Re: 7/23 Buzz PMPS:272, +1:251, +2:124, +3:60, +4:57, +5:78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20416
Thank you all so much for the great comments and advice. I'm ready to increase the dose as suggested. I feel like I should maybe do a full 0.25 increase (rather than going to a f1.0); thoughts? Also, I will most likely be taking Buzz to the vet early next week to get the infection situation checked out, and to have the vet look at her teeth. Should I do an increase before then, or wait to see what comes of that visit?

I should have the vet do a cystocentesis (which she always does) and then send the sample out so they can culture it and see what type of bacteria is present before choosing the AB, is that correct? When Buzz had her UTI a few months ago, it wasn't done that way; the vet just prescribed Clavamox and that was that, which is part of the reason I'm suspicious that maybe it wasn't taken care of.

WCR: Buzz is doing well. She hasn't been too interested in Kitty TV lately, but that might be because her brother's always hogging the set. I am grateful for Buzz's great appetite and lack of pickiness when it comes to food. I know that is a blessing which shouldn't be taken lightly.

It is miserably hot here, but it's the humidity more than the heat. I went outside at 8:30 this morning and could hardly breathe already. I can't even remember what a summer without humidity is like. :o I'm dog sitting for my friend this weekend, and she lives about 15 minutes away, so I've been doing a LOT of driving. I'm exhausted already! Bringing them here isn't an option, because the puppy likes to harass the kitties and she barks and whines when they hide. I did it for one night and I will never do it again. So home they stay. It's been hard being responsible for dogs again; it's made me miss Cassie. They are good dogs, though. :smile:

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!
 
Re: 7/23 Buzz AMPS:292, +1.5:320, +3:331/Dose?

Happy Friday to your Sarah!
I think the cysto & culture would be a good idea. You might also want to have bloodwork done if possible. Sometimes (not always) it would be really nice if our kitties could talk. They could tell us what hurts or what's wrong and save us the vet visit.

I feel your pain about the heat, even though we don't have the humidity. Do you have to walk the dogs or do they have a yard? If you have to walk them, I hope you can do it when its a little cooler. I hope your weekend goes well with the doggies.
 
Re: 7/23 Buzz AMPS:292, +1.5:320, +3:331/Dose?

Hi Sarah!

I hope Buzz is doing ok and doesn't have any nasty infections! Emma gets UTIs all the time, and I can usually tell early on now because she starts getting really sleepy. That seems to be the first symptom for her. The vet always does a urine culture to determine the bacteria, then usually puts her on clavamox for 4 weeks, and then does another culture afterwards to make sure it's gone. It's not cheap to do it that way, but it's good to make sure it's gone!

If she's prone to them you might want to read up on grapefruit seed extract. When Emma seems to be getting extra sleepy now, I start giving her a drop of grapefruit seed extract in a syringe full of water 4-5 times a day. It somehow disrupts how the bacteria grows. She was getting UTIs pretty frequently - maybe 3-4 times a year - but now she hasn't had one for at least a year. It's been a lifesaver for us!
 
Re: 7/23 Buzz AMPS:292, +1.5:320, +3:331/Dose?

A cytocentesis and C & S (culture and sensitivity) is generally the best way to get a sterile sample and determine what the bacteria may be. I think making sure Buzz has a thorough physical exam, including teeth, also makes a good deal of sense just to rule out any of the obvious possibilities that might contribute to her numbers.

I'd go ahead and raise the dose. If there is some infection/inflammation, better to have the insulin on board that let numbers be in higher ranges.

I used to live in St. Louis (Central West End). I remember the heat and humidity only all too well. We've been getting similar weather in Chicago. All I can advise is to stay cool!
 
Re: 7/23 Buzz AMPS:292, +1.5:320, +3:331/Dose?

Hoping that Buzz will be better real soon..You are a devoted kind loving momma bean, who tries so hard to keep her furbaby well..
Hope you can solve the medical mystery...A dose Crease an make a difference in bg's & make her & you feel better--
Hugs to you & Buzz from all of Us.. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/23 Buzz AMPS:292, +1.5:320, +3:331/Dose?

Good luck with the increase Sarah! I upped Shadow by .25 and he is looking better now and I am sure that Buzz will too. We are cheering for youz! :mrgreen:
 
Well, I'm glad I didn't raise Buzz's dose tonight! :shock: I had actually planned to, but I felt really unsure about it so I decided to do it in the morning (since she usually stays higher during the day). Whoo-eeee, I'm relieved.

Thank you, Emma, for the grapefruit seed extract tip. I've never heard of that, and although Buzz isn't prone to UTIs (AFAIK she's only had 2 in her nearly 10 years), it can't hurt to have that on hand in case I ever need it.

And thanks, Sienne, for the info about C&S. I will have Buzz in for her yearly appointment in a couple of weeks, so I'll just take her in a week early instead and have the vet check everything out. Even if all it does is give me peace of mind, it will be worth it. I'm tired of second-guessing myself about her numbers and if I can just know for sure that they just are what they are, I think it might be easier for me to handle (haha, we'll see about that :lol: ). I like CWE. Did you ever go to Soulard Farmers' Market, or Mardi Gras? Chicago can definitely be miserable in the summer, although right on the lake is better. I grew up in Arlington Heights so I'm very familiar with Chicago's weather, good and bad. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top