Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106, +8 121 ATrak gbtb

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Simba

Member Since 2011
Simba's doing great. Sarah's feeling ill. Woke up with a headache and a stomach ache. Sleeping little and eating less is taking it's toll. I've been trying hard to take care of us both, but I guess I forgot to have more than a piece of toast yesterday. I'll do better today. A handful of almonds and I'm already feeling some give.

Simba groomed himself last night for the first time in quite awhile. The sound was so unfamiliar in the middle of the night in a very dark room that at first I thought something might be wrong. I was so relieved.

Quick question. I know Sienne described 15 min increments, once a day to deal with DST... how's 5 or 10 mins twice a day? I'm petrified of messin' with a good thing! :shock:

gbtb. will wake with coffee in a few hours.

hope everyone is having a warm and restful morning

Sarah.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, bean feeling ill

Hi Sara, sorry you're not feeling well today. It's easy for us to get run down with lack of sleep. Try and take care of you today and have some good meals. I did Maggie's DST in 10 minute increments to get back on schedule, but I kept it the same time for the pmps. In other words, 6:10 am and 6:10 pm for the shots. I'm not sure I understand, so we'll see what others say.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, bean feeling ill

Not sure how to advise but sorry you're not feeling well, please take care of yourself or you won't be able to take care of Simba.

Feel better.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, bean feeling ill

Hi Sarah-

Just wanted to say I hope you're feeling better quickly. Get yourself some rest and good food!

Amy
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, bean feeling ill

Good morning guys .. sorry to hear you are not feeling well Sarah .. make sure you take time to take care of yourself ... as far as simba goes, this blue looks wonderful on him! I know whenever mocha started "preening" we knew she was going to have a good day number wise .. and it always held true! Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, bean feeling ill

I hope you feel better. You have to take good care of yourself in order to take good care of Simba. :smile:
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, bean feeling ill

are you asking about the testing times, sarah? because they would still be relative to whatever time you gave the last shot. and i think ann's point is that the shots remain 12 hours apart in one day, then the next day you shift another few minutes til you're back on schedule with DST.

take care of yourself!
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, +4 180.. hand cream craziness?

Thanks guys :) Feeling better now.
Makes total sense, I'm glad that's what I did last night. I've been moving it by 5mins but I gotta get it back 50 minutes. lol.
Sounds like it'll be OK to do that over 5 days. Phew.
Thank you all for the warm wishes and sentiments. The stress of everything + not sleeping is buckling.
I had a good breakfast, will have a nice lunch, and am planning a delicious dinner!

huggles all around.

OH. I do have one question. What do you guys think about moisturizers? I've never thought about it betore, but I use Shea cocoa butter because it's the only thing that will take care of my super dry skin... but it occurs to me that it may have sugar in it... sugar on hands + pet cat = badness.

I may just play it safe and start using vaseline. blech.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, +4 180.. hand cream craziness?

can't answer your question, but chiming in to say you gotta take care of the caregiver!

eat well and rest often!

celi & binks
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, +4 180.. hand cream craziness?

Nice start to the day for Simba! :-D Grooming again is great!

I'm glad you are feeling better, it is so easy to forget about ourselves. Pay attention to the bean too!

I'm not sure why there would be sugar in the hand cream. Everything i do wrecks my hands and I use handcream all the time. Check the label and maybe find one w/ just a few ingredients.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, +4 180.. hand cream craziness?

Baby goes bananas when I use Shea Butter on my hands.. which I used to do every night before bed.. since her diagnosis of Feline Diabetes, I have not used it because I was unsure of the effect on her BG. I do use other moisturizers & she has no interest in them..
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, +4 180.. hand cream craziness?

Wow, thanks Nicole.... I'll be sure to post about it when I find anything conclusive.... did you use cocoa shea butter or plain shea butter?

and hey, I worked out my times!!

03/15/11 amps 7:40; pmps 7:30
03/16/11 amps 7:30; pmps 7:20
03/17/11 amps 7:20; pmps 7:10
03/18/11 amps 7:10; pmps 7:00
03/19/11 amps 7:00; pmps 6:50
03/20/11 amps 6:50; pmps 6:40
03/21/11 amps 6:40; pmps 6:30
03/22/11 amps 6:30; pmps 6:30

I get him straightened out just in time to go back to work. Phew. \M/
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, +4 180.. hand cream craziness?

