Re: Um... 1/7 Sam +3 86 +4 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Active Member
I did NOT expect such a low number for his +3. I have 3 hours until nadir! I'm going to feed him a little then recheck in an hour. And yes, I am freaking out about the possibility of hypo just a little.
 
Re: Um... 1/7 Sam +3 86

oh dear! this Sam is so sensitive! Well, 86 is not a dangerous number. It's what's to come that I'm a tad concerned about. That's pretty low for just +3. I say feed him some regular low-carb food and test in a half hour. That should bring him up for a while.
 
Re: Um... 1/7 Sam +3 86

I gave him some stuff that's about 14 carbs. I'll test him in a bit and see what it's done.
 
Re: Um... 1/7 Sam +3 86

Try to forestall a hypo with as little HC as you can.

FWIW... Bud got the same sample tested with my ReliOn, the vet's meter and the lab. Lab was 333 Vet's was 354 and ReliOn was 365... Relion ran a little high.

How's he acting?

Breathe.
 
Re: Um... 1/7 Sam +3 86

Hon, I would not over react to this nuimber...it is actually good. please do not over carb this number. it is definetly ok and wonderful. keep testing however. i probably caught you too late.. just my opinion.
 
He's at 68 now so that food either wasn't as carby as I thought or hasn't taken effect but he ate about 40 mins ago, so not sure what do now.
 
Re: Um... 1/7 Sam +3 86

I'd like Lori's opinion first.... a tablespoon of HC with gravy and put the gravy on it. Retest in 15-20 min.
 
Breathe, test again in 15 minutes, Breathe again,
if you must feed in 15 minutes for further drop have your high carb and a bit a karo on hand.
if you must feed,
test, feed, 15 minutes, test, feed (if nec.)
wash rinse repeat.
jBreathe.
 
Breathing. Mostly. Man, I did not see this coming today. That was the end of the "high" carb food I have on hand. I think my husband must have fed the rest of it to our other cats by mistake. I did have some FF with gravy but even that only came out to 10 carbs. Anyway, he's eating some of that right now. Will test again shortly. Thanks for hanging in there with me.
 
Kristen, try not to bring this number up...it's nice if he can surf that number range for awhile...no need to bring it up...just test to make sure it's not dropping fast is all. low carb should be fine. for now. karo at the ready for ER
 
Agree with Lori, Kristen. It is a good number. You can safely fall into the 50s without intervening. I wouldn't feed high carb yet.

And don't forget to BREATHE!
 
Okay, calming down. I just can't help but think it's going to go lower in the next two hours before nadir. Will test again at the half hour point and see how we're doing. I really wish I had chocolate in the house. nailbite_smile
 
feed low carb very small portion with drop of karo if drops below 50 otherwise just free feed 10 carb. cat's eat naturally when their going low. very very light on the karo. only if below 50.
 
It could go lower, but you know what to do. As Lori says, feed low carb with a little bit of syrup added if you get around 50. No syrup (or whipped cream :mrgreen: ) until you see 40s. I will be around this afternoon and will keep checking in on you.

The GOOD news is that you are getting a great reaction to a smaller dose.
 
Gator thinks potentially highs before were from chronic rebound and is very hopeful his insulin needs will continueto drop.
 
Tell Gator that makes two of us. :)

I use honey, no karo. Not sure if that makes a difference, but I do know not to give him as much as I did the last time. Oy, this is such a learning experience! What would I do without you guys? Go to the vet a whole lot more, that's what.
 
He's at 175 now, which makes me think I overreacted. :-| I guess I need to learn to calm down more when his numbers get low.
 
That's okay. You learn something each time you get a number. It's easy to get nervous when you see the double digits and you haven't seen them very often.

So he could be a little higher tonight, but I would stick with the one unit or even a dash less. We don't know if he would have gotten to the 40s at nadir; if he did, that could have meant a reduction tonight.
 
Yep, totally agree. Thanks. I just need to have a little more faith in him and me to keep things from getting crazy. Baby steps I guess!
 
Well, poop. He's all the way back up to 237 (+6) now. Any chance this will mellow out a little before his next shot?
 
Well, his last dose of high carb didn't last long.

But no worries - he will get back in those lower numbers with his next dose. Remember that annoying saying we have - It's not a sprint, it's a marathon!
 
Just ideas...

Maybe a potentially a very carb sensitive cat? Supposedly they exist.

Going forward I'm not sure what you feed normally but you might try for the "very low carb" selections under 4 or 5% and see if you get any benefit.
 
no worries, but don't shoot that high # tonight with a high dose, keep it the same or less. i'd go with less. less is more in this case.
and next time he goes low...sit back and watch how he does on his own...being very chintzy with the carbs. (unless you are like really low and it's really early!)
i think you did beautifully for this episode, and all in all it's good news that he drops from that dose. now we lower it and watch him drop and lower it and watch him drop...all the way to remission!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top