Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +2/49 4.5/60; 11/66

Status
Not open for further replies.

GregFurBall

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo

Two nights in a row focused on Fur Ball. Way to earn a reduction!

Recap:
AMPS was 105 (way to go Jane for predicting that 3) Gave .25U
+1 = 104 I started work late so was able to get a +2 and was surprised by the 50 reading
+1.5 – 83. We could not be at home so left out 1tsp LC and 2 tsp frozen LC (he ate 1tsp LC while we were gone)
+5 = 54. FB ate 2 tsp LC left over from the morning.
+5.5 = 72
+7 = 83

PMPS = 155 . Gave .25U
+2 = 38 – gave him 1 tsp LC w/ Karo (yes, the MC/HC was on the Sat grocery shopping list)
+2.25 = 54
+2.5 = 46 – gave him 1 tsp LC
+3 = 67
+3.5 = 59 – he got another tsp LC
+4 = 62 – he enjoyed another tsp LC to encourage his rise
+4.5 = 58
+5 = 59
+6 = 60
+8 =65 – he got another tsp of LC, in bed none the less
+10 = 63
+11 = 74

Now here we are back at AMPS at 90. Fur Ball hasn't risen too much.
Is it safe to shoo the .01t? I know his depot will still be distributing insulin so we'll probably get low numbers again today. Just want to do what is safe. And I don't want to drain his reserves too fast.

Jane. I actually found Dr Pierson's food list even before we joined FDMB. It was so helpful in getting him off kibble and onto raw. No pet stores are open so we'll have to make a walmart run
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90

Sorry I'm late! I was still checking you previous condo :-D

He's rising (30 points from +10 to +12 so it's not a fast rise, but it's there). The last shot is wearing off. Onset will take a little while. He'll probably do what he had planned this cycle regardless of what you do.

Yes, I think you can shoot the 0.1u.

Please tell me, though: Until when can you keep testing? (+1.5)?

Can you get canned LC, MC and HC in the first couple of hours of this cycle (you or DH)?

Are you COMFORTABLE shooting this?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90

Ahh. See, I remembered to open a new one w/ the AMPS.
We gave him the shot. Its going to be another testing morning regardless. I'll be home until +1.75 and return hopefully by +2.25 (its an hour meeting). Greg is at the store picking up some MC/HC to get us through this AM cycle. Guess we'll be getting some fancy feast gravy lovers (Greg just called w/ the options)

Fur Ball snarfed his breakfast. I gave him a bit less in anticipation that he will be eating more throughout the day. He is definitely playful; throwing his toy mouse around.

Am I ok waiting to test until +1 and then when I leave?
And what time should we give him the HC
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90

Well done on opening it! I was being ditzy :lol:

GOOD SHOOTING! Nice BOS you have there :mrgreen:

402605_10100330169934213_637841923_n.jpg


You can get a (+0.5) to ease you mind, and to see how early anything starts happening. I'd definitely get the (+1) if you don't want to test before then, and also an out-the-door test.

Also: Did you mean it's a half-hour meeting? Just because from +1.75 to +2.25 is half an hour...?

Depending on how his numbers are, I would consider giving him a mix of LC and HC gravy as you go out the door.

WTG Greg by the way for doing the catfood shopping!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90

Karen, Nice shooting! You guys are really on the march now :mrgreen: . Glad he is playful.
Go Fur Ball, surf that green! And btw, easy does it, high green is fine, no need for drama to overwork your beans OK?
Leslie
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90

I think you're fine to test at +1 and then at +1.75 or before you walk out the door.
I'm glad you won't be gone that long for your meeting. Let's see what his next test is.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90

Hi Jane-
Ooops on the times. I'll be back by +3.25/3.5. Too early on my tired brain. Greg has actually been the primary tester until I had to get better at it for he PM shift. (Its Courtney's husband that hasn't tested yet). Greg bought 200 testing strips on Monday thinking that would last us awhile. Who knew we were going to burn through so many here at the end of the week. How grateful I am that Fur Ball is doing this on the weekend and not the beginning of the week. We are more available to monitor him now

I'm going to wait until +1 and then when I leave at +1.75 to test him.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90

Ha, :lol: you're right of course! I'm having newbie-confusion!! Sorry sorry :mrgreen:

I'm glad Greg is on board! Nice!