I looked Shea butter up on Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shea_butter
Composition and properties
Shea butter extract is a complex fat that contains many nonsaponifiable components (substances that cannot be fully converted into soap by treatment with alkali): oleic acid (40-60%), stearic acid (20-50%), linoleic acid (3-11%), palmitic acid (2-9%), linolenic acid(<1%) and arachidic acid(<1%).[3]
Shea butter melts at body temperature and absorbs rapidly into the skin without leaving a greasy feeling.
Uses
Traditional
In Africa, shea butter is used for cooking oil, as a water proofing wax, for hairdressing and for candle-making; and also as an ingredient of medicinal ointments

It is edible, it is a fat, so it should not harm a FD cat. Have you noticed and spikes?
 
3/15 Simba AMPS 173, +4 180, +8 95 AlphaTrak

Heya, thanks for the info! Sorry, what I was concerned about though was the cocoa.. See, I don't know if the cocoa extract they use contains the parts of chocolate that is harmful to cats in general, or if it contains any sugars, specifically with regards to the brand I'm using. (palmer's).

Thanks you guys :smile: Maybe I'll get some regular shea and just forget the cocoa butter all together.... but it smells so damn good!

Also, this contains mineral oil - which is the stuff that's good for teh poops... the cat's, I mean... :cool:

But Nicole.. it seems like your kitty has great taste!! If you're concerned, maybe ask the vet first, but it seems that based on the lovely Ann's findings.. we're good to go on the shea front!

To answer your spike question Ann, I'd noticed levels were lower the night after using the butter and then petting cat compared to the next night where I didn't use the butter. I've been wondering for awhile if I should avoid it though.. *looks down at chapped, cracked hands* .. because of the choco aspect :evil: grrr

EDIT: The info I found suggested there may be a link between cocoa and insulin production... but anyway, I don't know if the site is reputable. I'm having a busy day so haven't had time to look into it at all.

anyhow. I think I'm just driving myself crazy. If I get a chance to find anything, I'll let you both know :)
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173, +4 180, +8 95, +9 83 AlphaTrak

yeah.. he's a little TOO green though... my 'danger' number is 4.0 and he's 4.6 as of +9 .... he's in my lap. keeping a close eye on him. So much for my errands and chores! nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

testing again at .25
 
Re: 3/15 Simba AMPS 173 +4 180 +8 95 +9 83 +9.5 86 phew

I had trouble getting a sample, so my ".25" ended up being more like .5
 
Re: 3/15SimbaAMPS 173 +4 180 +8 95 +9 83 +9.5 86 +10 77 Atra

Had 2 cc honey and eating two more with lc... 3.9 (that's an edit I entered wrong last time) last reading +10.25 sry no conversion on itouch. EDIT: conversion is 70 Alphatrak
vet instructed no insulin tonite
 
Re: 3/15SimbaAMPS 173 +4 180 +8 95 +9 83 +9.5 86 +10 77 Atra

should I give more honey/karo? the only HC I have is Science Diet carb 22, 26 or 29
 
Re: 3/15SimbaAMPS 173 +4 180 +8 95 +9 83 +9.5 86 +10 77 Atra

Sarah....I'd retest in 30 mins just because honey wears off fast and he could turn around and I think this is the first time he's done this to you.

Glad you are feeling better. Hang in there!

eta: if you have him at a safe number, you can take the "911" off so others won't rush over as they get in from work. ;-)
 
Re: 3/15SimbaAMPS 173 +4 180 +8 95 +9 83 +9.5 86 +10 77 Atra

Just post it and we'll see what he's doing. Sarah...can you also please put it in your subject line ...you may have to take out some of the earlier numbers...that's ok!
 
Re: 3/15Simba +9.5 86 +10 77 +10.25 70 +10.5 130 +11 140 AT

I don't know if I'm supposed to have the 911 on or not, since you mentioned it I took it off.

