Read the stickies and listen to the board!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elizabeth B

Member Since 2017
For anyone who is new to this community, I cannot express enough how important it is to take full advantage of the knowledge on this board.

After 6 weeks of frustration and little to no progress, I found this board and read everything I could.

I was feeding our boy Purina DM dry, as advised by our vet (who is great, by the way) and was giving almost 8u of glargine!!!!

From the knowledge base here, I immediately switched him to an all canned diet, added water to his canned food, and watched carefully for the signs of a bouncy kitty.

In just two weeks post switch, our boy is on 2.5u with preshot numbers around 200 and nadirs around 100. I expect to see his dose continue to decrease over time with hopes of remission. We wouldn't have gotten here without this site. Read read read! Ask questions! Use the spreadsheet and test at home! I cannot express enough gratitude to this community.

New folks, I know it can be tough to reconcile this info with vet info, but a good vet will encourage you to learn and take ownership. They will even read the info you bring to them! Keep pushing and if they don't listen. Get a second opinion.

Wat to go community! You have saved our boy's life!
 
Very happy to hear your kitty is doing much better. I too very much feel this place and the exceptional experienced folks saved my Marvin's life. I was ready to throw in the towel at one point as the internist didn't think there was anything to do for my baby, and look at him now. It's all about the amazing support, guidance and sincerity of everyone here encouraging and wealth of knowledge which gave me the tools and information I needed to make a difference for Marvin.
 
Bronx and I would've been lost without this community, can't even imagine where we would be without the knowledge and support of FDMB..
Totally agree. It was scary at first to put my trust in people online (especially when given advice that differs from Gizmo's vet), but it was the best decision I've made in this journey. Gizmo is doing so much better now.
 
Yep! Sometimes I want to post to newbies - "please, please listen to the advise you are getting, trust the protocols, trust the advice givers and trust the process, IT WORKS!".

And most of all I want to strangle some of the vets sometimes :banghead:- lol :rolleyes:.
I love my vet for many reasons but mostly because the first thing he told me after Dre was dx was "I am not a expert in FD" he was honest and directed me elsewhere.
Edited to add most just pretend they know:confused:
 
When I found this board in 2010 my previous diabetic kitty, Stu, had been overdosed by his vet and almost died. I had been shooting "blind" (no home testing) for 4 years (a PZI type insulin) and the vet switched Stu to Lantus when the other insulin was discontinued. He didn't know that Lantus was a depot insulin and was not dosed in the same way the older insulins were. If it were not for the wonderful people on this board and their guidance, we would have lost our kitty.
We are all so lucky to have this terrific resource.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:s to the FDMB!!
 
What I am really appreciating at the moment is seeing people from all over the world here, and seeing real team work to help those who have limited access or language difference. :bighugs: to all those experience folks making a difference everyday for the caretakers and their kitties during this most overwhelming and confusing journey. So grateful to have this place and all your support... Oh yes Marvin appreciates it too :cat:
 
We came, unfortunately, from a vet that wasn't so good. When I first found this forum, the one thing that really stuck out and helped me decide who is better to give advice was on a thread somewhere here. It was basically, "Would you dose your child before testing?". I talked to the vet after reading on that and seeing that I should be home testing, and the vet tried to convince me otherwise, saying that there was no need at all for home testing. Our regular vet is much better, but Zeke hates to travel so took him to a closer one. I know this forum has probably saved our Zeke because of how the vet was increasing our dose.

If you are willing to read and research, this forum is great to give the help and advice that you need for your kitties.
 
This is my "go to" place for information, support and wise counsel. When we were new at dancing with diabetes, it was just a website I found. I can say with certitude that over time that view has changed considerably. It is the knowledge and support from kind experienced folks here that gave me what I have needed to save my kitty's life a few times. And it is that continuing education, assistance and encouragement that I am reminded of every time I look at my furry green- eyed friend and note how well he's doing. :cat::joyful:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top