Reassurance pls

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol and Rosie (Beaka)

Member Since 2016
Hi all
As you know Rosie was reduced to 1/2 unit caninsulin twice daily on Tuesday and the vet thought possible remission. As you also know I have problems getting blood to test but her urine strips have all been negative and her water consumption mostly in normal range. She started to show some signs of mild hypo on Wednesday so yesterday I didn't give her insulin at all and haven't today. I managed to get a rare blood sample this morning, almost two hours after eating and the number was 7.7 (I think 139) is this okay? I've rung the vet to check he's happy but he's consulting so will call me back but I thought maybe you lovely people could reassure me in the meantime. Do I need to give her insulin with these number or can I continue to not give and and just keep checking?
Thank you so much xx
 
I would have skipped, too. Based on my experience with Saoirse, a preshot BG of 139 (even on a human meter) is way too low to comfortably and safely administer Caninsulin; it's too harsh in its action.

Carol, please can you let us know which meter you are using to home test and also add that information to your signature; we can't understand the BG numbers properly unless we know which type of meter was used to take the readings.

Given that Rosie is a ketone-prone cat I strongly recommend you continue to test her urine daily for ketones - and doubly so given that your vet has advised you to suspend her insulin treatment. Is Rosie eating OK? Is she otherwise healthy?


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Hi
Thank you for responding.

Sorry I missed some vital info to help you to help us!

I'm using an accu-chek aviva meter.
I use urine strips that test for glucose and ketones and I test three or four times a day because that has been helping me to feel confident when I can't get blood. Rosie seemed a little more tolerant of having it done this morning, I think because last time I had increased the depth of the needle prick and it was uncomfortable for her, this morning I had reduced it to three, which she was ok with and I still got blood! I just had to give her some time from the bad experience.

Rosie is very well in herself and is eating normally now not ravenously like before, her water consumption has also reduced. She washes, purrs, plays a little and spends time sitting in the garden.

Thanks xxx
 
I'm delighted to hear about the improvements in Rosie's clinical signs. For all the frustrations of the sugar dance, the good bits make the naff stuff completely worthwhile! :)

Sending some scritches for your precious girl, and a :bighug: for her mama bean.


Mogs
.
 
Thank you so much.

I had hardly dared hope this would happen and I know it might not be permanent but for now I'm happy!

The support I received from this forum during my trials with the injections (which at one point I never thought I'd be able to do!) and the ear pricking has been amazing and got me through some very scary and despairing times so thank you all. I will be sticking around as I may be able to pay it forward.

And I know you don't like caninsulin much on this site but it worked for Rosie! (And the lowest low carb diet and weight loss might have helped too!) Xx
 
Oooh, it's looking good, Carol (touch wood/anti-jinx!),
And I know you don't like caninsulin much on this site but it worked for Rosie! (And the lowest low carb diet and weight loss might have helped too!)
It's true that Caninsulin/Vetsulin isn't the easiest insulin to work with (often has steep BG drops and short duration); but there are quite a few cats who have actually gone into remission with it.
From what I've observed, if remission is going to happen on Caninsulin then it seems to happen quite quickly. (I've seen a number of cats go into remission within a couple of months.) So, I wonder if those cats fall into the group that only need a short spell on insulin to give the pancreas some support, and a switch to a lower carb diet...? Oh, and it's very likely that the weight loss has helped too. :)

Keeping fingers and paws crossed for your beautiful black girl!
Go, Rosie, go!!! :D

Eliz
 
Hi Eliz

Thank you for asking. I have just returned from the vets and Rosie is offically in remission!!!!

I thought she would be as all her urine sticks have been negative and I've finally managed to do the home testing and levels have stayed around 7.7 although she did test 8.3 at the vets today but she really didn't want to go this morning and wasn't happy.

The vet nurse made a big fuss of her and they took her photo for their web site so others can see that remission is possible.

I haven't let the vet let us go yet though, I want to be sure, so he'll see her again in a month and I'll check in the meantime. How often should I test now?

The vet admitted today that she was close to death when she was admitted 7 weeks ago and they all seem genuinely elated (and somewhat surprised) by her recovery. I told them that the key thing was changing her diet to low carbs and NO biscuits but I think they are sceptical! Also, the support of this site especially when I thought I couldn't do the jabs and things would never get any better and you all supported me and kept me going for which I am eternally grateful
Rosie is like a new cat, playing, running, jumping, purring and enjoying life again. I couldn't be more pleased and happy. Xx
 
Congratulations on Rosie's remission. You can officially say it now...she's :otj:!!! Just remember to keep your eye on her. Diabetes doesn't ever go away...it's always there, lurking. So continue to test at intervals...I check Dottie every three days or so, now. This way, if for some reason Rosie isn't feeling good, or is stressed...you can catch a rise in BG...and get things back under control....so that the dreaded Sugar Dance doesn't begin all over again.
 
Oh, what brilliant news, Carol! :bighug:
You may find that the numbers creep down further as the pancreas gets stronger.
Small, frequent meals can help to stimulate the pancreas to work without giving it too much to do at any one time.
Keeping fingers and paws crossed that the remission is permanent....

Eliz
 
Small, frequent meals can help to stimulate the pancreas to work without giving it too much to do at any one time.
This is a very good suggestion. When a kitty eats the pancreas produces pulses of insulin. Feeding smaller, more frequent meals helps because it keeps nudging the BG levels downwards throughout the day.

Hearty congratulations to you and Rosie on achieving remission. I wish Rosie a very, very long and happy stay at the Falls! :cat:


Mogs
.
 
Thank you all so much for your kind words.

I did wonder if the pancreas gets better over time and you have answered my question. Rosie is a grazer anyway so she has eaten several small meals a day throughout her road to remission. It really alarms me when I see posts from people saying they can't feed their cat because the twelve hours aren't up! Do vets tell them this? I would have worried so much about hypos if I'd have fed Rosie that way.

Anyway all still seems fine this morning, I hardly dare believe it yet but I suppose I'll soon get used to it.

Hope all your kitties are well and stay that way...and their mamas too! Xx
 
Hope all your kitties are well and stay that way...and their mamas too! Xx
Don't forget the critter pops! :D

It really alarms me when I see posts from people saying they can't feed their cat because the twelve hours aren't up! Do vets tell them this?
Yep. The vet who Saoirse was registered with at the time of diagnosis insisted I only feed her before giving insulin. Almost immediately Saoirse started having really painful vomiting bouts about 3 hours after she last ate. I called the vets to discuss changes to her feeding pattern (this was in the first few days of her insulin therapy using Caninsulin). The response I got from the duty vet was: "She's had it her own way for enough. She'll have to get used to it." I was utterly disgusted by this response. I worked out a feeding schedule for Saoirse myself to work as best as I could manage with the Caninsulin action profile. Saoirse got some bit of food every three hours, and her painful vomiting bouts stopped immediately. I also moved to another veterinary practice. Both of us have been much happier for it.

Wishing yourself and Rosie a grand day! :bighug: :cat:


Mogs
.
 
The response I got from the duty vet was: "She's had it her own way for enough. She'll have to get used to it."
:eek::eek::eek:!!!

I worked out a feeding schedule for Saoirse myself to work as best as I could manage with the Caninsulin action profile. Saoirse got some bit of food every three hours, and her painful vomiting bouts stopped immediately. I also moved to another veterinary practice. Both of us have been much happier for it.
Yay! :D
.
 
I sometimes get the distinct impression that more vets are in the business for profit, than not. They seem to have no empathy for their clients at all...either that or they're stupid as a rock.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top