I'll be standing by for your (+1). Then we'll see what to advise you, and what pointers to give Greg about when to test, k?

Jane
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108

Breakfast kicked in.
+1 is at 108. I'll test him again when I leave but imagine I'll need to set out food then. Greg will stay until I get back and then he has to go to work.

Karen
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108

I think I would do like Jane suggested and leave some LC out with a little MC on top when you walk out the door,
depending upon his +1.75 number, of course.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108

Glad to see that 108! Let's see what the (+1.75) brings :smile:

Dyana, thanks for chiming in!

Karen, are you good with this plan? Test as you go out the door and leave out food with MC (or a touch of HC gravy too if you prefer) when you leave?

Jane
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108

Wow. Ok. Dropping. This is most likely the full shed draining. I'm glad you fed MC.

You could leave out more LC/MC mix for him, or even dribble a touch of HC gravy over it. Do test and post when you get in, ok? We'll be looking for that next BG!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108

Greg did a test at +2.5 = 71 and again at +3=59.

Fur Ball got 1tsp MC at +3.

I'm going to wait and test again at +4 since he just finished eating as I got home. Does that sound like a plan?
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108

I hope Fur Ball doesn't go too low for you today. At least you have a good mix of options (LC, MC and HC) to give him.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108

Greg rocks :mrgreen: Very nice testing!!

Karen, you rock too :-D Waiting an hour might just be a tad too long - how about 45 minutes? It's up to you, of course, and FB does seem to be surfing wonderfully, but even so, my own skeerdy cat tendencies would make me test a bit sooner. Better safe than sorry, KWIM?

Sooo amazing, this cat's SS!! Woohoo!

Remember to keep updating the SS :smile:

Jane
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108; +3/59; +3.75/76

The +3.75 gave a BG of 76.
I think I'm going to try and get a nap in with Fur Ball; he's lying on the bed. I'll do frequent testing to get him through nadir: Can I do them every hour or is it still important to test every 30 min. I know this last reading is probably food influenced. I will probably take a break from posting for a couple hours...that is, of course, unless FB does something weird with his BG's that I'll need help with. And, yes, I'm pretty diligent about the SS.
This bean is TIRED. :smile:

Thanks for all your help.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108; +3/59; +3.75/76

That's a very nice MC-bump at (+3.75).

You should be fine to test hourly - barring, of course, a sudden drop, as you say.

Enjoy your rest, and just post if you want input, k?

Great job on the SS. The reminder was in case others want to jump in, not to criticize :smile:
Jane
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108; +3/59; +3.75/76

thanks Jane-
no criticism taken on my part. If I don't update the SS as I'm posting then I have to scroll through the meter (or posts) to get the numbers and that is just too much extra work. :smile:

Have a great day/evening yourself. And we'll chat later. I hope FB will just surf and we can take a break from testing.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108; +3/59; +6/75; +7/68; +8/84

I'm back!!!! Had to take a little break from posting so I could get some rest. Now its on to tackle those weekend errands.

Fur Ball seems to be surfing well today. Some of the lower numbers have been managed w/ LC and MC.

Greg asked a great question about doing curves. Are the numbers 'skewed' somehow when we have to give Fur Ball food to keep him from dipping? And how does the food during the day impact his PM numbers?

We generally only feed him AM and PM and over all that has worked well with him. But since Thur he has been getting food throughout the day due to his numbers. We are considering the information on auto-feeders, but thought I would ask if it is possible to just feed bid.

Also, how long will we need to be on the .1U dose before we try a trial w/o? I'm just concerned about his low numbers and neither of us really have the flexibility next week to test him frequently like we've done since 9/27.

Hope everyone is having a great caturday. :smile:
Karen
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108; +3/59; +6/75; +7/68; +8/84

Very nice day today!!!

I don't think his numbers are skewed too terribly much but you can try not feeding and see how he does. On the few times that we've had you skip a feeding, he's only come down a little bit. ECID and without experimenting, it's hard to say but I really don't think you are keeping him from going too low with the LC. Now....MC/HC...you would be.

