Re: 9/15 Garland AMPS 78 +5 73 +8 94 +11 208 PMPS 307

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
Quick condo start. Garland is ready for her AM shot. Her AMPS is 77. What do I give her? I would think not her usual 3u? right?

15 minutes later 64 +12.25

45 minutes later 80 + 13.0

30 minutes later 82 +13.5

30 minutes later AMPS 78 Shot 1.5 u at +14 (1030am)

+.75 78

+2 67

+3 70

+5 73

+8 94
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMPS 77 -->> What dose?

Are you home all day to monitor?
And when did she eat - is this number food influenced at all?
You should test again 15 minutes later without feeding to see if its a rising or a dropping number.

One of the experts will be along to provide dosing advice.
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMPS 77 -->> What dose?

Karrie and Maverick said:
Are you home all day to monitor?
And when did she eat - is this number food influenced at all?
You should test again 15 minutes later without feeding to see if its a rising or a dropping number.

One of the experts will be along to provide dosing advice.

I am home, but I have a couple short appointments throughout the day. Im leaving in 20 minutes to take my 2yr old to MDO and to run to the store (we are out of diapers and other necessities)

She ate some about an hour ago. But she eats slowly, a little here and there. Shes had about 1/2 a can of FF since about 6am so far (its 830 now)
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 , 64 -->> What dose?

I have to leave to get Charlotte to class in 10 minutes. I did not shoot. ill be back in a few

PS -gave her some gravy, not a lot. but i didnt want anything major to happen while i was gone
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 , 64 -->> What dose?

Good thinking. You don't shoot a dropping number like that the first time. Bumping you up.

How late can you shoot that it won't affect your schedule for the next few days :)
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 , 64 -->> What dose?

Well, that's a nice surprise!

The big question here is that since you've stalled, how far off schedule can you afford to be? If you shoot late, your next shot is 12 hours after your give the injection. Generally, you can't move the shot back more than 30 min. per day (either 15 min. per shot twice a day or 30 min. all at once unless there is a bounce and then there are more options).

I may not be here when you get back. I'm going to see if there are some others who can lend a hand.
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 +12.25 64 +13 80 -->> What dose?

Okay, im back. Ill go to the store later. What do I do?Shooting late at night isnt a problem. Its the morning that is usually hectic.. but i can figure it out for a few days
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 +12.25 64 +13 80 -->> What do

... Sienne... Sandy... I still dont know to shoot or not? Getting nailbite_smile about messing up her numbers with a full skip
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 +12.25 64 +13 80 -->> What do

Her shoot time was an 1.5 hours ago.... nailbite_smile I still havent done anything

+13.5 82
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 +12.25 64 +13 80 -->> What do

For your own sanity, I think I'd either skip or give a half-dose so as not to drain the shed too much (you are currently at 3 units according to your SS, so 1.5U). But just my opinion since time's a-ticking for you here.

MJ&Donovan
(have watched your saga from the beginning and am SO happy to see Garland doing better!)
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 +12.25 64 +13 80 -->> What do

Violet and Garland said:
... Sienne... Sandy... I still dont know to shoot or not? Getting nailbite_smile about messing up her numbers with a full skip

Violet,
On one hand, I wish you weren't having this nailbite 'cos it's no fun - mine are gone after yesterday BUT, on the OTHER hand, I LOVE that you have this problem! She was such a sick baby...
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 / 64/ 80/ 82 What dose?

I feel soooo nervous doing anything without Sandy or Siennes go-ahead.... nailbite_smile eek eek eek

A half dose you think?
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 / 64/ 80/ 82 What dose?

Violet, I think it would be OK to give a half dose. I know that you are apprehensive about skipping the shot.

Ella
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 / 64/ 80/ 82 What dose?

Violet and Garland said:
I feel soooo nervous doing anything without Sandy or Siennes go-ahead.... eek eek eek
A half dose you think?

Hi, can you wait some, as Sienne mentioned she was looking for someone to help advise?

Edit - there's some help from Ella!
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 / 64/ 80/ 82 What dose?

Or just 1 unit if you feel more comfortable with that. She's had pretty good numbers recently so I'd hate to put a speed bump in her momentum by skipping totally. If it was another cat who hadn't been through what Garland has, I might say to skip it and see what she does. But I think giving her a little something will help maintain her shed and not give you a heart attack. Gotta strike a balance.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 / 64/ 80/ 82 What dose?

Alright... Ill do the half dose... nailbite_smile

AMPS 78 1.5u (shot is 2hours late)
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 / 64/ 80/ 82 What dose?

I tend to think you could go with 2.0u but if you are more comfortable with 1.5u that's fine. The late shot acts like a dose reduction and Lantus won't kick in for another 1 - 2 hrs. Garfield is surfing.

You'll need to monitor closely this cycle so you may want to consider that, as well.
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 / 64/ 80/ 82 What dose?

Sienne and Gabby said:
I tend to think you could go with 2.0u but if you are more comfortable with 1.5u that's fine. The late shot acts like a dose reduction and Lantus won't kick in for another 1 - 2 hrs. Garfield is surfing.

You'll need to monitor closely this cycle so you may want to consider that, as well.

