Really confused and in need of help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

taylor_hubbard

Member Since 2014
Hi Friends,

So as my post below reads, I have been testing my cat Tyrone and he's been in the 50's using the Relion Meter. To make sure the meter was accurate we tested my non-diabetic cat and she was 33. Although we tested Tyrone with the Truetest meter from Walgreens right after and it was in the 50's as well. Is this correct?? I should be injecting him in about an hour so I want to make sure I'm making the right choice to NOT inject him with the .5 of Lantus. Please help!
 
hey there,
i'm on a work computer which is lame so i can't look at the spreadsheet you posted in your other thread so this might be a dumb question, have you in any of your tests gotten an actual diabetic number, i.e. a number above 120 or so?

based on reading thru the other thread i gather you haven't but figured i'd better ask just in case since i can't see your spreadsheet.

don't give any insulin until we clarify that ok. and i'll try to figure out a way to open that spreadsheet with one of these computers here
 
Yes, those numbers sound pretty accurate thats why everyone was warning you in the other thread that you shouldn't give insulin when that low. When my cat was first diagnosed I also tested my other 2 cats that are not diabetic and their numbers were in the 40's. Please read all the guidelines and do not give a shot when that low. There is tons of info on this site that will help you. Feed a low carb high protein diet off the lists provided on this site and keep testing. :-D


Also it is best to attach your spread sheet to your signature line so it is provided in all of your post, but looking at your spread sheet you really need to test BEFORE every shot, and hopefully someone with your type of insulin will chime in but your numbers have been way too low to give insulin to. Im shocked you havent had to deal with hypo yet. My cats been in the 100's and I havent been giving him insulin. Please be careful and keep an eye on your kitty.
 
I had a friend open your sheet and tell me what the numbers look like and to be honest, it doesn't look like your cat is diabetic

What were the symptoms you were seeing that led to the diabetes diagnosis? Was kitty sick? Stressed? Have you changed their diet? How was kitty diagnosed? Was a fructosamine test done for the diagnosis?

I have to say in all honesty I wouldn't be giving insulin with the numbers you're getting.
 
So we did not give the injection tonight and have been monitoring. His bg is at 79mg now and it would have been +2 but it's actually +14 cause no shot.

To give brief back story - Tyrone was diagnosed with diabetes on April 6 the after ER vet visit and severe lethargy. He was given fluids and had a heart murmur present so that tipped him into chf. He spent 24 hours at the ER vet and was released. He has since been diagnosed with cardiomyopathy and diabetes. His bg levels were 600 that day at the ER vet and climbed down a bit to the 400s. We were giving 1u of lantus until yesterday and then reduced to .5u.

Last Monday his bg at vet was 175. And this Monday it was 70 but thought maybe I under fed him that morning. I didn't get his meter until Saturday and with Easter on Sunday didn't test. Have started on Monday and have been trying to do ever since. I had to go in to work early this morning so my husband tried doing a reading but failed as it was his first time trying. (Trust me, I tried convincing him to practice last night) so was unaware of low shot level. I will call my reg vet in the morning and go forward from there along with checking his levels tonight and continuing to feed/monitor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top