Most of us manage the curve with food and by that I mean with their regular food. I feed Gracie at PS, +2, +3, and +7 or 8 depending on how her numbers are doing or if I want to go out or go to bed. The early feeds are to keep her nadir from tanking too much when she's running in normal numbers. Using anything other than LC is not managing the curve with food....it's controlling low numbers.

Welllll......he'll be on the .1u dose until he either drops below 50 again or he's in normal numbers for a full week. If he drops below 50 this cycle or next, we may or may not have you reduce him because it's probably depot talking and not the new dose. You don't want to take back to back reductions in most cases. When he does earn a reduction, we'll probably have you try one drop .....we like them to stay on insulin as long as possible for a successful remission.

Let's see how he does the rest of this cycle and tonight.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108; +3/59; +6/75; +7/68; +8/84

You stick with the 0.1u dose either until FB drops below 50 or if you're at that dose for a week and the majority of numbers are green.

With a newly diagnosed diabetic, well, for most diabetics, we recommend small meals spread out over the first half of the cycle. If a cat's on insulin, you are feeding during the time when the insulin is most effective vs. when it's effects are waning. Even for an OTJ cat, feeding frequent, small meals is preferred since you're not overwhelming the pancreas. Of course, a lot may depend on whether your cat is a grazer vs. a hoover.

Greg's question is complicated. In a sense, the numbers are skewed. If you feed, you're preventing numbers from dropping. Given that you just reduced FBs dose, you really can't take a reduction this cycle so it makes sense to steer the numbers upward. Frankly, keeping a cat on insulin as long as you can means giving the pancreas support while it's still healing. I don't see a problem with keeping numbers up with food. With regard to whether food during one cycle effects the next cycle, it's unlikely. The only way that food would influence the next cycle is if you were feeding past +10 or if you were feeding kibble. Dry food takes a long time to be metabolized and its effects last for hours.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108; +3/59; +6/75; +7/68; +8/84

Great minds think alike :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: And we didn't even discuss this ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108; +3/59; +6/75; +7/68; +8/84

Yes, your great minds do think alike.
Was a bit concerned that his 65 at +10.5 but am really glad he is at 88 at +11.5.
We will test again in 30 min. If he keeps coming up, will he be safe to shoot .1U at PMPS?

Thanks for all your help.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball AMPS 90 +1/108; +3/59; +6/75; +7/68; +8/84

PMPS is at 79.
Now what? That seems a bit low to shoot.

Karen
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89 - advice?

We checked him 20 min later and he was on the rise to 89. We made the decision to shoot. Hopefully that was a good decision. We fed him less of his raw as I anticipate we will be up w/ him tonight giving LC. Any suggestions on how frequently we need to test?
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82 - advice?

Whenever you're shooting a low number, you want to get a +1 and a +2. (You can always test more.) You can always feed a bit of LC to encourage some surfing.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82

cool. thanks Sienne.
We did the +1 test and will do at +2. And we gave him less food at PMPS so he could eat a bit more throughout the evening. Since we shot 20 min late I am guessing that is our new time we must go from.
Also, tomorrow morning can we go back to the original time, or do we need to use the 20 min later time? I think I remember that we get a 15 min window, but just wanted to clarify. Hopefully the question makes sense.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49

Ughhh. does a 49 at +2 mean yet another long night?
I'm going to give him 1-2 tsp MC...does that sound good? Then should I test in 30 or 60 min.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49

Yes, this could mean another long night. But I'll be here as long as you are, or until people on the other side of the world wake up to stay with you!

The MC was a good idea, and so is another test at 30.

Carl
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49

Great guidance from Carl.

You can adjust the time back by 20 min. in the morning. It shouldn't be a problem. Also, the drop tonight is most likely due to the depot not yet having a chance to get caught up to your current reduced dose. It's a bit too full! Hold the dose in the AM.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49

Thanks guys.
The +2.5 BG is at 55. He ate 1 tsp MC at +2 but is still acting hungry. Should I give him another tsp MC?

Sienne, I'll go ahead and do his AM shot back to the original time...just wanted to make sure. Marje did talk with me about not doing a dosecrease back to back so I figured tonights was his reserve. Bummer. I was really hoping for more sleep. But, gotta make sure the furry kid is safely surfing.