I was just about to poke her (I just filled the syringe) do you want me to make it 2.0 instead?
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 / 64/ 80/ 82 AMPS 78 What dos

i also think that was fine, violet. good choice. the basic process is going to be to keep checking her. you know you can steer her with some gravy if you need to.

if you get into any trouble, edit your subject line and post. i'm around for about 2 hours and will check on you and i'm sure others will keep an eye out as well.
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77 / 64/ 80/ 82 AMPS 78 What dos

Violet --

It's you're call. You need to feel comfortable with the dose and managing the numbers should they begin to drop. Unfortunately, when it comes to a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose, it's more of a "know thy cat" issue than a science.
 
Re: HELP 9/15 Garland AMBG 77, 64, 80, 82 AMPS 78

Holy Kittens! :shock:

Good Job!
Wow - I missed all the excitement ! (I'm at tbp and this is my first opportunity to come up for air...)

Please monitor closely.
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77, 64, 80, 82 AMPS 78 +.75 78 +2 67

+2 67

I dont think she will ever come near me again after all these ear pokes LOL
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77, 64, 80, 82 AMPS 78 +.75 78 +2 67

:lol: :lol: :lol: I thought that with binks...but turned out he started leading ME to the test rug!
He loves him some freeze dried chicken treats!

Nice job here!
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77, 64, 80, 82 AMPS 78 +.75 78 +2 67

mybuddybinks said:
:lol: :lol: :lol: I thought that with binks...but turned out he started leading ME to the test rug!
He loves him some freeze dried chicken treats!

Nice job here!

She has started growling at me when I touch her ears.. poor baby :cry:
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77, 64, 80 AMPS 78 +.75 78 +2 67 +3 70

+3 70

Okay, I have to go to the store before picking up Charlotte. So Ill be gone for the next hour....
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77, 64, 80 AMPS 78 +1 78 +2 67 +3 70

do you give her a special treat for a poke?

Like Binks, BK goes crazy for freese dried chicken breast treats. He drools while getting poked, in anticipation of his treat.
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77, 80 AMPS 78 +1 78 +2 67 +3 70 +5 73

+5 73

Ive tried different kinds of treats in the past. She wont eat them. Which ones are these chicken ones yall are talking about?
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77, 80 AMPS 78 +1 78 +2 67 +3 70 +5 73

Violet: what a morning you had and you did great!!! I admire you for hanging in there; it would be easy to just skip but I'm glad you gave her something and she just sailed right along!!!

What a marvelous day for her....feeling better, eating, growling at pokeys!!! Garland you are a sweetheart!!
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMBG 77, 80 AMPS 78 +1 78 +2 67 +3 70 +5 73

Great looking surf!

Neosporin and polysporin are the same. (Karrie's in Canada.)
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMPS 78 +1 78 +2 67 +3 70 +5 73 +8 94

Thanks everyone for helping me today!! I was -->> nailbite_smile there for a bit LOL

+8 94

What do I do come shot time?
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMPS 78 +1 78 +2 67 +3 70 +5 73 +8 94

Holy smokes! Surfs up here today! :mrgreen:
We all have had our share of nailbite_smile days, comes with the territory! Great job!
Please get a +11
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMPS 78 +1 78 +2 67 +3 70 +5 73 +8 94

Ahhh good to know its not the same thing in the US ohmygod_smile I'll remember that next time.

You did amazing today Violet. I remember Maverick's first green and I think I had a itty bitty panic attack :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMPS 78 +1 78 +2 67 +3 70 +5 73 +8 94

Wow...what a day for you guys!

These are the freeze dried treats we use...Trix (and the rest of the herd) loves the chicken. We buy the largest dog bag, because that's the most economical way to go:
http://www.purebites.com/

Have a great evening!!!

Amy
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMPS 78 +1 78 +2 67 +3 70 +5 73 +8 94

Well, seems we had a fall back. I put Garland in the bedroom to feed Connick (FF sliced gravy stuff) and sat down to watch tv with hubby. About 30 minutes later I picked up the food, and opened the door to the bedroom to let Garland out. Right when I turned around, I saw Garland walking towards me from the front of the house. Meaning, when my hubs went into the bedroom during that time (bc I never went in there) he somehow let her out. I never saw her in the kitchen eating the food, but I had wondered if she got into it. That was an hour ago .This number of 230 pretty much tells me she had some... Grrr!

Im going to do one more test to make sure it was a real number though

EDIT- 2nd test with washed hands, not touching strip test area, etc... 208 +11

-----So its almost 10pm. I shot her am shot 2 hours late at 1030am.. when and what do I shoot for her PM?
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMPS 78 +1 78 +2 67 +3 70 +5 73 +8 94

TrixieCat said:
Wow...what a day for you guys!

These are the freeze dried treats we use...Trix (and the rest of the herd) loves the chicken. We buy the largest dog bag, because that's the most economical way to go:
http://www.purebites.com/

Have a great evening!!!

Amy


Thanks!!!
 
Re: 9/15 Garland AMPS 78 +1 78 +2 67 +3 70 +5 73 +8 94 +11 2

Violet,
PetSmart has those type freeze dried chicken treats in the dog treat section. Same thing as cat only bigger bites but cheaper. I'm sure Petco has them too.
 
Well... I made a dose decision. (eek) ... time was ticking LOL

Her +12 was even higher (307), so I gave her usual 3u dose. Tomorrow I will start moving up her doses to get her back to her usual time, since we shot late today
 
Perfect!
Hard to say if she got into dry food - the late shot this morning along with the reduced dose and the lower than usual numbers all could be contributing to the high number
you can take back 15 mins tomorrow AM and 15 mins tomorrow PM and keep doing that each cycle to get your time back
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top