so happy to have found this group.
 
Welcome to FDMB! There are so many helpful people here to help get you through this difficult time. And congratulations on wanting to home test! It is the best way to keep kitty safe!

There are cheaper options, but Prozinc is one of the best insulins with a lower upfront cost. Humulin N and Caninsulin (Vetsulin) are cheaper, but don't last as long as ProZinc. Lantus and Levemir are great insulins, but even though the cost might be cheaper per unit, it will cost you more upfront. (Prozinc is 40 units per ml while Lantus and Levemir are 100 units per ml.)

Most of us test using a human glucometer. Some of the more popular are the ReliOn Micro or Confirm from Walmart or the Up & Up brand from Target. Here is a link filled with info and tips for home testing: http://www.felinediabetes.com/bg-test.htm

Do you know when you'll be starting insulin and what the prescribed dose is? Also, what are you feeding Lolita?
 
If you're not giving insulin yet, take a look at Dr Pierson's web site Cat Info and the food list in the right column. Many of us feed over the counter, low carbohydrate canned or raw food, which may reduce the insulin use by 1-2 units (saving you money) because it can lower the glucose 100-200 mg/dL.
If you are already giving insulin, focus first on home testing before making any food changes.
Note: if the vet recommends more than 1 unit of insulin every 12 hours and you aren't testing, the risks of hypoglycemia and death are increased. We prefer starting at 0.5 to 1.0 units unless ketoacidosis is suspected.
 
Thank you @Stacym20 and @BJM for your responses. I am still so in the dark about all of this and it has been very overwhelming!

After consideration, I am going to stay on ProZinc. My vet highly recommended it and I trust her...she was wonderful with Lola and my crying self. :) Thank you so much for the glucometer suggestion. I started insulin Monday evening. She has been great with taking it! My poor baby truly seems to know that she needed some help. I am at 1.5 units twice a day. She is going in for an all-day screening on the 27th.

Lola is currently eating Blue Wilderness dry food. My vet seemed to think that is ok. I do throw in the occasional can of wet food, which she loves. I like the quality of the Blue Wilderness so much more than Fancy Feast though.

One more question...Lola is still having accidents around the house. Did anyone else experience this and, if so, can I expect them to subside soon??? It has been very difficult with having two small children at home...one still crawling!!!!!
 
Accidents should decrease as she gets regulated. Are there any other underlying issues like a UTI or anything? That can cause pain which makes them avoid the litter box since they associate it with pain.

I don't know anything about Blue Wilderness...but I do know dry food isn't nearly as good for cats as wet. In the wild, cats get most of their water from their meals; consequently, they have a low thirst drive. Dry food doesn't allow them to get enough water. I personally use Friskies instead of Fancy Feast (had four cats at time of diagnosis so the larger cans made more sense to me!) but both are actually really good for cats. I know it seems like the more expensive options should be better, but that's not necessarily the case. I really urge you to check out Cat Info like BJ suggested. HOWEVER since you are giving insulin already you absolutely SHOULD NOT CHANGE FOODS UNLESS HOME TESTING. That's really important. Changing to a wet food diet can drop BG numbers over 100 points overnight. Therefore, there's a risk of hypoing if you change.

Have you picked up a glucometer yet? I agree with Stacy...a human meter is best since the strips are way less expensive than an animal meter. Once you get your own glucometer, you can avoid those all day tests at the vet. They actually aren't helpful at all since most BG numbers are really heightened at the vet's office due to stress and they're expensive. It's much cheaper and more accurate at home. Are you okay with home testing? We can help you learn. I learned completely over the internet.

Overall, remember to BREATHE. There's a learning curve, but we've all been where you are right now and it gets to be routine. You're not alone...you're in the perfect place to get help.
 
Oh so much to learn!!!!

I tried Friskies with her and she was NOT having it. Right now, I'm going to stick to the Blue Wilderness until I get my feet on the ground. I feel that I'm not consistent enough with the wet food so I'm going to try and cut it out right now to maintain just one food. Once she's regulated I may switch to wet as I have heard multiple times that is the way to go.

I have not picked up my glucometer yet. I am OK with home testing but need to learn what to look for. I have no idea what numbers I should be looking for for her.

On top of EVERYTHING, I am stressing because my family is taking a vacation in early June for a week. I was planning on boarding her at the vet, but they told me today they are caged all day. I just don't think I can do that to her. She has lived freely for 12 years...putting her in a cage for a week seems wrong to me. I am currently looking for at-home care. Someone with experience giving insulin. Oh what we do for our fur babies!!!!!
 
Haha I hear that! I wouldn't necessarily wait til regulation to switch to wet food. Since it will probably affect her numbers, if you wait til you've got her pretty stable, it can make you have to work to get numbers stable again! Plus, wet food can help you get her regulated faster. However, I agree that I wouldn't do it just yet. I wouldn't switch until you have home testing down and can do it daily. That way, it's safe. Plus, it's one less thing to worry about right now. Once home testing is good for you, I'd try it. But one thing at a time is good...and home testing is most important to keep her safe.

So let's focus on that. On a human glucometer. If you check out BJ's signature, there is a link to glucometer notes that gives a great numbers run down. Basically, while on insulin, you want to be above 40 or 50 (since below can be hypo if on insulin). Generally, for new diabetics, we recommend no shots for under 200. Above that, it kind of depends on the numbers. Have you seen the protocol for Prozinc? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/protocol-for-prozinc-pzi.109077/ That might help. :)
 
Definitely get a human meter asap to help keep your cat safe.
We suggest that starting out, you not give insulin unless the glucose is 200 mg/dL or higher.
Dose adjustments are based on how low the glucose goes. If you home test, you can do this yourself, rather than having her spend the day at the vet. All they'll be doing is a curve, which is taking a test before you feed and dose, then testing every 2 hours until the evening test. Doing this at the vet results in less reliable numbers as cats get stressed and their glucose may increase 100-180 mg/dL from the stress. Adjusting the dose based on clinic numbers could overdose her.
 
The switch to low carb canned food is a huge step in the treatment. I have Fred on Fancy Feast classics, no gravy. He likes salmon feast, turkey and giblets, classic chicken. I feed 1/2 can,5 times a day and 1/2 can at night, except when I'm at work, I leave a whole can out for him. I spread it thin on a plate, now, ( thanks for the advice of someone here) and a just about 1/4 can of water and mix in with the food to make a healthy broth. Spreading it out, makes him eat slower. Good luck to you and your pretty cat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top