I don't know if he's out of the woods, and I don't know if I should give more honey. I only gave about 2cc's
 
Re: 3/15Simba +9.5 86 +10 77 +10.25 70 +10.5 130 +11 140 AT

Sarah..I believe a 140 on an AT is 110 on a human glucometer...or about that. So he's safe and he's coming up. What I can't tell you is whether you should shoot this number at PMPS so you need to probably take "karo" out of the subject line and put in "Need Help" so someone more experienced can suggest what you do at PMPS. How's that sound?
 
Re: 3/15Simba +9.5 86 +10 77 +10.25 70 +10.5 130 +11 140 Atr

OK. sorry. I hate this. I'm not shooting the pmps, I already got advice from vet through tech. about .5 seconds of advice.
Sorry I'm so newb, I don't know what I"m doing and I panic and can't think.
 
Re: 3/15Simba +9.5 86 +10 77 +10.25 70 +10.5 130 +11 140 Atr

Sarah --

Take a few deep breaths. Wait and see where Simba's numbers are at PMPS. Also, Simba earned a dose reduction.

Just a few questions for you should you think about shooting... Can you afford to stall? In other words, what's your schedule like tomorrow? If you shoot late tonight, will your schedule accommodate shooting 12 hours from when you do shoot? Do you have strips?

Are you planning on using honey for HC vs. HC food?
 
Re: 3/15Simba +9.5 86 +10 77 +10.25 70 +10.5 130 +11 140 Atr

From the bottom up:

He's super new on wet food at all.. crap. ok. BREATHE first. firrrrst. ok.

He's super new on wet food so I'm scared to try to get him to eat science diet right off the bat - my other cat refuses it outright, and she loves wet food, so it makes me think it doesn't taste very good and Simba just won't eat it.

So yes, mixing karo with Royal Canin recovery is my only option right now.

My schedule is wide open. I'm off work till Monday. I took time off in case THIS happens. I can accomodate whatever he needs.

time to test. brb.
 
Re: 3/15Simba +10.5 130 +11 140, PMPS(?) 148 Atrack

he's 148...

I have 25 strips... give or take.

should I shoot a reduced shot? should I wait?

he's only 6 days on insulin
 
Re: 3/15Simba +10.5 130 +11 140, PMPS(?) 148 Atrack

what do you think of the dose reduction Simba earned today? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/15SimbaPMPS(?) 148 ATrk should I should a reduced now

my vet said 'keep him between 5-10 for now, on 1u'. When I said 'what if he goes 4 or under, should I shoot less'? she said 'that's when you call ME'..... and I said 'what if it's 3 in the morning... she paused and said 'well it won't happen this week'

I'm so glad I have you guys.
 
Re: 3/15SimbaPMPS(?) 148 ATrk should I shoot a reduced NOW?

his shoot time is in 4 minutes. should I shoot .75u? now or wait?
 
Re: 3/15SimbaPMPS(?) 148 ATrk should I shoot a reduced now o

you have shot lower than this before... His new dose is 0.75, yes. You can shoot whenever you're ready! Remember, you always have control of the numbers. Even if Simba doesn't love the HC or syrup, you CAN get it into him so you can steer the numbers.

By the way, 4.0 is not a "danger" number. It is a "pay attention" number. See how well he popped up when you gave him food and syrup?
 
Re: 3/15SimbaPMPS(?) 148 ATrk DOSAGE HELP PLS

its a good number Sarah...and what Libby said
oh and a +1 would be good tonight.
good luck with the new dose, looks good.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148 ATrk

I was afraid the pmps number was just the karo talking... but I trust you guys way more than I trust my addled brain. I wish I had a person to HUG!!!!!
 
Re: 3/15SimbaPMPS(?) 148 ATrk DOSAGE HELP PLS

looks to me like you handled it like a pro, sarah. you did everything right. you helped Simba, you posted asking for more help and advice, you're in control.

way to go! pat yourself on the back now and hug your kitty! :-D
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148 ATrk

good call.

Thank you so much you guys. I thought I had more balls than this but I am just a BIG BABY.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148 ATrk

GOOD 'HOOTING, Sarah!!!!! Start breathing again! And CONGRATULATIONS! on the decrease!

Ronnie, Sarah needs a hug!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top