Rebound?

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
So, I am having a hard time getting Lucky regulated. Since his dental on 7/12, he's had mostly high and flat numbers. There have been a few red spikes around +8 and +10 and then a lower PS.

I'm just wondering if after the dental his insulin needs have decreased and he would do better on less than 1u? I keep increasing hoping to get a break through, but it's the same thing I keep encountering.

Can someone more experienced take a look at his SS and the things I had mentioned and let me know what you think? Thanks!!!!
 
Sometimes, consistently high flat numbers followed by an occasional crashing low can mean the insulin dose is too high. I'm not seeing any sudden greens, though.

Are you testing for ketones with those high flat numbers?

Do you feed on a schedule, or leave food out all the time?

Do you have a 12 hour period where you can do a curve, testing every 2 hours? That'd be helpful in showing his entire response to the insulin.
 
Hi all4mymarine, and, of course, you too, sweet Lucky,

I'm an army brat, so hope you don't mind...

PZI, normally, gives a definite curve. Then again, what is normal with a cat?

If what I think you're thinking is rebound, then you will need to cut his dose basically in half for at least two or three days. And, test. And, test. And, test...

Personally, I never could go the rebound distance with Giz. Best I could handle was three shot cycles before wimping out... It's probably a nerves of steel thing...

Since Lucky is so young (certainly around here!) and had that dental on 7/12, it could very well be he needs less juice. I will be hoping and praying that you have nerves of steel and can truly check him for rebound.

PZI, normally gives a definite curve, all4mymarine...

I'll be looking for your updates, okay?

Love and encouraging hugs for you both -- and for your marine,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
BJM said:
Sometimes, consistently high flat numbers followed by an occasional crashing low can mean the insulin dose is too high. I'm not seeing any sudden greens, though.

Are you testing for ketones with those high flat numbers?

Do you feed on a schedule, or leave food out all the time?

Do you have a 12 hour period where you can do a curve, testing every 2 hours? That'd be helpful in showing his entire response to the insulin.

I read that some cats don't have to have greens to rebound. They can rebound in high blues too. If this is a case of chronic rebound where the dose is too high, then I'm going to consistently see high flat numbers without greens or blues. Occasionally there would be a blue but then shoot right back up. I did a lot of reading last night!

I would love to test for ketones but Lucky is very sneaky when going to the litter box, which is downstairs in the basement. I had a video monitor set up but I never saw him and I also have a 14 month old who keeps me busy so I can't sit in front of the monitor all day :sad:

I feed him after AMPS, between +5 and +7 (depending on when I'm at home), after PMPS and again after PM +4 before I go to bed. It's not really the AMPS that I'm concerned about though...... I kind of did a curve yesterday, the only test that was left out was the +2.

Deb415andNikki said:
Hi all4mymarine, and, of course, you too, sweet Lucky,

I'm an army brat, so hope you don't mind...

PZI, normally, gives a definite curve. Then again, what is normal with a cat?

If what I think you're thinking is rebound, then you will need to cut his dose basically in half for at least two or three days. And, test. And, test. And, test...

Personally, I never could go the rebound distance with Giz. Best I could handle was three shot cycles before wimping out... It's probably a nerves of steel thing...

Since Lucky is so young (certainly around here!) and had that dental on 7/12, it could very well be he needs less juice. I will be hoping and praying that you have nerves of steel and can truly check him for rebound.

PZI, normally gives a definite curve, all4mymarine...

I'll be looking for your updates, okay?

Love and encouraging hugs for you both -- and for your marine,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...

Deb, I'm an Army wife now, dh did a service transfer :) He's always gonna be my Marine though ♥

Yes, I am looking for that curve and for some cycles I'm not seeing it. It worries me that he's getting too much insulin because by the time it wears off at +12, his BG is lower than the +8 at times. It's like on his own his BG would be lower than what the insulin is doing. I did a fur shot on 9/19 and he still had the same kind of cycle with a 400 at +8 and then at PMPS, he was down to 317....that is more than just meter variance. See, I want to be somewhat sure that what I'm seeing is a chronic rebound thing before I go cutting his dose :sad: But I guess there's no way of knowing that unless I just do it!

Thanks for the replies!
 
Dearest all4mymarine and now Army wife -- sorry Lucky, mom talk...

Be a Nike commercial. Just do it!

Love and continuing hugs for you, Lucky, and your military man,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, who taught me anything is possible and made my dad, a triple war vet, sneeze like hell...
 
You can put aquarium gravel in a clean box and leave him there alone in a room with it until he goes. (sometimes a clean box is such temptation....) It won't be absorbed so you can swoop in and test.
 
Another good (but pretty expensive) option would be to get a meter that can also test for blood ketones, which is what I had to do. The meter is cheap, but the ketone strips are costly

Carl
 
Thanks for the suggestions. I would love to get a monitor but I think I'll try the aquarium gravel and shutting him in a bathroom with it to test him. I'm not sure if it would stress him out being shut in the bathroom or not though.

Would I have to do this everyday?
 
all4mymarine said:
Would I have to do this everyday?

Unless there's a history of ketones, once a week should work. Make sure to check when numbers are running unusually high, as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top