Re: 8.4 Lucy AMPS=55!! +1=87, +2=81
1. If she tests below 50 do I skip the AM shot?
If she is below 50 at any time (whether at PS or not), I would feed her as we always say "Feed The Forties". If it happens to be at PS time, then you would need to stall and test again, and see if she will come up enough to be comfortable for you to give her a shot. I would wait an hour or more before giving her a shot in this case, as it could take that long for the food spike from the "Feeding The Forties" to wear off.
Can you adjust your shot times so that you can shoot earlier and then have more stall room, or get more tests in before your leave for the day?
2. If she tests low do I give a lower dose?
You could give a temporarily reduced dose, what we call a BCS dose.
Have you read the stickys that Sienne provided you above? You might want to print them out, so that you can find them easiliy early in the morning or when you need to make a decision and no one is around to help you.
3. Are you allowed to skip shots in the AM and then give the full/normal does in the PM?
Of course. You hold the syringe, and you need to keep your cat safe. I again refer to the stickys to help you to make your decision.
If you do skip a shot entirely, you can then (if you want to), adjust your shot schedule easily as the next shot would normally be at +24, but you can shoot at +23 as an example, as long as you can shoot 12 hours after that, etc.
4. What do people do when they have to work and cannot test?
Gathering data, like you are doing will help you to make decisions for times like when you have to be gone all day.
I highly recommend getting a +11, so then when you compare the +11 to the PS test, you can tell whether she's surfing or rising or dropping. And it gives you that extra hour to think about what you're going to do and to post the number and your concerns and get help from the board.
I try to get a +11 on workdays, and if I feel uncomfortable I know I can leave extra food out for J.D. that day, or I can leave out higher carb food (like MC) for him to munch on during the day.
Some people have neighbors or friends or family that can stop by and check on their cat.