Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80~no shot, +11=171, PMPS=184

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry and Harley

Member Since 2010
Good Morning-

So, it's our 3rd day on Lantus....AMPS is 80. What do I do with that? +6 last night was 150. She's had 1/2 can of FF for breakfast. Advise away.....

Thanks!

s
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS 80.....now what?

It's a great AMPS. Have you shot? Given that you had a time on your SS, I'm assuming that you did.

Are you able to get early tests? Normally, with a low pre-shot and not having data on Lantus, we'd encourage you to get a +1 and +2 and then figure out what other tests are needed.
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS 80.....now what?

Hi-

No. Was waiting for advice. I'm leaving the house in a couple of hours....shoot anyway?

s
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS 80.....now what?

Personally I would not shoot at 80. Even at a reduced dose... but that's me. I would normally wait till kitty was over 150... however that was my vet advice and lately I'm beginning to wonder. However, I still don't shoot below 150 for safety sake.

Hope this helps!

Breayle and Jake
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80, +12.75=74, +13.25=84....no shot yet

Hi-

Can someone advise? I have not given the morning shot yet. I am leaving the house in an hour or 2, so won't be around to test or catch her if she drops low....which is why I haven't given the AM shot. What do I do? She's an hour off schedule now....

s
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80, +12.75=74, +13.25=84....no shot yet

I am by no stretch of the imagination an expert- and I tend to error on the side of caution. If it were me and I had to be out of the house all day I would skip...you are still early in the game with the lantus and really don't have a lot of data to gauge where Harley will go.
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80, +13.5=82....no shot yet

Hi-

I'm going to be out for several hours. Probably home at 3 or 4 this afternoon. It's 10am here. I have an auto feeder, so I could program it to feed her a little bit every hour...

So far, she's only had her 1/2 can of FF for breakfast. I have 3, 4, 5, and 10% carb food in the house. Just tested again and at +13.5 she's 82.

s
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80, +12.75=74, +13.25=84....no shot yet

Sorry -- didn't mean to desert you. I got called away.

I don't think you have the data with Lantus to shoot this if you're not going to be home even though there's a very pretty surf going on.

I'd suggest skipping. If you could also reduce Harley's dose tonight to 0.5u that will also allow you to get him on a consistent, twice a day dose.
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80, +12.75=74, +13.25=84....no shot yet

I agree with Sienne, I think it would be easier on you to skip today and restart tonight at 0.5 units. That way you'll be able to shoot twice a day, collect data, and then increase the dose if needed. It's easier to work UP to a good dose than to start high and work down.
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80, +12.75=74, +13.75=68....no shot yet

Ok. Will do. Will I be reducing just tonight's shot, or stick with the .5u moving forward? OR....

Ugh....hypothetically, what would I do if I were going to be home? I'm contemplating cancelling my day. This is not a luxury I have every day, but I suppose I could sort it out for today. I don't want to mess her up if she's in a really good place. Thanks for checking in!!!

s

p.s.- just tested again....+13.75 she's 68. What's with all the wacky low numbers? I know 68 is not really low (for a normal kitty), but it's a little bit weird that she's surfing around with all those ups and downs between 68 and 84 at almost +14, right? With the lowest number of all just now? Crazy kitty!

s
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80, +12.75=74, +13.25=84....no shot yet

I think the starting dose is just a little too high. These are perfect numbers, we're just not ready for them yet. ;-) I would reduce to 0.5 and hold that dose for 3-5 days (unless he goes too low) and then we can assess to see if an increase is needed. He may very well end up back at 1 unit, but as I said, it's easier and safer to work up to a dose instead of down.
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80, +12.75=74, +13.25=84....no shot yet

Wow, Harley is really responding to Lantus. :thumbup

If we get to 2 hours past shot time we usually skip. Also, while we are stalling we usually don't feed. You said you fed? She is really staying low for having food as well. What are you feeding?

When you shoot tonight you can also adjust the time, if you need to, if you skip, or shoot on your regular schedule.
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80, +12.75=74, +13.25=84....no shot yet

Hi-

Yes, I fed her at +12.25. I forgot to put out her overnight snacks last night (usually have the feeder open at 4am with .25 can FF), so she was really hungry this morning. She got 1/2 can FF (3% carb). Will keep that in mind next time....though, there is no way she could have been hanging out these past 2 hours with no food at all. Also, I usually have the auto feeder set to open at +3, +6, and +9 (1/4 can FF).

Is this normal? Why would she be mid 100s at +6 last night and then be hanging out where she is now sooooo much later? +6 should have been the lowest point, right? I know sometimes there is a dip in numbers pre-shot, but does it usually happen like this?

Listen, not that I'm complaining!! I thought I had a pretty good handle on how this all worked, but she's thrown me for a loop here...I would love for her to take to the Lantus right away and work her way OTJ!

My biggest concern is if this happens during the week, when I MUST leave the house. Like I said, I have a little bit of wiggle room today to modify my plans, but that is not the case most days.

Can I give her little ears a break now? When should I test again and how often? Can I go follow her normal feeding schedule now?

Thanks!

s
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80, +12.75=74, +13.25=84....no shot yet

Hi - no advice from me, just support... It's definitely nice to see her respond so well to the Lantus, huh?

I recently got to the point where I can shoot lower numbers with my girl, but I'd prefer to be around to monitor... As long as you're around to test, it's not such a big deal to feed to keep their BG from dropping too low.. In fact, if it weren't for the experience of watching Kasha drop to the 30s (me - panicking!) and seeing how she responds to the various foods, percentages of carbs, etc.. I wouldn't feel as confident now, so I guess it was a good learning experience. ECID- if she drops low, you may have to experiment with different foods to see what bumps up her BG but doesn't necessarily send it soaring to the rooftops!

Don't panic - you'll do fine...
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80, +12.75=74, +13.25=84....no shot yet

Thanks, Krys!

Yeah....no panicking here, for the most part. She's been hypo at least 4 times that I know of...on Vetsulin and then on Humulin...and probably on Lantus last year and I just didn't know it because I wasn't testing. I'm becoming an old pro at managing that! And, she's actually responded nicely to just giving a small amount of low carb food, so that's good. This has just basically become my life. Test and watch, test and watch. I'm SO hoping that this takes and we can actually get rid of insulin all together. Yay for her and me! Fingers crossed. I'm just hoping that these low numbers this morning stay relatively low and that the skipped shot doesn't come back to bit us!

Enjoy your day!!

s
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80~~no shot. +16=67

Ok.

Well, for some strange reason (that I love!), we are surfing in the 60s at +16, with no shot this morning. The feeder will dole out 1/4 can FF soon and then again in a few hours. She's eaten twice already this morning. I'm heading out now and won't be home for 4-5 hours. Will check back in then. :-D

Thanks for everyone's support this morning. Ciao!

s
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80~~no shot. +16=67

That is quite a turn of events for Harley for just starting Lantus.

You did good Sherry.

Start fresh and safe. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/16 Harley: AMPS=80~~no shot. +16=67

Way to go Surf Harley nice looking day....Prayers and Angels that this keeps up LOL Kath :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top