Thanks, Karen
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +2.5/55

Another spoonful is fine, and test in 30? Karen, and Greg. If this keeps going the way it's been going, Fur Ball will be on drops of insulin soon, and then it's just a matter of days before you could be doing your "countdown" to OTJ (anti-jinx). It's not easy, but you've done great so far, and there's light at the end of the tunnel!

Carl
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +2.5/55

thanks Carl.
Fur Ball's eating as I type. He's getting spoiled by all the add'l 'treats'. I appreciate the words of encouragement. It has been incredibly exciting to see his progress. Just a bit exhausting for his bean.
Your pictures on Karre's Caturday post are just beautiful. Thank you for sharing. I am somewhat technically challenged and don't even have a FB picture up...Such a cute big orange blob at times, esp when he lays on his back totally sprawled out. :smile:

Chat later. I'll get a 30 min test in.
Karen
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +2.5&+3/55

So he ate the 1tsp MC and I tested again at +3 but the reading is still 55. Isn't that a bit too low to be surfing right now? Do I get him to eat again and test in 30? Or just skip the eating and let this food catch up.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +2.5&+3/55

I would go ahead and give him one more tsp of MC. If he stays about the same or comes up a little, you can probably go with LC to keep him in the mid-greens. If he comes up to 70, that's not a bad thing. I wouldn't skip the eating until he gets to that level.

Carl
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +2.5&+3/55

+3.5 was 58. I decided to give him 2 tsp and will test again in 30.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +2.5&+3/55

Doing great here! Sorry I haven't been on.....Mike just got home at 8. Late dinner and just spending some time together.

Looks like FB has more plans tonight.

Carl....do you need me to help out or are you OK (as in, do you need to go to bed, etc).
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +3/55, +3.5/

I'm good Marje! You and Mike have dinner and some together time. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +3/55, +3.5/

Thanks, Carl....and Karen. I appreciate the time to just spend with him.

As you know, Karen, you are in great hands with Carl. Hope you all aren't up all night but it's early to be so low, Mr. FB!!!

I'll check in before I go to bed just in case.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +3/55, +4/67

Marje- Enjoy your hubby time. We'll be alright. I'm at least not as nervous as that first time, but just wish he was surfing a bit higher.

67 at +4. So the food has at least brought him out of the 50s. I'll give him another tsp LC and test in 30.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +3/55, +4/67

Doing great Karen. You have this routine down. ;-)

Carl
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +3/55, +4/67

Sorry to butt in....I'd feed him like you said and give him an hour so you can both have a break. I just PM'd Carl the same.

I hope you all get some rest tonight.
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +1/82; +2/49 +3/55, +4/67

Thanks Marje-
I just checked him at +4.5 and he dropped again to 60. Do I feed him LC or MC and then wait an hour?
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +2/49 +3/55, +4/67; +4.5/

I'd go with MC and test in 60. Like to see him come up to the 70s by nadir.

Carl
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +2/49 +3/55, +4/67; +4.5/

I know. I wish he would come up a bit more. He's eating 1 tsp MC right now. The little piggy.

So, tomorrow morning we will be gone +2.5 through +5.5. The last few cycles have been rough during that 3 hour window. Should we feed him HC in the morning. I'm just guessing his numbers will be high and wanted to prepare for it....or do we wait and see.

I'm going to try for some sleep now. :smile:
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +2/49 +3/55, +4/67; +4.5/

Grab a catnap, Karen! Let's see if Dyana or Jane have any thoughts about what to feed in the morning. Depends on the numbers you see, but the fact you'll be away during his regular diving time matters too. We'll have an answer before then though!

Carl
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +2/49 4.5/60; 5.5/73

I've never been so happy to see a number before. Fur Ball's +5.5 is 73. Do I need to test again in 1 or 2 hrs?
 
Re: 9/29 Fur Ball PMPS 79; +.4/89; +2/49 4.5/60; 5.5/73

GregFurBall said:
I've never been so happy to see a number before. Fur Ball's +5.5 is 73. Do I need to test again in 1 or 2 hrs?

Nice job with PM-testing! And a great number. Beautiful surf.

1 tsp LC and re-test in 2 hours, IMHO.

We're discussing your morning plan, and you'll have it by AMPS.
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top